December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

O.N.E. Says

by NightShadow0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: Added a post-jam version with a few more presents and 3 minutes of play time. Aside from that the versions are identical, but please rate according to the 48h version. Thanks for playing, happy holidays!

It's Christmas eve and Santa's busy with all the kids' letters. Since he can only read English, he acquired a robot translator named O.N.E. (Objective Noun Exchanger) to translate the foreign letters. However, O.N.E.'s translations are rough at best and Santa has to decode their meaning. Because no matter how bad the translations are, Santa doesn't get the letters; he only gets O.N.E.!

ActionScript 3 + Starling in FlashDevelop.
Quotes from http://ackuna.com/badtranslator
Artwork hand-drawn and edited in Photoshop, plus TexturePacker and BMFont.
Music made in SunVox; it was meant to be just a christmas song but i was having so much fun that it got a bit wild, for better or for worse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#187Audio3.15
#218Humor3.02
#284Graphics3.35
#347Mood2.98
#427Innovation3.00
#488Overall3.02
#577Fun2.75
#712Theme2.49

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Ha, Funny idea for a game. I dig the game overall, but there are so few different gifts, that it becomes very easy to rapidly pick the right presents after you have figured out each's description. perhaps items could have multiple descriptions to throw the player off a bit?

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Yeah i did intend to make more presents to break the repetition but ran out of time. Multiple descriptions never crossed my mind, that would've been quicker to make. Thanks for playing!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Maybe you could show a selection of items per question. Really liked the game!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Sweet art! Good sound and plenty of fun descriptions.

capnramses says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10am

ha! a really nice idea for a game. i wasn't sure why there were 3 people on the side though...does it make any difference which one you click on or can you just click on one guy every time?

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:12pm

@capnramses Each kid asks for a different present, but since there aren't that many you may have gotten the same.
Thank you all!

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:35pm

This game is quite original, i love your music and your art graphics!

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice adaptation of the theme! Funt to play.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Funny idea, really liked the music and pencil sketch art. Biggest complaint would be that after awhile it became easy to pick out the gifts. More presents please! I dug it, good job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Awesome work!
TIL the actual name of google translator is O.N.E. :P
I really like the handdrawn graphics. My final score was -1, but it was really fun anyway :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:31pm

It would be cool if you could procedurally generate content using google searches or something.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:49am

I like the idea behind this, making the theme your own interpretation of it. Great work!

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Fun concept!

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Funny game, very nice and suitable Christmas theme!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:12pm

hahahaha fun little game , just in time for christmas n_n the music was very happy :D also my score was -5 :c xD, great work :D

ZYXer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great game idea, absolutely hilarious! Too bad there are so few translations, I would have loved to play further...

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Thanks for playing all! Glad people liked it, i'll see about making a version with more presents :)

Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:55am

Excellent music, cool graphics, nice game, good job.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Quite fun, amusing translations!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:53pm

The pictures are cute as hell.

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Fun idea, not sure how it relates to the theme really. But it's an interesting and enjoyable mechanic in short bursts and would be good for educational minigames. Great music and graphics for 48 hours!

Conflei says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:22am

Cool graphics haha, a lil hard but cool game :)

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice and moody game :)

sekaru says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Pretty cool concept. Loved the hand-drawn art too!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Pretty amusing game. Loved the hand-drawn art and the Christmassy music.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Enjoyed it! Well done!

stefan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:03pm

There at not that many presents, so the gameplay is quite limited. Nevertheless, graphics and audio are awesome, nice job!

psc1997 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Nice concept ;)
Good sountrack and graphics. I like it ! ;)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Very cute, but the game did not display correctly on my web browser, could still play but was missing a bit. Awesome music!

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Very cute game :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 4:06am

Thanks for playing and rating, everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]