December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The sidekicks

by Ludipe - Jam Entry

-----------------------------------------------
READ ME:
A lot of people are complaining because the game it's too easy, we didn't have time to balance it, so we added a cool feature in the settings menu. You can tweak the difficulty and create crazy rules. Most people are missing it, so be sure to check it out.
-----------------------------------------------

A super villain is trying to take over the world and a sidekick is the only one who can get in his way. But you are trapped in your lair and your nemesis is throwing fireballs at you. The worst part is that you only get one shield to deflect his attacks while you try to save the day. Being a hero(or a sidekick) is never easy.

Controls:
Player 1- Arrow keys to move, jump and use tools.
Player 2- WASD to move, jump and use tools.
Misc- Z to zoom in/out, ESC to pause and P to advance text.

Features:
-Tutorial
-Single Player mode
-Coop mode(which is fun even with just one player, try moving two characters at the same time)
-VS (not available right now, we'll add it in a future version)
-We set up a few difficulty modes but you may change everything as you wish(settings menu) and create crazy rules

To be fixed:
-Music (Due to tech issues just one song was added, the game will feature more tracks in a future version)
-Climbing animations
-Minor bugs
-During the tutorial, when the computer tells you to press "return" it means the down key
-We didn't have much time to balance difficulty; If we upgrade the game we'll fix this

Notes:
-Linux and OSX versions will be uploaded as soon as possible(DONE)
-We recommend using the desktop version instead of the web version
-Our game it's inspired on "Lovers in a dangerous..." as explained here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/14/so-far-so-good-30/
-Right now we want to get as much feedback as possible, in a month or so we'll decide if we end up developing this idea further.

Hope you like it!

CODE & DESIGN: @Ludipe
ART: @aquilicoco
MUSIC: @franklinwebber



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#61Innovation(Jam)3.51
#75Graphics(Jam)4.15
#93Overall(Jam)3.55
#94Audio(Jam)3.47
#136Humor(Jam)2.98
#148Fun(Jam)3.21
#178Mood(Jam)3.16
#321Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50am

This is really fantastic, and I'd love to see it fleshed out into something bigger. Graphics are gorgeous, music is awesome, and everything feels really smooth and fun to play with. Really nice to see more 2-player hotseat games too.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

nice style and gameplay. it's more fun in 2P mode ;)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Haha, this is pretty cool. The art is fitting and the dialogue is good, although it felt like a really relaxed game while the premise sounds like it'd be tense and high stress.

The first time was lucky and I just sat on the hacking computer while the fireballs mostly missed and I managed to win with around 20% health, while never touching any other controls.

This reminds us a lot of a game called Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime which was a GDC/PAX favorite of ours: http://www.asteroidbase.com/dangerous-spacetime/

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43pm

This is brilliant.

mortus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Great idea and very cool graphics and sound effects! Too pity the game is so short and easy (especially in 2 players mode).

Thommy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I beat it on hard by controlling two heroes at once, it was really challanging and fun. Reminds me of FTL. You should continue working on this

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Agree with the others - this deserves post compo expansion. Really charming, lots of character.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Great Minimal Design

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

@cake&code Our game it's inspired on "Lovers in a dangerous..." as explained here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/14/so-far-so-good-30/

Right now we want to get as much feedback as possible, in a month or so we'll se if we end up developing this idea further.

I know it can be an easy game, we didn't have much time to balance difficulty; If we upgrade the game we'll fix this.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Pretty cool, I liked the micromanaging mechanic and the art looked pretty sweet. Although I thought the shield might have been a little useless since you can just win by hacking and repairing. Still nice anyway, good job.

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Really cool atmosphere of the game. Also Really dig the music.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38am

Hey, Ludipe! A Fellow C2 user, I know you from the forums of course!

Thanks so much for letting us see your source <3
Top marks for this, I had such fun! The sidekick sprites are SO impressive in their tiny detail!

Senevri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really liked the audiovisual style, the gameplay wasn't that fun, though. Needs something.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24am

Cool game! It's really fun for two players :)

the says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Good idea, but too easy.

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34pm

@the you can change difficulty ;)

I like the atmosphere. Poor sidekicks only having one small shield!

Maybe you could see one of my previous games for some ideas about the ship and items to defend/repair it, it's based on the "You're the villain"
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=8175

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very nice pixelart. Love the characters... they're like pixel federations ;) 2-Players Mode is awesome... played it with myself... I won ;)

travislucia says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:03am

GOod graphics, unique idea and gameplay! Would be tons of fun multiplayer.

the says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:09am

I'm sorry, now i get it.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:19pm

It's much more lasting with the newly discovered difficulty settings! I should try playing it with someone else and not alone on higher difficulty, though even standard Hard is to easy for me alone. :D

If you plan to make it into a bigger game, I would love to see a bigger ship, much more space to go into, maybe a split-screen for two players so you can go farther apart from each other than one screen could allow. More threats types of course and more devices to counter those threats. Maybe some dangers that you won't be able to figure out before you go yourself to the corresponding block of a ship, like, you get an alarm that says there's something wrong in some area, but you won't know if it's a fire or enemy troops invasion before you go and check it for yourself (it starts to sound more like FTL now).

Anyway, it's just my vision of one possible expansion and it won't necessarily be same as yours. Good luck in any case!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51pm

@mortus: Thanks for the feedback and playing again. If we decide to make a post-jam version we'll spend a lot of time redesigning the gameplay, I'm considering many options (like turning it into an arena game where one ships fights another). We appreciate your suggestions a lot.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Hey there! Graphics are great, mechanic is really cool and the take on the theme is original. I found the game to be somewhat buggy :/ I got stuck in the tutorial twice (and I was called stupid!), and then some animation frames didn't display correctly. But when I got to playing it, I found it quite enjoyable. Good work!

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Very cool mechanics, great visuals, and I loved that you made a 2 player game. There's a lot of potential in this.

drnick says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:24am

Linux version said:
./thesidekicks: error while loading shared libraries: libnss3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
libNSS is an cryptographic key management library, why does it even use it? Couldn't test.

ObsidianSkin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Awesome little game. Very unique concept.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Really nice. Great visuals and an amusing tone throughout. I'm not sure if you're looking for feedback, but I found the game to be a little passive. It might have a little more engaging to add an element of skill to each of the computers, i.e. the health computer could involve mashing the space bar, hacking could be typing a series of words that are prompted by the computer, pumping the power could be alternating between the left and right arrows, etc.
Just a thought.

Oh and you say that hitting Enter will interact in the tutorial, whereas I only managed to get the down arrow key to function this way.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:05pm

@drnick: Sorry to hear that, we used construct to develop the game and I'm not sure how it makes the linux port. I'll check it.

@Sean Noonan: I thought about adding some challenge to the tools you can use but I decided not to in case it distracted the player, sugggestion noted. We'll experiment with it.
And respecting the "press Enter" thing, it was just a mistake due to a change made in the last hours.

Thanks for the feedback!

aquilicoco says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Hi,
I made the pixel art, so I'm happy that you like it ;)

@drnick -> we used construct 2 to make the game. It uses node-webkit to the Linux import. I think that the error is in it's chromium layer.
You can play the game in any browser that supports html5

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:49am

I tried it only as and in single player mode.
I guess it's more fun in two players since you have to co-operate and one player can focus on the lower side of the lair/hacking whereas the other will focus on defense.

I like the ideas that Sean Noonan is proposing, to add a bit more challenge/action to the fact of hacking/defending the lair.

The graphics and music are sweet and nice overall ambiance on the game.

Good job and congratulations on making it during the jam !

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:51am

I think the concept and the mechanics had a lot of promise, but I think the ball may have been dropped with clearly identifying the goals. Great art look, and thumbs up for 2P co-op controls.

Pomb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:34am

Really enjoyed the music and pixels were very pretty indeed.

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:10am

The gameplay is a bit approximative but overall this game is so great! Graphics, Audio, etc. all very polished :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:52am

Nice! Very entertaining, and i second Sean Noonan regarding more 'minigames', i guess.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:15pm

i couldnt get the osx version to work once i unrar'd it. i ended up with what looked like app package contents

aquilicoco says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:02pm

@mcapraro sorry, it's a construct 2 problem with some Macs.
You can play the web version in safari.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very interesting game play. Good job. Easy and cool.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:56am

Great music and graphics!

DhantonGames says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Pixel art is fantastic :D

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

Looks cool, but pressing return anywhere doesnt work.

aquilicoco says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

@Ezolotko it's a last minute change :) Press down

lotusgame says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:13am

I love the atmosphere, it's unique and very well polished ! Congrats :)

lowcade says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:00am

Awesome pixel art! Nice gameplay and fun. One of my favorites in the LD.

henrykun says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:04am

Beautiful graphics and very nice concept, awesome!.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]