December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flight of the Stars

by DangerPenguin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Flight of the Stars you fly the last offensive starship to protect earth, with a rechargeable energy wave as your only weapon. Frantically avoid enemies and their projectiles while building up time until your next shot! It takes 10 seconds for the energy wave to charge, do you have the nerves to fly the last starship on the flight of the stars?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Audio3.53
#212Overall3.38
#214Fun3.32
#326Mood3.00
#419Graphics3.08
#528Innovation2.86
#537Theme2.80
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Niqle says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:30pm

It's a fun game man. Just wish it were faster. Got 20,739.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Well done !

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Simple and well made - I second @Niqle, it should be faster. Nice job!

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:49am

Great idea and fun game! Avoiding enemies and getting closer every 10 seconds
I got 18826 :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice little game with an inherent conflict of wanting to dare devil pull as many as close as possible for each blast. Yet that is of course dangerous. With some sound effects and more varieties of enemies you have something nice going here.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Good job!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I thought at first that the ship shoot an bullet or a missile... so I was surprised by the weapon.
It's fun and has an engaging music, well done !

Did you tried to add the last Ludum Dare theme to it too ?

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Too easy for too long, but other than that this game is really fun. Good concept, good art, great soundtrack.

Anachron says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Fun concept with some nice pixel art. Could use some sound, and the game crashed for me when launching in Chrome. Cool idea though, and good gameplay!

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:39am

@Anachron, are you using an older version of chrome? and whats your OS? I only use chrome and had no issues :/

@mmickyman Kinda, haha I didn't want the game to be just a bullet-hell shooter. wanted some conflict! Also, I love making shooters.

To all, I'll be making a turbo version, stay tuned!

Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:13am

Interesting game ! I like the unique way I can attack the enemy, it's very different of the conventional space shooter where we get unlimited ammo and shoot everything that move. It's challenging and like local_minimum said, the desire to blow up as much as enemies as I can is interesting and very risky.

The music is really well done, thank you for the soundtrack link, it's really appreciated !

Can't wait to try the turbo version, this page is bookmarked ;)

xrm0 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Fun game, should be faster.

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Nice game mechanics with cool retro-style. Good work, fitting sound and graphics.

timothyolt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Simply amazing. I have nothing to complain about.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Loved the audio!
Faster pace would've been nice, but overall it's pretty neat!

Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:48am

I really dig the idea, If only it went a little bit faster it'd be amazing! currently it's a bit tedious having to wait for ten seconds each time, though I get to dodge stuff in the meantime. Overall pretty good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]