December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prototype

by Cheshyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FPS Controls. 1 Health, 1 Level, 1 Upgrade per rebuild. Upgrades persist. Refine your prototype, and escape the arena.

I had a lot of trouble with this theme, so you ended up with a misc shooter. My vision was far too ambitious for a 48-hour comp, so the level is underdeveloped, and most features weren't implemented. Apologies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#313Theme3.20
#490Audio2.54
#523Mood2.71
#557Fun2.78
#577Innovation2.79
#577Overall2.92
#603Graphics2.73
#722Humor1.73

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

I love the use of the theme. One hp, a lot of retry and I finally left the castle ;) It's fun to boost the speed and jump. Also, the music was perfect for the game!

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

That's alright. It's a prototype, the vast majority of games are, especially 3D games. And the games that do get polished tend to be very simple games in their mechanics. I'm not saying that as going against those games, but the difference has to be acknowledged.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Not a bad attempt, but definitely feels unpolished (not that that's a bad thing - you only had 48 hours, after all). Man, these diamond-things are unfair - they get these crazy lasers and you only have this little...whatever your gun is. I think this isn't a bad concept, it just needs a lot more work - as you said, a bit overambitious.

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Started off pretty challenging. Decent application of the theme, I had difficulties with it too. Looks good, the audio works well with the game. The controls were a bit touchy but what LD game doesn't need a little refinement? :D

Lacutis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

So I finally beat your game. It was a little frustrating at the beginning when the turrets kill you before you can kill them. I ended up just dying a lot and pumping my top speed and then just ran for the exit.

I think if I had a better way of telling how damaged a turret was it might be helpful so you dont get frustrated as fast.

All in all though, good game!

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

The levelling/upgrade system looked pretty nice. Sensitivity for the mouse is a little high though.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

The upgrade system was very nice. I really liked the difficulty curve and overall idea. I really liked the use of the theme throughout. Would absolutely love to see this fleshed out more!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Thanks for the positive feedback guys. I'm going to have to pull the soundtrack, since there's a loop in there that wasn't created during the 48 hours. During the rush at the end, I threw together the audio, and forgot I couldn't use those loops. I will turn down the mouse sensitivity while I'm at it, since I think that qualified as a bug.

It turned out quite a bit more fun than I expected. Glad you are enjoying it.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Interesting concept, I just upgraded my jumping to three and was able to jump to freedom :P With more time for level design it could be really cool.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Love this. Is like a futuristic paintball game or something, feels like I should be able to do backflips over walls etc. Very cool.

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I didn't have much luck attacking enemies so I just ran through the level after grinding a few upgrades. Would be nice if combat and stealth were also practical options. Overall it's a promising game and it'd be interesting to see what it becomes if it gets developed further.

Arowx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Like it great idea, good fun, the single level could have had more walls and sentinels outside of the corner area. Maybe an autofire would help. As it got tiring having to shoot each sentinel five times fast, ended up just hopping my way out.

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Ok, your game was ambitious, but you managed to do something playable in 48h.
The concept is good, you should spend 2 or 3 more days on this, it can came out an addictive game.

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Nice one, like the concept and very clean execution

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

By far the worst game I've played today, you just get killed by those weird looking diamond things off of spawn. They don't die, the movement is REALLY sloppy. Awful.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

These octahedron guys are creepy as hell when they 'look' at you. Could be a great horror game; perhaps one with some actual gameplay as opposed to our current selection of scary games.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

A difficult game but once you get the hang of it I actually enjoyed it a lot. Use of cover is very important!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Wow. That moment when you know that one stray of laser is coming for you. Nicely done!

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

A cool idea. With the idea of when you die and you get to choose an upgrade, the player will gradually learn the game too. Went well with the theme, good job!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Cool sound and theme. Enjoyed playing. Finally finished by upgrading reload each time.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Whew! Very difficult but I had a lot of fun all the same. The mouse sensitivity was a touch high, but it had excellent graphics, and the music fit very well.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Chill #ss music. Funny concept, I had to play for a while to get the concept though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

This was great, I really enjoyed it! I do have to wonder what the bullets are for though

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I tried to go the rambo route and just max attack rate, way too hard like that. Upgrading acceleration and top speed a bit made it easy to make a mad dash to freedom. Cool concept, hope you get time to flesh it out more.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Definitely a mega ambitious idea! But still... you did well to get something working and playable.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Ambitious, but very good for 48 hours. Had fun playing around with this.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wow, this got me thinking.
"Do I kill them all, or run away as fast as I can?"
It's a cool game :) Nice one!

edrache says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Your game is the one I play the longest. Amazing idea!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Don't apologize, you gave your best :) You had a nice idea going on. I like that your game supports multiple play styles: you can gun down every turret in sight, or you can run around and dodge bullets like a ninja.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I liked it. Wish there was more!

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

A very cool fps. I liked experimenting with the upgrades. After upgrading the reload rate a bunch I could kill them before they started shooting haha. Good job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

Put all my points into top speed and eventually I just ran past everything. Nice job making it so that you could go into almost any upgrade to win.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23am

The mood was awesome. Great concept. I can imagine some pretty crazy levels. Given more time, this game has lots of potential.

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

nice aesthetic, eerie feeling.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Wow this game's graphics are amazing! How did you manage that in only 48 hours??? Well done ^_^

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29am

This game is hard. It has a really interesting atmosphere mostly because of how the music and sound compliments one another in quality. I really like the crystal models and the way they are shaded.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

A nice use of the theme, I guess in some ways it's just a big grind, but I played long enough to get through. Nice music.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

really tough, suits the theme!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34am

I will admit; I was not expecting such a positive response. I just like crafting systems and upgrade systems. <.<

To respond to a few of the comments:

The enemies start off with an advantage, but were tuned to allow you to surpass them after a moderate number of upgrades. I tried to keep the upgrade paths broad, so people could find their own way to succeed. The lack of content really gutted the depth of the upgrade features, but I'm glad that most everyone caught of glimpse of what it could be.

Yeah, the crystals turned out pretty creepy. I kinda like it. I had plans for 3 enemy types, but... well, you only get one. ;-)

The crystals can be killed. The blue/purple ones take 5 hits. It sounds like some sort of health indicator was very much needed. Also, auto-fire. Good call on both of those suggestions.

You may have noticed the soundtrack has returned. I asked around the IRC channel; since the synth loops were part of a sound font, and the actual music is built from them, it falls under the guideline of sampled instruments. Yay music.

Also, I've turned down the mouse sensitivity. Unity3D mouse settings are a bit weird, even with my custom mouselook script, and it's difficult to find a setting that'll play nice with both a standard optical mouse as well as an advanced gaming mouse. I should probably default to including a mouse sensitivity adjustment in every game from now on.

The graphics are all default primitives from within Unity3D, using the stock shaders, and simple textures; the exception being the crystal enemy, which was a rather rudimentary custom mesh.

I'm also pleased that someone noticed my attempts to match reload rates to the bpm of the music. ;-)

I'm seeing a lot of comments suggesting interest in continued development. That can be arranged if you guys are actually interested, and not just caught up in the enthusiasm of the event. Is there something here you'd want to play if it were built out more?

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

Loving this game so far
Great job!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice one! Good graphics.

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54am

Those pesky, pesky cyclopean-bot-things! This was fun, I loved it.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55pm

yay a unity game that isnt 100x time too sensitive via the mouse for me.. i did have to change my screen res to see the whole thing tho.. good job man :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Tremendously frustrating, but engaging enough to keep me from quitting. Love the use of theme and upgrade mechanics (which took me a while to realize lol)!

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Pretty interesting and cool game. Love the use of theme in this one. And creating a 3D in this time is also awesome!

Only thing that bothered me were the controls. Very hard to explain why, but it just felt off and not a very good control system fps wise.

Other than that. Good job!

Infin8 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Great use of theme! The choice you provide the player was quite compelling as well, though i couldn't imagine having to shoot down that many evil tetrahedrons!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38pm

good start, and very smooth to play

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01pm

That was hard. I like the idea very much especially that it gets easier over time, but I would like to have it more tactical. I haven't found a way to reliable kill robots which are directly behind a wall.
Niche soundtrack, good idea, good realization.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57am

Well done, it was very interesting and a good level of progression. Very well done.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Upgrades + Shooting = Damn :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:26am

20 minutes in the same lelvel without win.. but its awsome!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54am

Like you said this was somewhat too ambitious... but feel there could be a start of something nice here.

For me this was toooo difficult *:>

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:48am

I really like the upgrade system. It made me want to keep playing.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:57am

1/1/1 is all you get. Fair enough.

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I love the diversion in the tactics player could utilize to win. I personally liked to max fire rate and destroy enemies and hide before they could even see me!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:46am

A bit difficult. Controls and accelerations need minor tweaking imho. Nice idea with the upgrades!

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:04pm

It's very difficult! But sounds and graphics are cool!

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I believe that all the comments of people who say they beat this game are fake :D (just kidding)
Really tough, but really cool. Interesting use of the theme

Domo23000 says ...
Jan 12, 2014 @ 11:40pm

This game is awsome, it inspired me to make a game with this type of theme. keep making amazing games!

Domo23000 says ...
Jan 13, 2014 @ 2:30am

i jumped the wall

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]