December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moment of Interaction

by Lockyy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One - Moment of Interaction

This 'game' only lets your interact with it's world once. When you place the first village.

From then on the simulation's rules handle the growing village.
The villagers will gather food, grain and building materials to increase their population and village size.
If you choose a bad location then they will die.


The simulation isn't perfect yet, well actually it's pretty far off from perfect. The balance on resource gathering is out of whack and world generation sometimes goes a bit haywire. The latter of which requires a restart. The former is just how it goes. I'll fix that as I continue with the simulation after LD ends.

A gallery of my progress through development is available here:
http://imgur.com/a/13k1R

If you want to run it from source you'll need to have python and pygame installed.
The game will run on any platform that pygame can be installed on.

Instructions:
Your villagers will need to gather three resources from their environment.
Grain, building materials and food.
Building materials are gathered from mountains and forests in the form of wood and stone. Food in the form of meat or fish from grasslands, and rivers/lakes. They gather grain from the farms they produce.
Once they expand they will also gather meat from pastures they construct.
You will need to choose a starting location that gives them a good selection of resources in their environment.

Controls:
n = regenerate world
y = confirm village start location
click = choose cell

Colour scheme:
Green = Grasslands
Dark Green = Forests
Blue = Rivers/Oceans/Lakes
Grey = Mountains
Red = Village cells
Yellow = Farms
White = Pastures

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Innovation3.55
#281Theme3.27
#573Mood2.65
#697Overall2.77
#750Fun2.48
#782Graphics2.32
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Icoates says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

This is very interesting to look at. Is there a way to find out the controls? It took me a bit to find them, but once I did, it was a very interesting simulation.

Lockyy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

Ah sorry, the controls and colour scheme are in the readme. I'll put them in the description now.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Hah I love the concept but a tutorial would've been welcome :D

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Brilliant idea!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Wow! Really cool game! It's just interesting to look at, and that makes it fun. You don't really "play" it. I love it! Awesome game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Cool concept and great use of the theme!
The progress was rather slow though.
Warring factions fighting over the map would definitely make this awesome.

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

This game reminds of how badly I wanna make a DF clone :~) As a programmer I can respect your effort, especially the terrain generation is neat.
For a game, I think the theme got a bit in the way of the gameplay, but as a pixelated terrarium it is awesome.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

This is great, but it could do with some background music and maybe some more tiles, but "continue with the simulation after LD ends." so I'll let you off ;p

Oh and also, I don't know why but it crashes when I reach around 100 population.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

this looks great, but it's turning very slow after year 150 and totally freezes at year 200.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Nice thing to toy with. Seems to be some sort of "Idle Game" :P Checking back sometimes later - and the village is already huge ^_^ Good job!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I know these games are CPU-intensive, but this one runs way too slow. Otherwise, a cool game.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:36pm

not the first time I see similar ideas on ludum, and here it kinda bugs me that villagers don't seem to anything remotely interesting. I mean, it's mostly like a premise of One Hundred Years of Solitude, but all they seem to be doing is getting born and harvesting stuff. just once, it would be awesome for someone to get crazy and set the church on fire or something. but your name-generating thing is truly impressive.

supremefist says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice one! It also got slow really quickly for me, though :(

Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:08am

Love the concept. Pretty cool to watch the village expand. As others mentioned it gets really slow after 175 years or so.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:12am

Interesting to watch, but progress throguh the years is pretty slow.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:14am

I should also note that it slows to the point of hanging when you get a lot of population chugging around.

shard123 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Cool idea and it was fun to watch it grow.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]