December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Necronomnomnomicon

by JoeProgram - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The Old Ones were, The Old Ones are, and the Old Ones shall be".

-- H. P. Lovecraft, 1929

CONSUME the world as the smallest of the ELDER ONES! Mortals tremble in fear from your UNMENTIONABLE MAW! Your LOATHSOME EYE will drive them to MADNESS! BEND the realm of the living with your NON-EUCLIDEAN POWERS!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#78Innovation3.72
#84Audio3.51
#86Humor3.50
#100Mood3.52
#109Overall3.64
#123Fun3.50
#163Graphics3.69
#466Theme2.94

Comments

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

The controls are really difficult to deal with, all being on one hand and being sticky keys. I tried to use right shift and it didn't work. Loved the idea and the art and music.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

I believe I have consumed all the mortals, yes. Yes.

Yessss............

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

Thanks for playing! I should have been more clear about the controls - use the arrow keys to move, and left shift, left control and space to use abilities. WASD does move the character, but I didn't intend for them to, and I should have taken them out.

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

Nice job, I loved the jumping mechanic.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

The controls are annoying, but this is a really creative idea, a funny premise, and great art, along with a solid soundtrack. Definitely an excellent showing! I'd like to see this expanded on!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

Controls were tough, it's true. The game was super charming though. Smart work on the graphics-- color and detail where it matters, easy to read monochrome for everything else. Fun game.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

I loved the music and the graphics! The controls, however, were pretty unintuitive and frustrating. But I got the hang of it :)

Reminded me of katamari and I loved it. I'd like to see a version with easier controls tho.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

I really liked this one, fun to have to orient yourself to use your different skills. Only problem is the keys open my mac's dashboard during play.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52am

Pretty interesting mechanics and there's something about that song that makes me laugh. Good job!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Very cool, nice to see another Lovecraftian entry :) The mechanics are really interesting, a little bit of Katamari Damacy mixed with Lovecraft. Great job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Good thing I live alone. My mom wouldn't allow me to play this game. Good game, I give it 666/666.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I also struggled with the controls but enjoyed the game once I got the hang of them; nom nom nom!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Wow! So good game! very nice flame and interesting monster)

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Really good, but incredible hard!! Where's YOGO?

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50am

Awesome idea! It was fun to play and had a good sense of humor. Really well done!

nina77 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

I really love the little creature and his attributes! I especially liked floating about and jumping off things. The challenge of getting my one-eyed, one-tentacled fellow to bounce and float just where I wanted him to go was a lot of fun, but the difficulty of the task should level more slowly. Also I think the peppy music choice was perfect for the task at hand! Lastly, I found using my pinky to press CTRL to munch on mortals really hard to isolate (especially when holding the shift button to float and arrows to move). So using another finger for eating would have made this task easier. Overall, a really fun experience and my curiosity is piqued! Would love to play more levels if there were some!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Very very enjoyable, but it would be great if there where some dangers, or maybe i didn't play long enough (3-4 levels).

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:37am

I was sad when it ended, I wanted more! Great job!

platespinnerr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:18pm

This was fun! Cool and simple look, good vibe, creative interpretation of the YOGO theme. There were some clever and surprising moments (the four bugs that you had to eat in order of largeness), and the final level was hilarious. I would love to see it fleshed out into a longer game. Maybe get a better sense of the Arkham beastie's character? (Does he just want to prove that he can be as abnormal and indescribable as any other Elder One?!) Once you get the controls figured out, I feel like it has some serious potential to scale into something really awesome. Agree with nina77 about having the game wait to put you in those trickier situations a little later on...

Overall, well done! I want to see this evolve!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:56pm

That's an awesome game you've got there! Love the bizarre humour!

To reply to your comment on our game (Lumen): A level that is all glowing grass? That's going straight to our to-do list for the post-ludum version! Great idea!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Loved the humor and the art. Really creative use of the theme. Was disappointed when it ended so soon!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]