December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Sarah

by Geti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The perhaps game isn't explained well enough, but I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. It gets kinda bananas difficulty-wise after a few rounds, try not to be discouraged, and help Sarah on her way.

Perhaps the least clear thing about the game is that if you go into the cockpit and press X, you can drive the ship. Z or Spacebar will shoot from there.

There is unfortunately no win condition, but feel free to brag about how far you got or provide screenshots of any insane asteroids or great food totals you rack up :)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Mood3.36
#166Graphics3.68
#242Innovation3.29
#331Overall3.21
#409Audio2.69
#454Humor2.32
#660Fun2.64
#705Theme2.50
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

gobstopper says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

This is really fun, I like just about everything about this game! The music was a good choice, it's not too repetitive or anything.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

Love how there's a seperate exe with no sound :)

It's a very ambitious concept, i would've liked action to be a bit more immediate for the space bits.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great graphics, but i found soundtrack annoying...
However, there's a cool atmospere of space solitude and fear.
Good game =)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Great graphics, actually they are amazing I love them. The gameplay is interesting. It's cool to be in control of both the ship and the captain. Great work !

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Really good potential for a space based exploration game! You should take a look at the Indie game A.N.N.E. as well for inspiration, platformer + shmup hybrid :)Excellent spriting...

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:59pm

With some polish it could shape up to be a great game.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:15am

I feel like... it's so bizarre it's awesome :P I feel like it has the imagination of 90's PC games, and I love the graphics and atmosphere. The game right now isn't particularly gripping, but I feel like with just a little bit of work this could be a really surprising sleeper hit. I love the multi-tasking aspect... I don't know, I can't put my finger on it but I really like it :D

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:17am

Really great game! I loved having control of the captain as well as the ship.
It'd be nice to have space stations for resupply rather than just a dialogue that appears out of nowhere though.

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Good graphics..but very slow movement of the ship.. But overall it's very good!

Geti says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Cheers guys, as usual the comments are really what makes the LD :^)

Completely agree with all the polish focussed points, alas I can never find time for those things on LD weekends, maybe if I manage to properly plan one out I'll be able to though.

Glad it's inspiring the imagination of some, will go give some more rates and comments now.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I like the switching between controlling the ship and taking care of things. Aavoiding meteors and shooting them was a little too difficult imo though and getting random bonuses add an unneccessary random elemnt to the game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:58am

This game is so great! I thought I was playing a jam entry, not a compo entry. It looks so polished and finished! Really good job. It's like Asteroids meets survival.

Can't get the music out of my head now. Thanks ;-)

Atridas says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:34am

Great, great, great starting point. It is hard to find the fun in this but you can really see how this can be debeloped into a great thing.

Cons are lack of explanation of what you should do, and a music loop too short, but in 48 hors this is really great. Lot of potential.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Nice graphics! It's hard to control without being able to break, but it adds to the fun.

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

Interesting idea!
I am not sure how to win, but it's still fun :D

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nothing happens after the red loading bar is done moving. I'm using IE10 (maybe the issue?).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]