December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Loop Desert

by Giovanni Cappellotto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about choice, a hostile environment, and limited resources.

You must survive the Loop Desert trying to reach the city before you run out of water.

Choose wisely the right direction. You will find two bottles of water on your path to help you reach your destination, but only one can save your life.

Controls: right and left keys to move the explorer.

Tools: Crafty.js, Audacity, Draw! (http://www.drawbang.com)

Thanks to Giorgia and Luca.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#40Mood3.81
#72Innovation3.74
#92Graphics3.93
#117Overall3.60
#128Audio3.33
#329Theme3.18
#426Humor2.39
#507Fun2.85

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Looks amazing, I'll come back and play it once we are allowed to vote! :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:12am

Very entertaining. The combination of fixed position and parallax background elements worked nicely. When I finally realized how to solve the puzzle I felt a genuine sense of accomplishment. Nicely done.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05am

The graphics are simply fantastic.. Love the running animation and the day/night effect!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Ma allora non sono l'unico Italiano a fare Ludum Dare! :D

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Very nice graphics!

buiomega says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Great sound, insane game!
well done Giovanni!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17am

Genius, took a while to figure out. I really like the atmosphere the music creates.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17am

A nice piece of work! Graphics are gorgeous, love the pixel art and animation, the sense of scale and the time transitions are all very nicely done. Combined with the background sound it all creates a really great atmosphere.

Took me a few tries to figure out the game mechanic but made it to town eventually.

Really good job!

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20am

I really like the graphics. Wish there was a little bit more to do.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This is something that really represents Ludum Dare. Loved the idea and the execution. Awesome.

Capro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Brilliant game!

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Really nice graphics (although I would have liked a bit more work on the background, but that just polish) and brilliant idea.

It took me some time to understand how it worked, but I was really amazed when I did. Great job!

travislucia says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice graphics, only "game" i've given a high "mood" score to. I noticed if you started walk left the days would take much longer than walking right.

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:19am

Once I figured out the result of which direction I chose, this game became one of my favorites so far. Awesome graphics, and the solution is so simple but not immediately obvious. Great work!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:13am

Good animations and sound. Intriguing...

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26am

Great game with great graphics and audio! I like that it looks so simple and than you need a few attempts to figure out how the game works and the puzzle is solved.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:14am

This was amazing, I loved the music and the graphics were great, nice job!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:18am

Interesting game concept and arty. Took me a while to figure out the puzzle but this is a solid entry. Well done!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:19am

Hopefully there is no nasty desert animals.
I like the final "whoo".

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:21am

Great game! and great idea! It took me 3 tries complete the game!

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:23am

Really cool great work! Love the day night cycle you pulled it off nicely. Your art is actually really nice and does the job well. All in all a great effort!

cwkx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:29am

Really fun little puzzle, very innovative, full marks! :D

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:34am

Nicely done. Although the player has few choice what to do, the result of the actions is the difference.
Nice done. I enjoyed to have a quite 'special' game mechanics.

Beavl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice sword-and-sworcery-like character design. Sound is good and puzzle is clever. Took two tries to figure this one out. Enjoyable entry, congrats!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Great atmosphere and a simple but innovative puzzle game.

Pomb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Cunning. Once I had figured out the mechanic though it got boring walking the whole time. Maybe other elements that changed your health status could have been cool. Or simply other animations you could make just to keep the interest high.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Great!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Really good art theme. I drooled at the color transitions between day and night. The running animation is great. Really good minimalism on the art. And nice victory dance at the end, haha.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Took me a while to figure out the game. Great job with the art and idea!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Cool game ! Nice graphics !

lilinx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Ha! It was fortunate I read in the comment that it was possible to beat this game, so I took the time to figure out the solution. You managed to design a clever puzzle that goes with an interesting atmosphere, congratulations.

sekaru says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Lovely design and graphics. However either I was either having framerate issues or the running animation was generally choppy.

Spierek says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:44pm

This game was quite clever, kudos :)

Mago says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I loved audio, also very interesting game idea.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Absolutely superb. A brilliant concept and solid execution. Love the pixel art and the background ambience is perfect. Well done indeed!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Control of time was the crucial discovery. Once I understood that, I was led on only by the hope that whoever designed this game had left a reward for surviving so long. Lo and behold, my patience was rewarded with water. I enjoyed that initial discovery.

multikorv says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:05am

Looks and sounds nice! Not really much interaction though, some more possibilities to affect outcome more would be nice. Overall its feels nice!

recursor says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Nice puzzle game with stylistic graphics. The audio adds to the atmosphere and is also well done.

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Pretty good game. I love the graphics and the day-night cycle. Very inspiring!

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Interesting idea and amazing art!

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Innovate, but the controls is so repetitive...

ismyhc says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

Great pixel art graphics!

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:20pm

very curious. I love how colorful it is and how easy it is to play

jomomomo says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Best audio I've seen in a game this LD. Good job

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I like the concept but would have liked a bit more to do. The graphics and sounds where really good.

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:41am

I am a Dilbert! Very moody

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Wow, that's a really clever puzzle! I felt really cool when I figured it out :D

I think the graphics could have used a bit of a touch up, the main character's walk cycle was a bit weird, and he didn't seem as 'clean' as other pixel art I've seen in that style. Still thought it looked pretty good though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]