December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

LoneStranger's YOH1B

by LoneStranger - Jam Entry

Run down the alley to destroy the Ultimate Evil with your single bomb. But be careful! You'll have to dodge the sucky holes and shooty guns!

Use the Arrows or WASD to control, Space to jump and B to place the bomb.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#333Fun(Jam)2.69
#369Theme(Jam)2.45
#403Humor(Jam)1.81
#416Audio(Jam)2.16
#451Overall(Jam)2.59
#452Innovation(Jam)2.31
#488Mood(Jam)2.04
#525Graphics(Jam)1.88
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03am

I like that the scene is random.

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Quick little game! Could use clearer visualization of jumping height though, and quicker restarts. :)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:56am

The physics parameters and viewing angle made coordinating one's movement pretty difficult, and the mechanics were really simple, but it was still pretty fun.

kumoi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:08am

I'm not sure if you intended this or not, but you can beat the game really easily by jumping on to the side rail and waltzing down to the very end without any fear of getting shot or falling through a hole.

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:29am

This game is a good start, to me it would need some heavy polishing and some additional gameplay concepts to make it more arcade-ish and fun to play. Additionally, it's kind of hard to estimate what will happen when you jump because of the perspective.
Nice little game :)

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:49pm

@wdebowicz: Randomness is nice, since I didn't have to design the entire alleyway.

@kumoi: Yes, I was wondering how long it would take someone to notice that. It was my 'cheat mode' to get down to the end quickly and test things. Not intended to be used, but left in intentionally. :)

@yosh: Yes, I am not a modeler so all I have is the primitive shapes. It would be much better with actual models.

@Joror, @JaymeeMak, @yosh: Yes, jumping could use more feedback. I think it jumps too high, and I'm not 100% sold on the angle. I tried changing the camera to orthographic too, but it didn't seem right.

Arcantic says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:07am

That was pretty fun!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:05am

Heheh, that's kinda fun. Lot's of room for expanding on it. I appreciate that everything is generated randomly, but it would be fun to see some stages that were a bit more planned. I think an over-the-shoulder like view would make it more exciting as well. Still, it's neato!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:22pm

This was actually more addictive than I expected and the randomly generated obstacles added a lot of replayability.

Anachron says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:08am

Fun prototype of a top-down run and jump style game! The gameplay reminds me a bit of an older LD17 entry called Island Hopping. There are a lot of fun concepts that could be built from this prototype.

Peni6 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:24am

Pretty good game, nice one!

celsyum says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:56pm

you jump on edge and go to the end! :) yet it still hard to kill it. good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]