December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Going Down

by GarethIW - Jam Entry

Going Down (or: We Only Get One Parachute)

By Gareth Williams (@garethiw) and Paul Yendley (@gredgie)

Our Totally Serious entry about surviving a plane crash.

----

Live stream archive:
http://www.twitch.tv/garethiw/b/487310496
http://www.twitch.tv/garethiw/b/487502463

Gameplay video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLvxxwTuQLg

----

If you encounter a problem, please leave a bug report with as much info as possible, and check back for a fix! We will rate the games of everyone that leaves a message!

Windows:
Should run on XP SP3+. Requires .NET 4. Might possibly need OpenAL installed if it fails to run. I've included the OpenAL redist installer.


Linux:
Run GoingDown.sh

This has been tested on Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon), you may need to install libSDL-mixer (sudo apt install libsdl-mixer1.2). Requires mono. If no joy, run from a terminal (mono GoingDown.exe) and copy/paste the output into a comment.

Mac:
Hopefully we'll have a Mac version for you soon, if I can persuade one of my mac-owning friends to do a build for me.

Tools used:
C#/XNA/Monogame
Spine
Tiled
Photoshop
Audition
Sound effects from Freesound

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Fun(Jam)4.13
#7Theme(Jam)4.22
#8Humor(Jam)4.11
#10Overall(Jam)4.13
#36Innovation(Jam)3.71
#116Mood(Jam)3.39
#131Audio(Jam)3.34
#249Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very difficult and still cannot complete it in time! I love that you just attack everyone just to get that sodding parachute!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16am

epic game.
it was funny and excited

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

wow, this game is really well crafted. The physics involved in the controls are really spot on and put you in the scene. (basically the immersion is amazing). maybe the screams help in that? haha idk, but either way Good Job!

Parasyte says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

I watched the gameplay video (I'm on a Mac, without my VMs handy at the moment) and it looks ridiculously amusing. +1 for the mac build!

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Amusing, I don't usually like downloading the games but it was worth it.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice! We had a similar idea for our game, but it looks like you guys implemented it a lot better. Good job xD

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

OMG Nice idea!!
You Are a Genius! xD

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Great stuff :D

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

4 stars only... because that game definitely needs a multiplayer game. God that game is so fun!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Oh man, a multiplayer version would be fantastic. Perhaps we should add a couple of cabin crew to make it 4 player? :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I never laughed that much. You totally made my day. Make a multiplayer version of that! But then, it needs a bit more diversity in the gameplay: The different items should effect the others on different ways, for example.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23am

Really fun idea, well done. :)

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54am

GarethIW> that would be great! I finish the game every sessions now, I want to play it with the Hbomb team :)

the says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Amazing game! One of the best interpretation of theme.

vapgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:25pm

AAAA
That was awesome!

Rothens says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Oh, nice interpretation! I liked the game. Finished for the first try tho. We definitely need multiplayer! Oh, and the "parachute" remains me to a bread :D

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:30pm

This was amazing and kinda disturbing at the same time :D

Nezzhil says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:44am

Like I read in another comment of the game, a bit disturbing. But it's a good interpretation of the theme.
I liked that you implemented a weapons system, a must in every beat'em up, so, good work :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Haha, that was hillarious. Loads of fun, if only a bit simple, but hey, it's a great short game!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Amazing game.
Well done :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

This was fun while it lasted. Gets chaotic near the end and turns into button mashing, but it's pretty amusing nonetheless.

Dynad says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Really cool game, kinda short unless im missing something.. anyhow good job there! ;)

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Incredibly well done entry. The mechanics are very simple and yet they play out very well. I actually had to defend of the parachute to see all the endings.

derdragon says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31am

Admittedly the screaming noises without anyone actually having a mouth was a little disturbing... excellent take on the theme though. (Wish I'd thought of something like this ;) )

AzzaMat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:57pm

This is amazing, Art needs improving but the concept and execution was brilliant. I did get a security warning before playing though.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great game! The whole premise made me laugh a fair bit. Managed to beat it on my first go! :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Like the idea, the implementation is pretty good. Would be nice with some change in the gameplay at some point.

Snuti says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Fun game to play. I was never able to escape with the parachute but it was very entertaining :)

MrBlade says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Amazing game! Really enjoyed playing this. The sounds are very good and pretty 'horror bringing' Haha. Very scary game in a way, really made me sort of uncomfortable, the thought of being in a airplane crash is horrible. Anyway, very solid game, cute and polished graphics, GREAT take on the theme! Keep up the good work!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:40pm

This is my favorite. Absolutely hilarious.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:31am

Hilarious. Loved the knocked out people sliding up and down the plane, and the various improvised weapons. Bonus points for the random outfits / characters so it's a different pilot each time. :D

WojWorks says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:24am

I just find this game silly in all the right ways. Thanks for making it, man!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Well that just happened! :D So much fun, I can't believe how enjoyable it is to beat everyone down to escape an inevitable death. Just crazy! One of the few games I've played more than once. :) Really great job.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Owned.

hbocao says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:11am

This is great, guys! I don't like saying like this, but it's the best game I found so far. All games are about the same thing (thematically), but in this one, it kinda makes sense. hehe Beautiful art. Very fun game that I think it could make it to mobile (adding more content, of course). It's kinda hard, but it's possible. I loved it!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Brilliant. I have nothing else to add.

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

I was making my way to the end over half the length of the plane just punching people until someone stabbed me. I'm never getting out of there alive.

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice but quite difficult to make it to the far end. At least I got to see it but never survived the mayhem. It would have been interesting to have some different types of weapons maybe or a dash or something to give more flexibility to the fighting.

CatskullTeam says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Such a good experience to play! Didn't like too much the sounds but the global sensation is great

stvr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:32am

Wouldn't open or anything, Win7 x64.

Atridas says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:05am

EPIC! I really enjoyed being an a**ho**. Nice concept.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:32am

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen - really entertaining. Made it out twice - once without the 'chute (must have lost it right before the door opened?), and the second time got safely to the ground :)

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Oh my god, this was awesome! I can't find the words how this game is awesome! Punching crowd is awesome, especially at the end is so brilliant! This should be multiplayer!

Jan 14, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxLBxgxeNFY

Rustam says ...
May 5, 2017 @ 10:13am

Learn the game in minutes, then spend a lifetime mastering it. http://downloadfreefilesfromus.com From Charmistry: Teach yourself hypnosis with iHYP.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]