December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Creep (You only get one Night)

by Mekuri - Jam Entry

Phew, this one was tough. My first time doing a Ludum Dare in Unity, and it could've gone much better. There are some bugs in the game, one of which is music playing when you restart the level. The music will stop within 10 seconds or so.
Also I had to resize the terrain last minute, so there are a few places with a bit of rough terrain.
Anyways, more about all this in my post mortem.

The Game:
You have been infected by the creep. In order to safe yourself you need to find the holy potion, which is said to be able to cure the "Creeps". Be careful though, as the creep will try to catch you. Only after you've found the potion is it "safe" to let him catch you.
Remember ## You Only Get One Night ## - You are infected, and sun light will incinerate you, so don't waste any time!
Good luck!

Controls:

WASD and mouse. F to open/close the door.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#143Mood(Jam)3.29
#293Audio(Jam)2.78
#358Graphics(Jam)2.89
#374Humor(Jam)1.95
#419Theme(Jam)2.31
#451Fun(Jam)2.33
#483Overall(Jam)2.43
#517Innovation(Jam)2.00

Comments

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16am

Web version was really difficult to control, it was like my mouse wasn't centered properly or something.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22am

dont like the controls, so weird, but i like the idea

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

I've just tested myself again, and I do not have this issue myself. I would like to hear from others if they have that issue. It can be slightly confusing at the beginning, since you are looking upwards on the web version for some reason, but other than that it works fine for me. - Thanks for playing! :-)

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19am

Very Slender and very terrifying. :D Didn't have too much of an issue with the controls, something about them was a bit odd, but it didn't bother me too much.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58am

pretty nice slender-type game! got too laggy for me. good job!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51pm

This was pretty creepy. The music was a nice touch, a bit jump-scare as I wasn't expecting it. It was a bit laggy for me as well but otherwise it was fun. Good job.

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

didn't load for me, just had a white screen :(

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:12pm

A good start, the audio and visuals really made the mood. Fell off the world on my first attempt, perhaps a little too dark to be able to figure out what you are meant to do. The mouse issue is because you didn't get unity to grab the mouse and the mouse look is much slower than mouse movement, which is a little disorientating.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Nice game!
The mood was really nice on this and the "shocking" music felt great :D
Good work!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Thanks for the headsup Piat, I'll look into it when I get a chance. I already have a newer version where you can't fall off the map, and I am planning to add the ability to make the game lighter/darker. But I'll upload those sometime after judging is over, so that I'm not breaking any competition rules.
Thanks to all of you for your feedback - It means a lot to me :-)

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31am

Haha good game. Very Slender-esque. Perhaps a little too dark, hard to play. I liked the ending too :)

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Hey, the text doesn't all fit on the screen. But damn, this is a creepy game. It was lagging a little and stuff, but that didn't stop me getting scared! I can see just a *tad* of Slender in this. :p Also F is a little weird for an action key, but whatever. Nice work!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10pm

In my offline version of the game I found the issue that caused the lag (gained almost 50fps on my system). Also I fixed the text so that it now fits on screen. I must have been really tired to miss that part on release night lol. I decided not to change the lighting, since I felt that would be against the competition rules.

Thanks for all the feedback - It's really appreciated!

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:22pm

YOU! Nicely done! This game gave me goosebumps. Its not an original way of using this theme but its nicely executed! One point though, the music gets stuck when you die and restart the game. It will only stop when you encounter the creep and escape.

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:34am

It would be great if some basic goals in game would be obviously

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Felt very inspired my Slenderman, though the sound effects almost had me feeling of a horror game if it weren't for the orchestra hits which felt a bit out of place and comical.

The game would've been easier on the eyes if the webpage background was also black. Red text on a black background is not easy to read unless you really up the font.

Good attempt at a horror game.

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:36pm

You should lock the mouse ;)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Like it has been said the mouse control is really an issue here but otherwise i like the mood. I had a little heart attack on the orchetral hits and the red flashing screen... Sudden loud noises are really a risky move and usually it is a cheap move in horror genre but somehow i liked it this time

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]