December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one arrow

by tobbez - Jam Entry

Created together with Kragnir.

Tools used:
* FlashDevelop
* Paint.NET.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#139Theme(Jam)3.21
#279Fun(Jam)2.81
#399Humor(Jam)1.86
#439Overall(Jam)2.65
#479Audio(Jam)1.21
#489Innovation(Jam)2.18
#490Mood(Jam)2.02
#514Graphics(Jam)1.99

Comments

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

The controls were precise but i couldn't seem to kill any of the enemies and there wasn't much content

Kragnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24am

To kill enemies you need to find the arrow first. It is in the room to the left of the start.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Yeah, the 'one arrow' thing was the first idea we had. Not much in the way of graphics going on here, but you nailed the arrow-flight arcs. Not bad. :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Fun game, tough boss. Just need to add some audio to bring it together. Good job!

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

A surprisingly fun game! The simple graphics were off-putting at first but there's a lot of depth to setting up your shot and retrieving your arrow. The boss is great too; tough, but fair. But the font is an eyesore!

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I couldn't get past the first few rooms. Maybe if I had more arrows… :)

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Could use some music. It played really well though!

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very fun, although the enemies are too tiny and difficult to shot. Keep the good work!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Cool game and nice use of the theme. :) Hardest boss ever. ^^
Though when I died the game glitched and I couldn't restart :/ (It said Game Over even after I pressed r)

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Great game ;) The level is very well done

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Controls are really precise, but there are some flaws in level design when you have to exactly fit to pass.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice game, lacks a bit content, but the controls felt good :)

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Nicely done! I was confused that I wasn't able to kill enemies on start but then I took an arrow on the kne... found the arrow!

Alink says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43pm

More fun than it looks at first. Boss seems too hard for me (unless there is a hidden winning strategy?)

Kragnir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:44pm

@HuntTheWumpus
I thought I fixed the saving while dead bug but I made a mistake. Sorry about that.

@Everyone
Thanks for all the comments.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Good game! But the boss is so hard!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

The boss is so hard, not bad cause it was quite easy before.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

Cool game. I had trouble aiming with the arrow, but I loved exploring the map and finding the secret hearts around.

syawqy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:15am

it took me awhile to realize that i need to find the one and only arrow first ><
"you only get one" haha, perfect!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:26pm

At first it looked really so-so, but as I played more, it was surprisingly fun! Oh, those poor inverted skulls after I killed them xD
I managed to get all the hearts and the double jump and dash ability too, really cool stuff you managed to put in! Sadly, the boss was too hard for me :S
The theme was very, very nicely implemented.
There were, indeed, some downsides. The main character could've used a bit more walking animation, he moved his legs only a little, that was cute xD
Then there were some collision issues, I found it hard to get that health upgrade where you have to jump up through the narrow space. Then the arrow, it was really useful against the enemies with the short range, but I could hardly hit the boss.
Well, all in all, great entry. Reminds me of the time I first started making games :)

Gear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:28pm

@Alink I found it was easier to hit him if I time shots as he's about to curve under one of the lower platforms, and jumping in the middle bottom of the room to avoid the 'line-flight'.

Oli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:37am

wow! Is it possible to defeat the boss?! Well designed game I like the mechanics. Good job ! (but that boss...)

It's funny you got the same idea as me: one arrow ^^

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:41am

Fun game, boss was tough.
I really like that the arrow was a sideways "1" to go with the theme.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Boss was hard and the controls were a bit "floaty". I noticed the arrow being a "1" too, was that intentional? Good use of the theme.

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I enjoyed the progression - the platforming elements were challenging and fun. However the boss was really hard, and I couldn't restart afterwards either.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Had to read the comments to figure out what to do (tell people you need to find the arrow first!!). But once I did I actually had a lot of fun! I like that the arrow shoots in an arc (as it should) and the level designs were clever, reminding you that there are things that you can reach later on in the game. Well done!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:14pm

The graphics are a bit basic, but bring me back to the good retro days of platforming. I like the subtle walking animation, and the shattering door animation is great. Jumping is a bit floaty. Good use of the theme, and the game is generally really well put together given the short time limit, with good level design and power-ups.

There's no way I'll be able to beat that boss, though. You could probably have cut its life bar in half and it would still be a challenge.

Kragnir says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@Diptoman
Thanks for the comment, I know what place you are talking about I fixed it with only a few hours left so that you could no longer get the arrow stuck at the powerup it is a bit tight and I am going to remove the lower part of the wall in the postcompoversion. That should fix both issues.

@GarethIW
Yes the arrow being a 1 is intentional.

@GarethIW and Christina Nordlander
I don't understand what you mean by floaty could any of you or someone else who thinks the same expand on that?

@Christina Nordlander
If you acquire all powerups you have 10 hitpoints, this means you can almost take one hit for each time you hit the boss. Cutting hp in half would make it so you can get hit twice for each time you hit the boss. Getting hit twice can be done by standing still almost anywhere and shooting the boss when it is close it would remove the entire boss fight.

@People with restart trouble
Press R as soon as you die so the character don't have time to run on top of the savepoint while dead. I would like to fix this but it would probably be against the rules.

@Everyone having trouble with the boss
When you meet a boss like this one spend some time looking at its attackpattern and search for a weakness. You can stand in the screen with the savepoint for as long as you like and think about how to best attack the boss after seeing the attackpattern. You can also try just avoiding it at first and then figure out a way to do damage. The boss is absolutely beatable by all of you.

I believe in you!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:45am

interesting game you have here :) very cool :)

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:12am

At first one could expect some newbie made game with nothing to play with, but on the contrary, we hit a pretty cool little game, with a big world to explore, powerups, a precise gameplay and secrets! It reminded me of Knitt story, that I really love.
The final boss was unfortunately too fast for me, but I'd say that this game deserves some good ratings :)
Congratulations!

hbocao says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:06am

Nice entry, guys! The graphics are simple but works like a charm. I missed some music, would be awesome to have a simple "adventure" soundtrack too.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice game, I miss music and sounds effects.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Shame there's no audio but the game was still fun and I loved how the arrow is literally a 1.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:27am

I enjoyed looking for all the secret passages.
Some sounds would have set the mood.
Nice work on all the structure around the game.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

the boss is too hard to defeat, cool game though

anvoz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Fun game to play. The arrow seems really heavy. The boss was extremely hard to kill. I think it could be hard enough even if the boss had only 3 HP.

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

It had a simple pattern, but the boss was kind fun. :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I really liked the skulls and the puzzle aspects were nicely put together. I liked the lock/key mechanic from that arrow - and the fact that that literally is a "1" arrow ;) Sounds really would have lifted the experience for me, but the controls and physics felt responsive and crisp

mystakin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:35am

Being able to fire the arrow multiple times is the key component to this idea that makes it awesome. I thought this entry was fun and cool, even if that boss was too intense for me, haha.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:42am

Pretty decent game. Definitely could have used audio, and that boss was way to difficult I think. Otherwise, solid entry :)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Feels a bit empty, but nice game.

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Needs a little finishing, but it was quite a nice game

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:58am

Solid start for a Metroidvania style platformer. I like how you can pick up the arrow and use it again after shooting. The boss was really tough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]