December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Casting Call

by OnlySlightly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh no! You put on the worst rendition of Romeo and Juliet the town has ever seen and you have one last chance to blow them a away.
Arrow keys and space for controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Humor4.15
#169Mood3.33
#175Overall3.46
#176Innovation3.44
#187Audio3.15
#291Fun3.19
#376Graphics3.16
#530Theme2.81

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

Love the art style and I thought it was adorable.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

The game window is huge! I'm glad I have the resolution for it. I don't know how to "play" this game but it's amusing and interesting

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

I selected a lady as Romeo and got this! Clearly your code can't handle a modern perspective on gender an-- lol only kidding. I tried to repro it and I couldn't, I might have been holding down the right arrow as I pressed space.

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_arrowscene2:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Index [0,6] out of range [1,6] - -1.characterselect(100036,6)
at gml_Object_obj_arrowscene2_Step_0
############################################################################################

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

Really good Graphic Adventure and Fun Story!

PD: Fatal Error -> http://s2.subirimagenes.com/imagen/previo/thump_8738386fatalerror.png

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59am

Sorry about that error. Small typo on my part. Bug should be fixed now.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

Great art and story.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

Entertaining. I like the idea of putting different personalities in different roles to build a dynamic narrative.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44am

I really enjoyed seeing the different personalities of the characters. It was fun! It would have been cool to see different reactions to choices, like choosing both girls for Romeo and Juliet haha.

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47am

Loved it, just wanted it to be longer.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

Great job! Enjoyed being able to pick from all the different characters. Added a lot to the humor of the game :)

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Hahahaha...nice job! Is the best Romeo and Juliet that i ever seen... :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43am

I loved it! It was short but that was cool, replayed a bunch of times for different options after it made me laugh from the start.

Great dialogue, cute graphics, good idea for the theme, definitely a really nice little game.

Girl in pink was my favourite. :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57am

Huh... this game is so cute. Love the artworks and the story. I love good humor at games.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27am

It's so funny! I love the nerd guy :D

LemonTree says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

Great art!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

LOL "Romeo is the bomb." That killed me. xD Just brilliant.

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

pretty awesome. liked the art style and concept.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

Hahaha! Great art. Great concept. I'd love to see the rest of the play.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

The writing for each character is superb, giving each one a unique personality that you want to explore by choosing each of them for each role. Very funny.

SoumyaXeored says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Great game, with great humor! Well done!! I'll be waiting for the next part :)

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05am

ha ha ha WHAT?!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11am

Very entertaining, and what a nice interpretation of the theme!

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:26pm

The art is great, fits the theme nicely too. Nice game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:28am

Love the writing here. I think the southern girl is my favorite, along with beefy guy. I would watch the whole play with those two in every role.

This would be a lot of fun with different character packs, like Lawyers Through The Ages, Webcomic Authors, or Dysfunctional Family.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:44pm

looks neat but wish there was a web or mac version

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice idea, im getting some odd bugs though. Its probibly my computer as the screen shots make it look fine. what i decifered looked good as well.

Blinked says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Brilliant, didn't even realize at first each character changes the dialogue, makes for a lot of replayability, nice job :)

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

It was quite funny and I liked having so many different lines!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

"Romeo is the bomb." Very nice!

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice work! Very clever and entertaining

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Hey do you get an error when you try to start it ? And is it on Windows or Mac?

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:28am

@iiechapman It's a windows executable. And I do not know. Are you getting an error? And is that error when running on windows?

mmickyman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:27am

I was already sold from the pun in the screenshot !
Fun writing, I loved replaying again, good job.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Weird but funny game. I really enjoyed messing around with the cast and basically making rather unique productions of Romeo and Juliet.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

Great premise! I hope you continue working on this game, I would love to see the rest of the play. The music and the writing is superb. Role swapping is great fun.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Yay for games that allow for two female or male leads :)

As some polish it always shows the background for about a frame before switching to the next scene. It's one of those annoying things players notice so it'd go a long way just to make sure it's visible is set to false on init I think.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:41am

interesting experiment

Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Ha, very nice. :) Cool idea, and I really like the programmer art. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]