December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Double Cannon

by michail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have only one life and two cannons - will you survive the massive enemies attack? Use keyboard to control both of the cannons (you only get one hand to control each cannon ;) Includes online scoreboard!

Created using Flashpunk, graphics made in GIMP, music in Tuxguitar and sound effects in sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#132Audio3.31
#223Innovation3.35
#255Overall3.31
#377Fun3.03
#489Graphics2.95
#588Mood2.63
#597Humor2.00
#820Theme2.27

Comments

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

it's hard to control two cannons at the same time

michail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10am

Yes, it is. You need a good coordination to control them effectively, or play with a friend ;)

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Fun game! Pretty hard at first, but I like how using both cannons is rewarding since they are so much more useful if both are well upgraded.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Quite a great game, in fact. This is coming from the #5 top scorer, and though at times you can practically leave the cannons idle, an enemy always finds a way to sneak around... and because YOGO life, one enemy makes all the difference!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Like the concept, It was too easy. If you just point each cannon at the corner on the opposite side. You don't have to do anything but watch. More tweaks to prevent that and this could be a great game. good job!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I like the split cannon controls. Takes a bit of mind bending but it is a challenge I enjoy and not one very common for me to find in the games I play. The enemy curve to cannon upgrade curve felt really good until around the 15+ waves, where it got to the point that I was not sure how to possibly destroy all of the enemies. Nice work!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I am terrible at your game! However it is a cool mechanic trying to control them both at once.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35pm

What a great idea, I really felt as if I was learning a totally new skill. Nice work on the music too :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice and simple, but hard alone. And it's great to have a optional 2 player-possibility in a game!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:32pm

This is damn hard on your own :D. My brain wanted to quit halfway through... But nice execution! Slick and polished, although a bit simple. Also, the theme is "you only get ONE" and you make a game about controlling TWO cannons!? We've got a rebel over here ;).

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Ugh.. I died when the black accelerating ones appeared.

But really neat little game. I enjoyed how I got double fire in my cannons just as things started to heat up. Good game design.

Nice one.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Hey!! good gameplay!!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:21pm

cool! i got 15th place! very satisfying to watch the boxes get clobbered. in the end i didnt move my turrets all that much and just waited for one of the boxes to pass through. i could see this expanding with powerups and more strategy to it

Azzar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I like the idea, it feels strange to control two cannons at once, but it is worth getting used to. The music is amasing, it set just the right mood.

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Pretty neat trying to control two things at once! Not sure it really follows the theme though.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:36am

Wow that's neat, got the 2nd highest score!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:51am

I really loved the double cannons concept and the game overall was incredibly addictive. Once you get the hang of controlling two cannons at the same time though, it starts to get a bit too easy.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

The rhythm takes some time to become fun, but after the level 5 and the double shot canon, it's start to be entertaining.

It could be nice to have the possibility to set the control. I would have preferred a non inverted control for the top canon.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Wow !
I very enjoyed this game! :)
Good idea, music and graphics, and all game! ;D
Congratulations ^^

x70x says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

This feels like a very complete and well-polished game, but the difficulty balance is a bit off. I felt like I didn't have to do much and by the time it started getting difficult for my cannons to handle, no amount of aiming them manually could save me. Great art though and interesting design choices.

michail says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Thanks for comments everyone!

I agree that the difficulty curve could be improved, it seems the difficulty is good on the earlier stages, but it needs some adjustment in the later waves. If I would have more time it could be definitely better.

Avocado says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:35am

Took a little bit to adjust myself to controlling both cannons, after that it became pretty neat and fun.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice little game. Really gives your brain a workout by controlling both cannons at once.

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

One of my favorite game :D Everything is so cool in it, i just regret there isn't any customization for cannons or more variety in ennemies. But already awesome for something made in 48h!

stefan says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:55pm

You created a nice game. You can survive the first 10 waves without actually doing anything :) It confused me a lot that the upper canon turns left when I press the right key and vice versa. But to be honest, most times I ignored one cannon and played with the other one ;) Good job!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:00pm

fun game, i havent tryed with a friend but i bet it would be more fun. I think you may need a bigger arena or smaller targets as i could leave the turrets in the same position for the majoraty of the game. otherwise great little game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]