December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only one Cookie

by Linus Lindberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mom tells you that you can only have one cookie... you disagree.


CONTROLS
-----------
Left Click to pick up cookies then click on your mouth to eat them.
Right Click to quickly drop the cookie you are holding if mom looks.
-----------

Made by Linus Lindberg.

Written in Lua using Love 2d
Graphics were made in Illustrator and music in GarageBand
Sound effects were recorded and edited in Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#60Graphics4.06
#69Theme3.76
#85Humor3.51
#154Audio3.24
#282Mood3.10
#289Overall3.27
#491Fun2.87
#499Innovation2.92

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice! I like your drawings and also nice music.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Thank you! ^^

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Art style is killer!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I love your vector art style! :D

ppelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:40am

Great illustrations!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09am

Back at yeah, still oogling over the gfx

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22am

Yay! ate 25 cookies. Very nice looking graphics.

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:23am

great art style

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

Lovely art! Nice twist on the theme.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

That was really clever! I liked the debug messages scrolling past the terminal while I was eating the cookies... :)

BTW: Win32 version works perfectly on Linux w/ WINE.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Graphics are very good and concept is clever, but you should have chosen better music :/

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Nice graphics & music!

Afal says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I really like the art in this

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Congratulation, its is clever!

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Hahahaha this is hilarious ! Nice art by the way although the guy's arm is kindda weird (Elastic man !!)

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I love idea as well as the art style and music. It all fits together brilliantly. Good Job! :)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56pm

The feeling of dropping the cookies and pretending to not have eaten more than one is awesome ;) Very fun game, and I like the art style.

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

The art was quite nice, but a little plain in places. The game was simple but not the most fun. Also, I noticed if you picked up a cookie just ofter the Mum had left the door you'd get a game over. A nice use of the theme aswell.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice! It gets a little repetitive after a while, but the atmosphere kinda makes up for it. It looks and sounds quite professional actually...

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Hah! I ate 8 cookies! I got fat -_-

rorycooke says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

haha its nuts, whys is his mum the same age as him

its good fun :)

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Haha good twist on the theme. Funny graphics as well, and the music fits right in! Got to 9.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Ha, this game is awesome. I'm going to go eat cookies now, and nobody can stop me!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Fantastic game. Love the art and gameplay. Lots of fun to play!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I just can't stop flopping around that crazy arm. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very nice clean game and art style.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

Thsi game is fantastic! I love the art! Great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56am

Great art style!

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Really like the style, was happy to see that you don't get caught if you have your first cookie in your hand.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Really funny, but it feels a bit random when she catches you sometimes.

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Awesome cookie game! :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I don't think i've ever seen such graphics in a game before, they're awesome :)

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Really cool game, simple mechanic but fit well to the theme. Your music and art is very classy, really like your game. I want to eat all the cookies, a final objective like eating the full plate would be great!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Yeah, that was my initial plan, to have a finite number of cookies on the plate and then change the graphics to a gradually less full plate as you ate them. Unfortunately I didn't have time to implement that, I had to work on a school project with some classmates most of the second day :/

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Nice job, I liked the mechanics, were really fun to mess around with. Art style was pretty sweet too. Nice job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36pm

really nice artstyle. classic example of good theme implementation.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Graphics are nice

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:33pm

The novelty of the joke wears off fast.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:12am

All cookies.

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Interesting graphical style. :)

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:39am

It's been said, but the art is awesome and different. Audio is good but those cookie eating noises, god damn, eat with your mouth shut boy!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Great game, nice graphics, and tricky gameplay :)

viinnyk says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:53pm

really liked it. It seemed to hang sometimes when I ate and the mom would still catch me even though the cookie was supposed to be in my mouth... Not sure if that's an intentional feature or not. Also I had some trouble dropping a cookie when it was at my mouth. The art is great, and the game is simple, elegant, and extremely fun

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:19am

Gorgeous drawings, and I like the music. I liked to pretend to be waving at mom, because it made me feel sneaky. Good job!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:54am

The danger, the pressure, the stares from Mom. Fun!

dcolgan says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:34am

Haha I love the premise of this game. Your characters are very funny looking and well drawn, and an excellent use of the theme. Also I didn't know Love2D could be done in the browser. Fancy!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:53am

Cool drawing style! The hand felt kind of awkward. The fact that mom didn't leave unless you moved your hand away from the plate was- I liked that.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:50am

Haha, fun concept, nice graphics and sound!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Chara design are not my style (the mom scares me ahah) but pretty well done.

Nelien says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Simple concept, but surprisingly addictive. The art is really nice :)

This weirdly reminds me of the strip dancing minigame in GTA V.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

LOVED the idea!
Very well made too!
Good job!

eskivor says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:42am

Simply and funny

hadesfury says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:16pm

15 cookies !

Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Hahah nice game ! Excellent use of the theme. The graphics are great, te gameplay is amusing, well done !!

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:58am

hahaha.. nice little game.. beautiful art... Extra points for using Love web player. Congratulations.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]