December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CORPSE EXPLOSION

by notajetski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For this Ludum Dare, my goals were:

- make something interesting with a game engine that isn't Unity
- not stress out a lot / have fun making a game

...and I say that I've succeeded on both counts! I learned rudimentary Flixel about a week before the compo started, and I've taken care of myself and got enough sleep during the compo.

I was really, really hoping that the theme would be "Death is Useful" - I've wanted to make a game around the corpse explosion mechanic for a while now. When I drew a (mostly) blank on "You Only Get One," I went with the "You Only Get One Button" idea, and figured I could work it into a game I was really excited about.

Corpse Explosion is exactly what you think it is; kill bad guys, and blow up the bad guys' bodies to kill more bad guys. It's got a necromancer, magic missiles, and wonderful corpse-popping meat-squishing giblet-slapping sound effects.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#158Humor3.19
#185Fun3.38
#248Innovation3.28
#386Overall3.15
#421Audio2.67
#438Mood2.85
#588Graphics2.75
#872Theme2.13

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

Hahah nice idea, that was funny and hard, there are so many of them ! Can't pass 30 points. Great work !

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

Love the satisfying burst

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Innovative idea. Movement scheme could use some smoothing. Great work!

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Very satisfying explosion sound. The enemies could use some path-finding though.

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

My reaction: "Yay! Exploding corpses! Oooo they're weapons?! Dangit, now I'm surrounded. AAAGGGH." Overall, hilarious.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

I liked it. The title screen and death screen explosions made me laugh.

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

Haha, the explosions are wonderfully gratuitous. The default explosion range is a little small... almost better to wait for an increased radius before attempting to detonate groups.

larsendt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

This is amazing! Best game I've played in a long time.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Early corpse explosions feel like they aren't doing anyway. Might be that the radius is too small or I'm just completely missing the damage it is doing. Quite fun game that gets hectic quick as enemies flood the screen.

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Fun little shooter. I didn't notice the body explosions doing much damage? Nice effect though :)

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57am

Man, that was more satisfying than it should have been, setting up chains was a lot of fun!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Really cool stuff. I'm using Flixel as well for my game and am thinking about getting into Unity. Quite the coincidence eh? xD

The title of this game fits it well. Nothing like some good ol corpse explosions.

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:06am

Pretty cool little zombie avoider game... good idea

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19am

Setting up those explosions is really fun and challenging. Especially when you have 20 enemies on screen at once. It gets real tough real fast. Nice job.

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I think that the theme went against you in this game. It feels like it limits you, but instead the game could be better without the only one button theme I think.
Still, you kept to it, good job.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:27am

Really fun! I laughed when the corpse exploded on the title screen, and I really liked the (Cyanide and Happiness inspired?) art.

Beavl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:04am

Corpse explosion is great. Enemy attack could be improved, but overall, I had some nice play sessions with this game. Cheers!

sprawl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:27am

The game is very fun !
It might not fit the theme, but it's a blast to play !

Conflei says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:18am

Cool blood spash, nice effect haha

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Great and funny game. But there are 2 things:
- the AI is just setting x and y position to player's x and y
- the spawner is set to linear raise, so it might get a bit hard in the end
Anyway, I really enjoyed playing it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]