December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

RetroBall

by timothyolt - Jam Entry

RetroBall is one of those games that is hard to describe without showing it.. Think of a boundless pinball machine where you make the rules. Well, there is a rule you cannot change.. You only get one pinball. Its like a "cant wish for more wishes" deal.

In a sidescrolling arcade game that crosses pinball and many other classic games, you get to draw your own pinball machine with the goal of going lengths no pinball has dared to fly.

Controls: Mouse aim/click to create platforms

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#163Innovation(Jam)3.18
#228Fun(Jam)2.97
#328Theme(Jam)2.61
#328Overall(Jam)2.95
#374Humor(Jam)1.95
#405Graphics(Jam)2.69
#422Mood(Jam)2.43
#469Audio(Jam)1.47

Comments

Baconquake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

Wonderful :D

timothyolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Note: It does crash when it prompts you to "Click to restart". But hold your horses, that's totally because "You only get one" try.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

I liked the gameplay, but it was frustrating to restart the game each time I died. :P

timothyolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32am

I would think fixing that crash bug would be allowed, it wouldn't add anything, just allow for more play. Will work on it as soon as I can.

DST says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Loving The Incredible Machine, this is right up my alley! :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

It crashed when "restarting" which was annoying since the tutorial screen at the start is not skippable and takes a very long time to disappear. Otherwise, a neat concept and very pleasing retro graphics!

Fritzendugan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Incredibly frustrating to have to restart (and sit through the unskippable intro screens) every time. A countdown (3,2,1) before the ball drops would be nice so I can have a little bit of time to place my platforms.

Tomski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Great game, right up my alley. Apart from the crashes, great job :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Wow, it's a very original concept, and very difficult for me too :P. Great job

(I need to restart the game again every time I lose, it crashes everytime I press "Click to restart")

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Awesome, great work, nice graphics and an interesting dynamic

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55pm

This game is a lot of fun once you get the hang of it.

"I would think fixing that crash bug would be allowed, it wouldn't add anything, just allow for more play."

Per the "MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO" section, I don't see a problem with you fixing the crash.

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:14am

Neat idea, but needs more polish.

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:09am

All the delays in the wrong places! Made me watch the intro screen more than it let me play, and then launched abruptly into flinching toward the ball which was already falling, and then once I was unhappy with my first line, it was all downhill from there.

Still, a cool idea and a nice graphical style.

flatgub says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Really fun game!
My major complaint is that the title/tutorial screen is unskippable, and is way too long if i've gotta see it every time i lose. But other than that its a lot of fun! Great job
-Flatgub

timothyolt says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:25am

Fixed that crash bug, something weird happened like trying to add platforms to a nonexistant world. Anyways Enjoy being able to fall off the screen more often!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice game and very challenging ! I love it, made it to 5772 ! Really addictive !

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I've got over 2000 points ^^
Woow! I very like idea! And overall game is very good ;)
Gameplay is interesting and addictive ;)
Congratulations ^^

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Yeah! I love this gameplay! :D

taocayo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Loved the control mechanics. Maybe a pickup that adds speed to the ball? the extra bounce is not enough to make the game last longer than a few mins without losing.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:21am

Reminds me of line rider, was fun

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice concept, really difficult though. Still had fun!

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Really innovative and fun! I got over 2000 points :)

My biggest complaint is that you spend about 90% of the time in the bottom 25% of the screen, just because of physics.

I would have really liked it if the game area were more like 3 or 4 "screens" tall and the screen scrolled.

timothyolt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:27pm

@Jedi I am planning to further the game a little in a post-compo version. That sounds like a good idea to add, never thought of it. I will probably include it.

saulopz says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:07am

interesting and fun.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:07am

Nice mechanics. I found it a little too hard. Nice art. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]