December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stellar Delusion - LD28 - You Only Get One Planet!

by wulfdesign - Jam Entry

Original idea was
You Only Get One Planet
Protect it from the Asteroid Threat...

A radial gravity simulator which you can fly around in...
with pretty images from various space agencies...

could only put a dozen hours into it over the weekend...
since it stands unfinished only the asteroid and earth have gravitational interaction with each other
there is currently no 'Win' state.
and asteroid is on a random starting velosity and direction so it may or maynot hit earth.

see
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/13/stellar-delusion-ld28-you-only-get-one/
for build notes and credit.

Controls:
Use arrow keys for thrust control...
Escape to restart...
Space to remove Failed Impact alert.

currently you can can only interact with the asteroid by pushing it around.(it's heavy).
if it hits earth...
it could be the end to us all.
Protect us Major Tom...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#431Theme(Jam)2.28
#433Graphics(Jam)2.56
#456Innovation(Jam)2.29
#466Fun(Jam)2.28
#495Overall(Jam)2.39
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56am

In my endeavors to save my precious home planet from the threat of the approaching meteor I enter my spaceship on a suicide mission to ram that meteor off collision course with the pure force of my ship.
Suddenly overcome by doubt, I attempt to swing away last second, but I still grace the meteor. Surprised I find that I didn't crash, but rather bounced off the meteor, losing control of my ship in the process. Spinning uncontrollably, I plummeted into the sun, only to find that the sun is actually a portal to a mirrored universe! As luck would have it, my ship bounce into the meteor heading towards this alternate earth, slowing me down to a halt but pushing the meteor just enough to avoid a collision with the alternate earth.
I am welcomed as a hero.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I love the physic behind the movement of the ship. Nice job !

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29am

Cool physics, an enjoyable sandbox.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:49pm

interesting game. played longer than I expected. is it possible to win? 20 minutes in orbit with no impact, but no end either. controls were difficult, but gameplay was amusing.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Good physics!!

wulfdesign says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:19am

hopefully looking to do post mortem, post Jam update with better ship control, a more solid win or loose state, possible levels that get progressively more difficult.

Unept says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Great idea. The controls got a bit frustrating after some time, but I still enjoyed the challenge!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I couldn't enjoy this. I felt that the controls were too unreliable, and that everytime I failed it wasn't my fault :( It could be really fun if you fixed them somehow!

taocayo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Good quality on the graphics. Cool to see the effects of gravitational forces on the asteroid.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]