December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one... EVERYTHING!!!

by Xeke_Death - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made this in Javascript, using Phaser as a framework...
Get Phaser here: http://phaser.io/
Had a lot of fun doing so, and got pretty much everything I wanted in the game... Including a freakin' laser pistol...! But, you only get one...

I didn't get all the sounds I wanted in there, the ones that I do have were made at 5am...

All the game instructions are on the page.

Known bugs:
There is a bug with the detector item that I thought I had sorted out, but apparently it is still there... It will, on occasion, not display the graphic... Basically rendering the item useless...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#356Theme3.14
#360Humor2.57
#477Audio2.56
#564Graphics2.80
#634Mood2.57
#649Fun2.66
#657Innovation2.66
#676Overall2.79

Comments

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

Pretty fun, but i fell through the floor a couple of times. Pretty challenging game.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

wow, tough game!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

laser in face, always awesome. lol

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55am

I couldn't work out the enemy behavior, but I like the art and you set the mood well.

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57am

Pretty nice idea. Like it!
But I can't beat the first level :/

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

The game is pretty fun but really tough. I couldn't reach level 3.

Jakunar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Little bit buggy I fear.. My Character so often just disappears, that the gameplay get's a bad taste, although the concept and the idea are awesome.. btw. like the speeches

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Really good game.

xyrix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

The mechanic fits the theme perfectly, but works out as being pretty frustrating. If you get a decent item (e.g. the watch) then you kind of want to save it for a later level - which sucks 'cause the items are the most interesting point.

Also, as a general point, the enemy's instakill method is, in my opinion, really harsh on the player. Personally, I prefer to err on the side of being generous to the player as that makes for fewer frustrating deaths.

Still, a I enjoyed it :-).

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54am

this is neat. i found it hard to really get past and maybe it can lead the player in on easier levels first? just a thought

cdgugler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

Cool game! Tough one too.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

Lovely, the few sounds it got are amazing I love how he says "No Time"! Fantastic Work!

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

Nice game, really embraces the theme. :D I like the profusion of available items (I got them all except Google Glass eventually!) and the random placement of enemies and doors was a pleasant surprise. I just get super sad when I start a new game and level 1 is dark. =P

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45pm

The game is tough but well done! And you use Phaser - yeeey! :)
My favorite item was the ring, the one to rule them all! ;)

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Woo, the third level is so hard!!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Very challenging and I like the procedural generation, spices things up. I would enjoy if there was more of a learning curve, though.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:22pm

great game. the procedurally generated levels are a nice touch, but it makes some levels unbeatable too. i know a great game balance it's really difficult to achieve in 48h, so you did a very good job.

careless says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:18am

not a bad effort, got to level two. Watch is pretty handy!

anvoz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Finally got to level 4. Having some sound really makes me want to play a little longer (I played the game on Firefox with no sound on the first time).

I want to have more chance to use item. I think you shouldn't add empty bins to the game.

Also, the game difficulty was good already. I believe no one will want to play through some easy levels first, then has to complete them again to reach a really challenging level every times he died.

plancien says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Well executed, for a 48h game !
I liked the voices.
Only, it's a bit hard !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]