December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Gunman

by GaTechGrad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as One Gunman, who must gather the rewards for shooting the bandits (Evens, Odds, Fibonaccis, Squares). Each bandit has a numerical value associated to it, which determines if it is one that can be shot for a reward. The reward will change periodically to a new set of bandits. Shooting an incorrect bandit will result in One Gunman losing a life. When all of his lives are gone, the game is over.

Note: One Gunman always shoots directly forward towards the bandits.

THEME: If you look closely, One Gunman's body is in the shape of the number ONE, which is how it relates to the theme "You Only Get ONE".

Controls:
Move - left/right arrows, A/D keys
Shoot - Space / Left mouse button

Tools Used: Unity 4.2.1f4, Blender 2.68a, Audacity 2.0.3, Garage Band, Gimp 2.8, MonoDevelop 2.8.2, Chronolapse 1.0.7, VirtualDub 1.9.11

Please post your high scores!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#173Humor3.14
#359Audio2.78
#361Graphics3.19
#422Innovation3.02
#426Theme3.02
#570Mood2.66
#603Fun2.71
#633Overall2.83

Comments

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Interesting game, but shooting is a bit difficult to aim precisely. But that narrator voice...

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

I like the alternate interpretation of "you only get one," the number series matching concept, the changing shadows, and the cutaways on death.

It'd be easier if there was a marker noting the bullet spawn point. It takes a bit to figure out how to line up your shot.

It'd be a hassle to implement, but it's frustrating when you fire right before the wanted poster changes.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Thanks for the comments. I could add a line showing the path of the bullet, or maybe make "lanes" with different colored dirt showing the path of the bullet.
There is a bar at the bottom of the Wanted poster showing how much time is left until it changes, but it's hard to look at it and control your character at the same time.

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Aiming is tricky, you get the hang of it. Nice graphic touch with the shadows moving.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

+1 for the cute death animation and the voice!

vinull says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15am

Love the 3D graphics (especially "one") and the light changing while playing. I also though find it tough to aim.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Love the artstyle and voice!

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Haha nice take on the theme, and I like the way you switched up which numbers to shoot. I had a bit of difficulty aiming but I just count that as part of the learning curve. Nice job on the Blender3D models by the way. I especially like the character's death animation.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13am

Ha, pretty good, shooting was bit imprecise, but otherwise it played really well. Narrator voice was great.

xel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

Apparently I don't know my maths. Great concept though. The narrator was great.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16am

Very interesting twist on the theme! Well done.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41am

Haha, nice take on the theme. Good consistent graphics and the honky tonk piano sound was good with the wild west theme.
Did I hear 'shoot the perfects'? I had to look that up on wikipedia :)

Like other people I had some trouble aiming.

Nice.

Elforama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25am

NIce game, although I had a hard time aiming.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01am

hmm what gmfk07 said

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:10am

Many cool touches, and while the aiming was tough, it was not unfair.

It seemed a little rough that someone could be a bandit, and I pull my trigger, and then while the bullet is in the air he's not a bandit anymore. I kept worrying about it and glancing over at the countdown meter, but I guess that's as designed? Also, WHERE ARE YOU, PERFECT SIX??

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06pm

It was alright. Hard to aim and the targets would change right after I fire at a number.

the1stfo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Cool. Kind of like the offensive version of Pig and Bullet...not that the game is offensive or anything haha.

Could use a reticle on screen to give better feedback of where your shots are headed, but other than that no suggestions. Narration is once again a strong point.

spx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:12am

yeah aiming is a bit hard to predict but you can get used to it. Would be nice if you could change the aiming in order to hit targets that are nearly besides you.

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:28pm

The game need some more variation (colors / settings / challenges), but nice casual start.

michail says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice voice acting and background music, also interesting use of the theme and maths. The aiming is hard at the beginning, but I got used to it after some time.

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:00am

Nice idea!
I like the changing targer idea. Shooting is a bit tricky, because of the perspective. You could make shooting easier by placing reference lines on the ground. Of courst something fitting (maybe put the light behind the gunman and use the shadow as a guidance).
It took me way too long to get the connection between the title and the odd (no pun intended!) look of the gunman :D
Nice work!

Xavier says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:53pm

A funny game but I missed a pointer to shoot with more precision. Love the narrator's voice :)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:00am

Hard to determine fire lanes, but a great concept none the less.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:03am

Aiming was too difficult something need to be done about it. The wall of numbers that appeared after some time was an interesting way to finish games.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:21am

The game is funny and clever. I liked the animations and the concept, but actually managing to shoot something is a different story. If you polish the shooting a bit, this can be a really fun game.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:46am

Haha, fun game. Nice take on the theme!

ViliX says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Innovative game :)

TaleLore says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:57am

Solid game. Weird narration haha.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:01am

Nice game. Too bad precision is a little bit awkward and finally frustrating. I like the innovative gameplay and theme integration. It's a great job ! Congrats :)

OJ Navarro says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Cool lighting. "Shoot fibonaccis" made me smile.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:23am

Interesting game ! The graphics are well done, nice animations ! Great work :)

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

good graphics, but could use some work on the aiming.

loxo says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Good audio, graphics and an unique idea. I like the changing wanted list, it adds much to the game. Overall a good job!

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:25am

Love the voice effects, especially "shoot fibonaccis." Lots of fun!

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Really neat idea! Aiming was very difficult - maybe if he wasn't able to move freely, but only to different positions? Not sure if that would be fun at all, though. The voice over was a nice touch - once I got used to what they referred to as far as targets go, it was cool not having to look to the corner to see what to shoot.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Difficult buy quite satisfying, good work. :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:35am

The camera angle made shooting a little difficult, but I could see this being a really great education game for learning numbers. I really had fun. Great work. (death animation was fantastic -- I should know, I died a lot)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]