December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

There Is Only One Traitor

by LukuluK - Jam Entry

You are the boss of the gang, and someone has betrayed you. Everybody is suspected, the tension is growing until someone panic and use his weapon !
You have to investigate while everyone is strongly stressed !

Don't hesitate to give feedback, there is so many points to improve.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#13Innovation(Jam)3.91
#78Theme(Jam)3.48
#158Humor(Jam)2.85
#164Fun(Jam)3.16
#216Overall(Jam)3.19
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#446Audio(Jam)1.81
#481Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

Really like the idea!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Nice!

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:49am

Very very fun. I'll pay for a game like this.

Magdev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:34am

This was a really cool idea, but I was a lil disappointed in the execution, you basically just talked to the guys until one started sweating, then shot them.

It would be pretty cool if there were little chains of lies or information that you can use to figure out who to shoot.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Thank you !
@Magdev : Yes, I should have made a more evolution in the discussion dynamics, like the game of @DeathBySnail.
Furthermore, I think that this gameplay could apply to many contexts, since it includes contextual features like dialogues !

Novodantis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I think this is an idea well worth pursuing, there's a lot that could be done with things like varying threat (you can try to smooth talk a guy or you can shout and wave a gun at him) to try and get different information. The biggest thing it could benefit from is a random element to introduce replayability, but I understand that would have been tough in the time allotted!

Halfire says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Fun game, and an awesome concept, would have loved to see more of this. Maybe you could carry it on later?

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23pm

An interesting idea, but I'd like to see a better version sometimes.
"Clic"? "Clic"? *Looks it up* Wow! "Clic" is a word! Still, quite weird, never seen it.
When I see "Clic to continue", what do I clic? A "Clic to continue" button. How would I know it's not the place to clic! You should make it clicable as well.
On the last level, the retry button covers the text of one of people.
Also, I want some randomizing. After failing a level once, I know who is the traitor.

So, your entry is very original, but not really polished.
Also, you might create some action scenes, like the guy kills his target, and you shoot him before he shoots you.

runvs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01pm

The Idea is great!

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Very Original idea, I Love it!
This game asks for an extended post-compo version, it has so much potential! I really hope you'll extend it (more levels, random identity of the traitor, people lying but not being the traitor, people changing their version if you aim at them more than once, etc...), coz I'd really like to play more of it. Congrats!

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Haha, great concept!
The UI was a bit confusing (you actually need to clic on the "You win" square, as it seems) but the gameplay is just great =) The face of the traitor when he kills you... priceless ^^

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:10pm

That's a promising idea, and a very innovative one! I loved the sub-mechanics like teams, sweating, panic bar and all the mexican standoff vibe. But I too think a post-LD version could have chain dialogues, and information you need to cross-check until you have a traitor. Or even the pieces of information leave you with 2 possible traitors, but there's a small detail which helps you find the right one.

Another thing: the panic bar fills up very quick, but once you lose, you just restart the level and you didn't lose anything. All information is fixed, so if you lost but now you already know who's the traitor, you just begin again and shoot him. That takes some of the tension away, it's like there's no actual lose condition. I think some randomness could add to it. Things like random pieces of info that could or could not appear in a level (some crucial, some just flavor), characters that change their place and face between restarts, or more than one piece of info per suspect. Like a procedural find-the-traitor standoff :D

Anyway, just ideas. Great concept you have there! One of the most innovative games I've seen in this LD ^^

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nice idea

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Uniqe idea, challageable gameplay, but it need some polish i think. What was Napolion said? "Polish, polish, polish."

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Yes, I totally agree about the polish ! Thanks to everyone for the tips, I think that there is lot of great work to be done on this game.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:21am

Great game! It's reminds me "Reservoir dogs" a lot !

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I think that one thing you could do to improve how worth it is replaying levels would be to shuffle the actors around. If you want, at present you can simply shoot someone and see who shoots you and then replay and kill that one right away. I think the game was nice though. It's a bit to stressful to read all the info with the timer but all in all quite nice.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very promising! More! MORE! It's a great idea to make a game out of a Mexican standoff. Include flashbacks if you want the full Tarantino. =)

larb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Cool idea. Lots of opportunity to improve, and expand. Maybe look into making a logic puzzle game. Like liars and truth telling games and such. The panic and sweating are nice mechanics.

multikorv says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice idea!

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Finished quickly, but this is how I imagine proper LD entry. It was fun to play and.. just 5/5 for Overall.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I really like the concept although it could do with some randomisation.

atombrot says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I like the idea, graphic is fun :)

atombrot says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:00am

hahaha... very great game... I won in my first run, but still the tension was high... very fun idea and well implemented game mechanics.
(just so you don't be confused, we are two in our team and I also had to comment).

foumart says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very cool entry. The last level I reached was unreadable (the top guy's text was under the ui) Also I'm not sure if showing who is the killer on your fail is good unless you randomly generate the compositions. Lastly the tension was growing fast while reading the instructions.. but it is a really interesting idea.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I really like the idea. But it was a little easy.

xrm0 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Interesting gameplay. You should develop it further, although changing it a bit as it all boils down to talk quickly to every other person until you find the sweaty one.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]