December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Chance

by madballneek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One Chance is a (terrible) Elevator Action like game where you must search the tower in order to find the crate with the magical game winning bottle.

There's a catch though, you get one life, and you can only play the game once.

That said, a web developer should be able to figure out how you could play again :)

Disclosure: I used a failed game jam submission as a base for the project, which has been open source on GitHub for over a month now, so I believe I'm able to use it.

Good luck and enjoy!
@NickDiMucci

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1639Coolness17%

Comments

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17am

Great game, although i died and i didnt get to replay :(

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41pm

No replay?! You sir/mam, are an evil genius :) The colour gradient on the character is really nice, I also enjoyed shooting barrels. I cannot wait until you make a new game, to have one go at :P

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Nooo. I fell down the liftshaft , my only experience was death. :( Really digging the pixel art too. :p

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Okay, managed to get another play. The lift kinda dumps you out not quite at floor level, so you need to jump to get out. Also the lift art doesn't quite fit the epic pixelling of the level/character.

goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41am

haha. I was thinking of doing something similar (you get to play only once). Glad I didn't. I wanted to play more.

You should also put a separate version without this limitation.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:50pm

i like the graphics, but i died :(

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:53pm

While I commend your commitment to the theme it's a bit sad that I can't play it again, I certainly would've wanted to. Maybe you should make any time you play the game after your first you play as the ghost of yourself? (Credit goes to another LD28 game I've seen before but can't remember the name of)

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Clever/evil use of the theme :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:11am

I hate the not replay part. Didn't understand the game the first time and died after 3 seconds. Now I can't replay. I understand that that's your take on the theme, but it's frustrating.

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:45am

That's not very nice to lock itself after it is played once, considering that I got stuck at one part. So I had no choice but to restart. That's unfortunate because I couldn't play the game in full. So, I cannot rate.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]