December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One man, one shot

by lightsoda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Multimedia Fusion 2 and FL Studio 10.

Bunch of bugs I'm sure, especially in regards to collision detection.

It's rather short, so you should be able to finish it quickly.

Arrow keys to walk, shift to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#38Graphics4.19
#41Audio3.68
#81Mood3.62
#326Overall3.22
#716Theme2.48
#716Fun2.53
#885Innovation2.19

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Death by spikes :) Really fun, I like the artwork!

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Super nice graphics and audio and mood. You've definitely got that part down. I'd suggest adding checkpoints to make it a bit less frustrating but very much enjoyed the mood of the game.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Good game. High marks for graphics/audio/mood. I really hope you develop this further.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

Gameplay is a little shaky, but the graphics and music are top-notch. Would love to see a more fleshed out game in this style, for sure!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

The art work in this is great, An the simple gameplay made it fun.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I liked the aesthetic of the game, but darn it it's hard. You have to restart from the beginning when you die in the 2nd level... (I know, it's to fit in the theme). Nice work on the animation tho, the music is also pretty good too

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21am

The aesthetic initially made me think of Hotel Dusk but as I played it felt more and more like an old-school 16-bit era digitized platfomer... but way less ugly than those things were.

Awesome setting, music, and graphics. Gameplay is a little unforgiving. Waiting for that elevator really sucks when you die and have to start over.

Good entry!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

Fantastic graphics. You have a great style! Jumping was a bit awkward and movement slow, but it was enjoyable.

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27am

I really enjoyed the animations! The overall art style is really interesting too. You already mentioned the only thing that was iffy for me (the collision detection), but it wasn't a big deal. Well done!

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27am

I really enjoyed the music and the color scheme helped set a good mood. The game is really unforgiving and it would be nice with some checkpoints (as others mentioned). Overall it had a nice feel and I'm glad I checked it out!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Love graphics and audio ! Death by spikes for me !

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Cool graphics and a grooving soundtrack. Lack of checkpoints really cut down on the fun factor especially when spikes can kill you from a mile away

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very nice artwork!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Looks and sounds great. The game definitely needs checkpoints though. Really frustrating to start all over from collision with spikes even though I wasn't even close to them.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The link isn't working at the moment, I'll check back later.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Got it to work! Great use of color and sound. The game was a bit on the boring side, but still a great entry!

ACE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:05pm

bad ass color pallet but with it didn't have to go back to the start each time i die

udo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Very moody, graphics and audio are well done, especially considering this is a compo entry!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Absolutely excellent graphics, reminds me a lot of Another World. Was the character rotoscoped, by any chance? The only problems I have with the game are the glitches (which you mention), but still didn't have much trouble finishing it -- nothing game breaking.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]