December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jam Panic!

by xhunterko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You wake up out of a groggy sleep and look at the date. HOLY CRAP! This is already the second day of the game jam you wanted to take part of! You literally have NO clue on what to do! You sit there panicking for several hours trying to come up with a solution. You have nothing. Feeling despondent, you take a chug of soda to go to bed. Then all of a sudden, it hits you. This is what you'll make your "game" about! At least this way, you'll have something and you'll be able to rate the other games right? You boot up Twine and begin to try to work!

Basically. The idea is you only get to pick one choice on how you want to continue. You can either quit and give up. Or try and keep going.

But really I've been feeling down lately. And made this so I can say I made something for this Ludum Dare. And to vote on other entries. Which is the important thing right?

EDIT: No, really guys seriously. Don't play or even rate this if you don't want to. And I won't feel bad if I play yours and then you won't play this back. I just made it to rate things. So, it's no biggie if you don't rate or play it at all. :)

EDIT: Since it has been asked for, here is the tutorial I used am am referring to: http://www.auntiepixelante.com/twine/

Have fun with twine!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#503Humor2.24
#875Mood2.11
#959Innovation1.96
#986Theme1.69
#1000Fun1.55
#1003Overall1.89

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32am

Another meta Twine game?
Or am I just confused?

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

That comment about women not being able to make games might not go over too well.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Hopefully it won't be taken the wrong way. I tried to word it so that to continue, the player had to recognize a fault within themselves. Otherwise, they wouldn't be able to finish the game.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Not sure I got it? :(

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Okay so you didn't give up and you managed to make a game about managing to make a game and not giving up, so I have to send you metacongratulations.
Also it's a good depiction of the experience of making a first twine game, including the mandatory reading of auntiepixelante's (I guess) tutorial.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Very strange. And yet I think we've all been there.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice metagame kk
and good luck playing and rating all those 2064 games (yay! I really wish i could play all of them :D)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Thanks: this story mirrors my first Jam. "I'm a web-developer, what do I know about game development. I can't make a _game_. Hmm, well there is that "Twine" thing... I could do that!"

With regards to the ironic comment about women making games: maybe next time put it in context. "Growing up in north-America, playing video games in a basement with dudes, you naturally assume her tutorial won't cut it." Might have gotten your point across more clearly.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:45pm

i agree with arrogant.gamer's comment on how to make that "women can't make games"-joke work better. though, as you can't progress if you don't stop being an ignorant dude i think you got the point across.

but, well, i liked this. seems like your protagonist and mine shared a similar experience.

i like the story. and you should definitely link to the guide you used, just to confuse us all the more. like, make it seem like meta-edutainment-game, or something.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Wow, my life in Twine form...

Yet another "LD game about making an LD game" entry, and there's not a whole lot of interactivity, but the narrative voice is funny and readable enough to make it well worth a playthrough. And, like I said, I've been there.

Not sure what was going on with the random sexism around halfway through. It didn't seem ironic or... anything, really.

All in all, funny and not nearly as bad as you make it out to be. (Though I'd advise you to avoid random woman-hate in future entries.)

Typoes: "varaibles"; "tought" should be "taught".

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:28pm

OK, having read the other comments (as a rule, I try not to read other people's reviews before playing entries), I understand that the slam against women was meant as characterisation of the protagonist. Like other people, I think you could have phrased that better, but it makes a lot more sense now that I know the context.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:13pm

That gratuitus mysoginistic step take me off guard ahah. I hope you'll make up for your meta Twine game by rating a bunch of games !

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:03am

Interesting concept, and I'll always support the usage of Twine

epb9000 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:58am

That was a little different, but amusing for the most part. Seconding the comments on the woman gamedev thing from above, though. Also, this is basically my life every LD.

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:09am

Thanks for playing and rating everyone! I've put the link to the tutorial up as requested. Now make some twine games!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:48am

your right, making something is better than not making anything. I was in the position of lerning twine over the weekend and the tutorials there are, are actually quite good. The program is actually farely simple and a basic knowlage of programming will get you understanding it if your one of the people who comes from a programming background. Even a "basics about code class" will give you an idea about most of the features. Anyway i digress, a meta game about writing a game is an interesting idea, but each of the options are basically success or fail and are fairly clearly stamped. A one track road isn't a bad thing you just have to give the player some reason for being there other than this basic option. I think bringing up that your narrator says that woman can't make games is a good way of spurring a discussion about social lables, but you might want to follow it up with something so it dosen't feel like a personal accusation for the players just in case. Like a warning about it. I like the game in general, but you may need to focus the story a bit more and write metaphorically to give people a sence of what the narrator is feeling. anyway keep at writing twine games, i have enjoyed seeing them through this jam and you can get plenty of writing practice with twine.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]