December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get over here!

by Nisshoku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control a one armed knight who, due to his disability, cannot equip his sword and shield at the same time. While you're using one, your squire is holding the other. You'll have to swap items with your squire in the middle of combat to defeat your opponent! Inspired by Zelda.

CHALLENGE
Here is a video of me playing the game. Watch it only AFTER playing! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvNsuUN_o-0

I'd love it if you could post a video response. See if you can beat my time of 74.24s. Also leave a link to your game entry at the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#51Fun3.71
#72Overall3.74
#155Theme3.52
#164Humor3.17
#189Innovation3.42
#237Audio3.03
#242Mood3.17
#427Graphics3.06

Comments

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

The squire is awesome. I got a NumberFormatException on the final hit on the boss, could you fix that?

gilborn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Good job and very good idea!

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I beat him in 324.05 seconds. Took a while before I understood how to use the shield. Very neat entry.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Humorous entry :)
I also got a NumberFormatException on the final hit on the boss, btw. And in my 1st try I died and the game froze.

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Ha! Very funny concept and fun little game. Love the 'Get over here!' sound effect!

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Number format exception on the last hit here too, but the game is awesome haha, i love how i have to change weapons to defeat different tactics of the boss, had lots of fun!

For the amounts of time you had on this, it's awesome, if you continue on developing this game, with small amounts of art it could be awesome!

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

THE BLUE KNIGHT ALWAYS TRIUMPHS!!!

...well not really... at least not in my case.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

191 seconds wooh fun stuff great challange.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Seriously one of the most fun and innovative boss fight mechanics I've seen in a while. The squire is pure brilliance. This needs to be a fully realized game. Like, right now. :)

Cthulhu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56pm

189 secs here! World record? :D
I really like the gameplay. The difficulty is well balanced and the game is challenging.
Very good job here.

In case you want to play again to my game, here is a secret: q + z. Which location did you reach?

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Thanks for the comments guys! I found the bug and fixed it, it was caused by my attempt to round the score to two decimals... :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Great job! Was very satisfying to beat the red knight once I worked out the mechanics.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I love the control it is definitely fun to fight. The squire mechanic makes no sense and thats why I love it.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Yes! Beat it! Awesome game. Great sounds, nice models, cool idea, well executed! I don't really get how this relates the theme, but good job! Took me awhile to understand how to use the shield and block. I had some mild performance drops which made it hard to hit him, sometimes.

anapff says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:51pm

135s wooo! :D Really nice and fun game!

bttf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Pretty entertaining, I played this for a little while. Nice job

edibletoaster says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:15am

I liked this. Nice work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]