December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CAN YOU MAKE A HIT MILLION-DOLLAR GAME IN ONLY ONE TRY

by tudd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in about thirty minutes because I threw out my other idea in a fit of depression (and math going way over my head, but mostly depression). Then I vented all of that into a Twine "game".

None of your choices matter, just like in real life.

Please rate 1 star for everything! thank you

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#746Theme2.44
#978Innovation1.81
#1001Fun1.53
#1010Overall1.56
#1604Coolness20%

Comments

Red_Dino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:19am

My internet's inability to connect to free hosting makes me sad. :( You should upload it to Dropbox instead.

Dracae says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18am

Amazing

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25am

Hmm.. Not that fun I'd say.
I like the meta angle though..

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:47pm

As "requisite LD entries about making an LD entry" go, this one was kind of mediocre. Some funny moments, but the ending twist, while original, felt more trollish than funny to me.

Still, not bad. Four stars on theme.

zequack says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:46am

Well, 5 stars for theme. Or maybe 4. Anyway ! Nice last attempt try. :D

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:43pm

nice twist at the end.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:11am

I really liked the wall of NO at the end. Good enough for a Twine game.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:04am

didn't like the theme, huh?

drludos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Kind of a depressing game, but I liked the effort, (and "liked" your in-depth post-mortem as well). Better theme next LD?

tudd says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:53am

@jacklehamster Guess :P
@drludos Well it took me all of 45 mins :P Hope so.
@everyone-else thx. yeah I know it's no fun :(

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:18am

Interesting way to vent your frustration. (but yeah, the theme sucked)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]