Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Girl & Her Cat - little_polygon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My take on "A Boy & His Dog" -- YOU JUST GET ONE CAT! Requires the unity web player for the browser version.

This is my first time doing the Solo Compo. I got a little too ambitious, but I'm still proud!!

View little_polygon's journal. | View all entries by little_polygon

Ratings

#39Graphics4.17
#136Humor3.28
#170Audio3.19
#191Mood3.30
#235Theme3.36
#331Overall3.21
#370Fun3.04
#427Innovation3.00
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Roobean says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:37am

Would love to see a 'Full Version' of this. It has a great Theme and Feel to it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43am

Thanks Roo - that's the plan!

Absurditure says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:46am

The cat interactions feel pretty satisfying. Nice polishing.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:51am

@Absurditure - thanks!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

this is really neat, i wish there was more to play because i really see the potential of it. love that the cat is key to completing the level but you also need to protect it. great idea! the graphics are really lovely too.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Damn... killed my cat the first time. Nice feel, a shame it was too short.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

A Girl & Her Cat's color palette, hints, pixel animation, and audio are tight!

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

Good Pixel art!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

@mcapraro - the compo is over, but development continues!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

@ethankennerly @dalloner thanks!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

Cute stuff : P Needs more gamez plz.

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Needs moar!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

@laaph the compo's over, but development continues! (putting pixels together for a bomb right now...)

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Super short! I love the running animation - good luck continuing this and other games!

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

very fun and great graphics!! continue ...

bastos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

Lovely

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47am

That ended quickly, pretty nice for what it is :)

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:09am

I would have loved to see more in this game...

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:49am

Very fun :) but too short :(

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Its unfortunate that its not finished yet, I wish i could play more

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Oh god I burnt my cat. Multiple times.

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:29am

So good color, mood and concept (:
Want to play more !

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:01am

Not bad but too short =(
Very short. Incredible short. If theme was "Short game", you won =)
Audio, controls, visuals are well presented. I request for full version.

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:16pm

A pity! :( It seems you were doing the right thing! Really good stuff there! Please don't stop development!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Lovely pixel art! *_*

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37pm

So much potential when we look the begin for this game :(

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:13pm

That was quiiiick we want MOAR ;) Excellent work, really

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Love the pixel art and post-apocalyptic cattery. Hope you work on this some more, it's a great start, and the style is nice and clean. I also made a post-apocalyptic cat and ran out of time too.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Wow, love it! The concept really has potential and the graphics are great! :)
Would love to see more of this!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Great use of theme!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:17pm

LOVED this game!!! Cant wait to play the full version! I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

Dohan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

I really like the concept. This can be an interesting game with more to do :)

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I think you have every reason to be proud of your work. You did a great job! It's already fun to play. Only some levels are missing, then you have an awesome game.

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

sweet :) I love the graphics.

bhutunga says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice presentation...looking at the code as always interesting to see how people implement their ideas.
How long have you been scripting for and where would you say you learn/take influence on how to script for a problem...I thought the interface for carryable objects was a nice idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]