December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Single Dragon: You Owe N. Lee $1

by Tom 7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a short, mostly complete beat(?)-em-up. It's all standards-compliant HTML5, but I think the current version will only work in CHROME, and you may need a FAST COMPUTER. FireFox seems OK now, but slower.

Use the arrow keys to move around, space to jump, z and x to operate your limbs. [TAB] skips dialog, but then the game will be VERY short. :)

I have been making games in Flash for a long time and I decided to give HTML5 a shot since Flash is doomed. That means I started from an empty file and spent a lot of time learning / struggling with basics. (Including like writing my own MIDI player, etc.) I'm pretty happy with what's possible in the browser today, at least for pixel games, if you're using the newest Chrome. Not sure how I feel about the compatibility and performance issues, yet.

Anyway, this game is transparently inspired by River City Ransom. There's a long list of things I wish I had time to improve, but so is the nature of Ludum Dare!

Jam version adds a few little extras (including a secret) and some polish. Rate the Compo version, of course, which is complete enough to be fun, I hope. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#55Humor3.69
#74Audio3.53
#131Overall3.57
#141Mood3.40
#152Graphics3.74
#169Fun3.40
#640Theme2.61
#897Innovation2.15

Comments

tzamora says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Great! I finish it, Cool game!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:07pm

A bit short, but a nice game.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:43am

Pretty cool beat them up game.
The action is a bit "messy" though. I found myself mashing up the action buttons, without being sure if I was hitting the opponents or not.

Nevertheless cool graphics, nice cinematic/plot, well included in the game.
It was fun going through the compo and jam version.

Congratulations on making such a finished/polished game in 48/72h.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:45am

I like the graphics!! Feel the 1990's games :D

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:29am

really nice game! Well done :)

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38am

Haha loved it!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:39am

i played all the way through. the combat wasn't very interesting but the overall production made up for it. really sweet for a 48 hour game. more people should check this out!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:41am

Top marks right here. I absolutely love River City Ransom so to see an homage to such a great game is overwhelmingly pleasant. Would love to see more of this.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42am

Hehe, "Single Dragon". Funny game, though it's kinda hard to hit the enemies, as Kyatric said.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:44am

Oops, I died.

This was awesome though. I loved the twist, made me laugh a lot. The music was cool too.

On your comment "flash is doomed", I think that right now flash is still the best platform for web games. HTML5 still has a lot of issues. Still your game worked well on my computer (using Chrome)

Dcandle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:45am

Good job!

I wasn't worried at all by the shortness of the game (it's a jam after all).

But i found it was lacking feedback on the hits during fight. So it was just like pressing button with no interest in it. Sounds and screen shakes would be cool (at least sounds...)

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47am

I agree that it's still the best platform (at least for the desktop) but it's clear the support for it is waning, so I don't wanna get stuck. Outside IE, I actually feel pretty bullish about canvas and audiocontext recently. :)

Thanks for playing and for the comments everybody! I know the fighting is imperfect; that was one of the TODOs I didn't get around to. Ah, if only it were a 49 hour contest...

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:51am

Wow, so much about this was just totally awesome... what polish! I played it through twice.

I did find punching guys in the face a little thin, though. Most fights ended up with me standing overlapping them, both of us whaling away not connecting. If I backed up to make my fist hit their face, though, I'd end up with my back to them very often and get hit.

The second time I beat the boss I got him stuck in the corner and he fell right into a kick lockdown.

An impressive game, though. You put a little more into the actual combat and you've got a fun micro-romp through nostalgia town.

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32am

well fleshed out. Fun story and environments. Controls feel a too loose for my tastes. I want to turn around immediately and also have whatever I press next override any button im currently holding down so i can switch left or right without moving my finger off the other direction. Hit boxes seemed to not work when I was inside of people had to constantly move out of their box to hit them. Great river city ransom graphics.

polux says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Love puns, loved this.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:08am

Great job, great graphic style, it's a pretty cool game.

drnick says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very nice

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:22am

It reminds me good old 8bit renegade, complete with a bit clunky controls

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:22am

Pretty decent to see a beat-em-up with a full (if a little short) story and everything made in 48 hrs! Impressive, well done :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:49am

Haha, short, but awesome! I loved the RiverCityRansom references xD
The cinematic was really cool.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:22am

Really cute game. The graphics and sound definitely reminded me old 8-bit beat'em-ups

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:06am

Very retro, a well made entry - really polished! Congrats

glovecat says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Great! I win! Short game but it's fun :)

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I had great fun with this game.. would like to play a full game with this story :)

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Haha, that was really funny. And I liked that you spend more time on the audio!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:59pm

The audio of this game is awesome! I liked the boss fight the most :P

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:29pm

This was really great! Funny, played pretty well, looked and sounded perfect.

Excellent job.

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Great audio graphics and story, awesome work!

mobyvb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Great music, great art, and funny. Very good game, imo.

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Nice work on the music! (if you switch tabs it turns into a dirge!) Pretty fun but the controls are a bit clunky, seems impossible to do any 2 different things in quick succession. Love the reference to Escape Cod too!

mystakin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:04am

A cool homage to River City Ransom! I enjoyed the light storyline elements most, but wish there was a stronger connection to the theme. The art's pretty cool too, especially in the ending scenes.

lotusgame says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:49am

Very cute retro game ! I love the story and the progression to the plot ! Huge work for a 48h entry ! It was a nice surprise :)

Bernhard says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:14am

Was very entertaining and funny. And the amount of art and music created was quite astounding!

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Awesome game! :D
I really like the old sckool flair of it.
The story is nice, but the game could have been a bit longer, since it was quite fun to play, but hey, for a jam-game the length is ok.
Great work! :)

ossah says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Loved the old school style. Took my back to my younger days.
Short but fun.

eskivor says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:45am

I thought at first view your enemies were your friends who follow you ^^

Tom 7 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:10am

Ha ha. Who says they're not?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]