December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Card Hero

by dylanwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect the coins! Avoid the enemies! Score the points!

Power-up your robotic avatar by playing cards--but you can only hold one card at a time (that is, "you only get one").

INSTRUCTIONS:
- Click DISCARD to discard and draw a new card.
- Click your CARD to activate the power (powers last 2 seconds)

CARD TYPES:
- Coins x 2: coins are worth double points
- Speed x 2: your avatar moves twice as fast
- 1/2 Penalty: the penalty for enemies is halved
- Invincible: your avatar is unaffected by enemies.
- Alternate Path: while active, your avatar will take the alternate (blue) path wherever possible

Created using Unity 4, 2D Toolkit, and Thinkscroller.

Other tools used: GIMP (graphics), Audacity (recording & editing)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Audio3.13
#229Graphics3.50
#335Innovation3.14
#399Overall3.13
#438Mood2.85
#454Humor2.32
#498Theme2.86
#591Fun2.73
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Nice visuals and music. I like the card mechanic for controlling the character.

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Awesome graphic style. Simple game play, could easily be a mobile game.

vinull says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06am

Good use of the theme, the graphics are great as well. A bit dense to grasp the concept at first, but otherwise great.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11am

I wish there were different levels and more balance in the cards (the one to skip ennemies feels strong!), but it's fun.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Hey this is a pretty fun game. I played it far more than I intended to. You've got a good art style and an interesting take on the theme. Add some more elements to this thing and you could have a nice mobile game! Multi-player would be cool.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:39am

Nice innovative take on the theme. The mechanic didn't do it for me, but the audio was lovely.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:15am

Got 7400 after a few tries! Is that good?

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:26am

I think so. The highest I've managed is a bit under 11000. Really, the level is very biased towards picking alternate paths.

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:25am

Nice game. Congrats!

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:23am

I think this is a great game. It is simple yet I wanted to play a couple times more than originally anticipated. I don't really like random gameplay elements, so it would have been nice to have a more reliable way of getting the right card you wanted at the right time.

The graphics and audio were very well made. I enjoyed them and your art style is interesting.

I think that if more time were spent on the gameplay, this would have been a perfect game, great job! Keep up the fantastic work and have a fun time doing it!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Nice graphics :) Well played !

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Lovely, smart way of using the "only one" theme without making the gameplay too limited.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]