December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

EVA : You only get one...

by Lyonsbanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everybody :)

This is my fourth Ludum Dare.

I present to you a brand new concept (for me, anyway). No HTML, no JavaScript, no Canvas, no horrible sound unlike my third participation.

A Visual Novel (All public, of course) made with Ren'Py. Music with MuseCore. For sounds, I pick some on Universal-soundbank.com. And for graphic, I always use Gimp.

The game is very short, but I hope you'll enjoy.

And truly, sorry for my english.


EDIT : I added a French version :) (The game and english texts havn't change).

EDIT 2 : Fixed some minors bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#274Humor2.85
#322Mood3.02
#389Audio2.74
#519Graphics2.89
#539Overall2.96
#627Innovation2.72
#670Theme2.57
#737Fun2.51

Comments

Mocuto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31am

The story wasn't very riveting, but I think this game serves as a great exploration of Ren'Py's software. The phone graphic was really cute and the corridors (yes, including the one you thought was ugly) were done well enough to feel realistic and keep me immersed in the gameplay. There were, unfortunately, a lot of spelling and grammatical errors that spoiled the mood a little. But at least they were funny and I was still able to decipher what the characters were trying to say.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:36am

I found the exit.
I wish I had an Eva on my cellphone too.
Good work on the graphic part, its changing creates a specific mood.
The story telling was ok. It could have been interesting to have more details about the place we are in.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The story fell a bit flat, the characters felt out of place with their seemingly unknown reason to help each other out, but perhaps I couldn't progress further to find out. Good attempt though and easily remedied through rework and polish.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I'm a Canadian living in Paris, so English is my native language but I played your game in French! "C'est mure son moche" ha ha ha! I enjoyed the breaking of the fourth wall, and the self-deprecation. Good times! I got completely lost when given directions, though, and then didn't want to click my way back to the junction again ^o^//

High marks for you!

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:04pm

My girlfriends name is Eva, but this one is also nice ;)

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Brilliant! I love these kinds of games. The mood felt almost chilly! A very polished game; great job!

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I got out! :D
I liked the graphics, but I kinda missed a connection to the theme... Also I was hoping to have to cross the maze without getting a constant hint ;)

A friendly reminder - you shouldn't use any third-party content (like music, even if you give a credit) for the compo - that's what jam is for ;)

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Thank for your feedback everyone.

I could make a better story, but nothing to write all these dialogues takes time.

@jarnik : Third-party content ? What do you mean ? I composed the music myself.

Nelien says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Interesting concept, would've been fun if it were a bit longer. I enjoyed the banter between the two characters and the music gag :)

BTW, thanks for your feedback and I added arrow keys to our game if you feel trying it again. Didn't think of AZERTY people, my bad.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Short, funny and cute. The mood music was a nice touch. Your grammar was pretty bad, but I could still at least understand what the characters were saying. Overall, a really nice game!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Loved the history man, i enjoy the game a lot :D i kind of don't like the music but was ok with the ambient, Eva looks nice there i love the anime style. Lol was funny when 'you' asked why Eva turn the music and she saids is for the mood for Ludum Dare hahahaha nice! Great work! :D

Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Always feel a bit sad when Evas battery goes but saved her in the end. Nice little game.

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Cute graphics :)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I liked the mood of the game. The story could be a bit deeper, but it's a good effort for 48 hours!

Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:23am

I like the visual novel approach (not least because our game was visual novel like). Could have been longer and more in depth but not bad overall.

goerp says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:46pm

That was pretty nice. I liked the idea and the mood was well done. The graphics and music enhanced the mood.
I haven't played a game like this before.

You English could be better I guess, but I wouldn't understand much of the French version, so good choice there.

I would have liked if you had more puzzles than just the direction, but I can understand that 48 hours is not much (I needed 72 hours)

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice little game. Had to sketch the map on a piece of paper to be able to understand the directions :P.

Good job for a compo entry!

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Great! I really enjoyed the experience. I will check that Visual Novel Engine too :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Awsome little text game. Makes me wish i had used ren'py instead of twine if i had known. fun little dialoge between two characters with a maze puzzle thrown in for good mesure. Bravo.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]