December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

COR

by ENDESGA - 48 Hour Compo Entry

'It's time to follow your heart'

This is an experimental game by Seth Groom, the maker of NIKRA.

Travel in the mind of a man, who's love has escaped him. Learn the ways of life and rediscover his love. Or will his love rediscover him...?


This is a slow, somewhat-meaningful game. So be patient, and read all the signs, makes choices, and think about her.




Once you've played COR, please comment below how it made you feel. Did it affect you in any way? Or was it boring and a waste of time? Tell me what you think :)
-ENDESGA Studios



v1_1: Fixed some issues to do with audio.


COR NEWS:
COR has been featured in numerous game websites and has also had a few gameplay videos done on it. I'm really happy that people love this game :)
As requests be many people, I will be continuing work on COR, fixing bugs, adding more paths, and building on to the story. COR will be released on Android when it's done (as well as on Windows).
Thanks again!


-----------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Mood4.19
#52Theme3.82
#52Overall3.79
#59Audio3.58
#81Graphics3.97
#166Innovation3.47
#324Fun3.13
#482Humor2.27

Comments

y2bd says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:25am

Amazing, I love the art! And you literally could not go back, that was fantastic.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:50am

Thank you!

_zulli says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:57am

Incredible! :D
Amazing art and great way to make people think! :)

fferro234 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:21am

I appreciate the effort for a more serious game. There are usually few who attempt an experimental games. I did find a couple of 'bugs' though (maybe features, but they seemed like bugs). I walked to the area where you name pops up and then could not go anywhere. I also jumped past the first hole to the secret area and then couldn't go anywhere. I guess I didn't feel much because I had no connection to this person I was supposed to feel for and the text seemed a little cheesy. I needed a reason to care for this person or something and the endings I found all seemed confusing. Great effort on a more experimental game though.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:28am

Thanks for the feedback! I know it's a rather confusing game, and I knew people would find it strange. There's no super-deep meaning or moral. It's mostly just me trying to explain my own problems. It's a very personal game xD

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Right in the feels. I loved it. (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Rscar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

I've always really liked the expressive/artistic games, great job on this one. The thing about not being able to go backwards...I noticed that too late haha, definitely a plus though.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Thanks guys :)
Remember to re-play it and 'Give' the heart if you Took it the first time!

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Got stuck on invisible walls at the part where it says "this is an experimental game by Seth Groom". Not sure if that's a bug, or if it's just "experimental". The animations were nice, though.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

I typically don't care to much for these artsy games and unfortunately this one is no different I do however like the art style. The game was not bad just not my thing in the fun factor I do appreciate the effort and innovation on your part however. Good Job

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Those invisible walls were kinda on purpose. I think I'll take them out/re-move them...
Thanks for the feedback!

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

whoa, what a touching trip!

Phyyl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Nice, but not long enough to my needs, great graphics and awesome ending!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Wow really nice ! I won't spoiler anything for the others, but wow really cool. Great music, nice graphic, excellent use of the theme!

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

I've already commented on the art from before ratings, but again, wonderful atmosphere. Perfect for an experimental game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

An interesting musing on life. Well polished and executed. Fantastic atmosphere.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

arrested control from my computer needed to log out of my account

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

Thank you everyone! :D
I'm happy that people understand it :)

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

Absolutely gorgeous game, although a bit lacking on the gameplay side and the theme. I love the jump and the ideas behind the movement, and would really like to see some puzzles incorporated in with the same style of game.

Well done.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

Excellent art and story! It's definitely a thought provoking game.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

Awesome! Beautiful graphics and music. Takes the theme and extends it beyond the game into the real world. Minor nitpicks: it doesn't use the theme *within* the game (the theme is a subject of the narrative instead of an element of the gameplay), and it's pretty short.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

@mtinkerhess Yeah, I knew I probably wasn't incorporating the theme into it enough. But I only realised that after I submitted it :P

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44am

The art, The game, The all I feel it you have done something special, please do go on with this project. I want more.

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

Beautiful!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

Wow, that is one high compliment!
I might actually build on this game after Ludum Dare ;) add some more things, more levels, more features.

Thanks again!

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

the game really has flair, but it also crashed my whole computer instead of closing

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Wonderful :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

Nice message and nice art style. Minor problem with closing the game (didn't exit properly) and that it goes on fullscreen automatically. Other than that really good job.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

:') beautiful...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Stunning! Magnificent!!
Now this is one game that I will remember for a very long time...
Just can't wait to find all the rest of the paths!
I went like an idiot and gave my heart away...
ALL FIVEs is in order!!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

If you get to the end, and you can't exit.
Press 'esc', and if that doesn't work, press the left arrow key :)

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59am

Amazing.

spike_xp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

Dat feeling T^T

Such epic. You sure you're not going pro?

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

@theholychicken wow, thank you so much :')

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Awesome! Loved how deep it was. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

WOW! This is really inspiring, especially knowing it was done with Studio. I could watch that walk cycle all day.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

A really lovely game. Great work on the art, audio and story. Really sets up the mood.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

Did you really play 40 games in 3 hours?
You spent no more than 6 minutes downloading and playing each title? I'm going to give your game 6 minutes including the time it takes to download and rate it based on that. Let's see how fair that is.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

Wow dude, that's a bit harsh.
I've played a lot of 'Least Rated Games', which included a lot of duds.
I've spent more than 3 hours sitting here rating games.

Please don't judge until you've played, thank you.

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30am

Short, but powerful. Well polished too, you could just go ahead and release this.

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

Aw, I'm a sucker for stylized platformers. Simple yet powerful art style and audio. Love the moood. Good job!

(GM:Studio, yay!)

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

Thanks for playing, I saw your game yesterday and I was wondering what was it about, now i can say it is a nice idea to explore your true feelings throught these levels as stages in your life ,that are only decissions we take, all of us.
Thanks =)

MyFrosch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Awesome. I love it.

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Great game, really got to me, I don't really know how to describe it, but great job

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I liked it. I would have liked it to be a little bit more subtle though.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

just amazing!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

The game's rhythm was amazing. It felt like I was playing a poem. What I?

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Awesome game. I definitely like how you took this in a more serious direction. All the visuals, music, and pacing really worked together to make a satisfying experience. Great work!

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

A touching story. Simplistic yet effective. Nice job with this. I liked the use of the music slowing down and speeding up.

PyroSneak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Pretty Amazing game you've made.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I can't play your game, it's windows only :(

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I am ABLE to export it onto Mac/Linux, but it requires a lot of setting up.

I promise that you will play this one day :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Beautiful!
Btw, "cor" in portuguese means color :)
Which is coincidentally nice, since the only colorful aspect of the game is the heart itself.

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Wow! I loved the mood, graphics and audio in this. And it did make me think. Made me feel sad though. Really nice to see an experimental game in here. Good job.

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Really deep and inspirational!! I had to replay it a couple times to get every message, really had me thinking! Well done!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I loved the Ferris Bueller quote! Nice game man, definitely a cool take on the theme. I gave my heart away and everything got dark :'(

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Shiny!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I love this concept! Great work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02am

This was good

jprogman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

I like the challenge of moving anywhere but left. Although, you can move left, but the screen does not. Reminds me of old-school Super Mario Bros.

Nice art and mood.

Phil River says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03am

Simply Freaking Awesome, Love It, With All My Heart!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Love the graphics and the music. Love the integration of the theme. Great work.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

Great job! Great aesthetic, loved how you tied in the mechanics with the theme. Solid work!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

AMAZING!

Best Ludum Dare Game I've played, ever.

I mean it. It wasn't the most fun or exciting, but everything else made it an awesome game.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08am

One of the best so far. Solid animation, art style and variation. The game keeps surprising you and making you feel and think.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47am

Best mood I've seen this competition. Simple but expressive graphics. Thought provoking. There is probably no more important message in life then what this game covers. You should be very proud of this.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This is great. The art is really nice and the music fits perfectly.

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I just simply loved it.

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I like the direction you went. The heart shaped gaps in the bodies and the choice to fill one of them with the heart was a wonderful idea!

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04pm

This game is amazing. The sounds, the mood, the art, the story, it is all very moving and made me feel oddly empty inside. I had some problems with collision on some of the platforms, where I would be 100% and fall off, or I would run into invisible walls, or just not be able to move. I had to restart the game several times. With a game like this, it is hard to tell if those things are intentional or not. This game certainly made me think and feel. I love how you play with visual distance to represent uncertainty and things. Amazing work. 10/10.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Thank you so much guys!
@MrBlade I'll look into it, I think I know what you're talking about...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

the highest ive score one so far.. loved the gfx/music

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

The game froze on me on the ending screen.

As for the game, it was a bit too litteral for me to be a really meaningful experience. I was told too much and shown too little. Some nice use of visual symbolism, but not too much of that in the game mechanics, which I would have liked to see.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Great game. Not sure what to, so I'll just say "Good job :)"

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Absolutely brilliant. Great experience. Thanks!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01am

Great game! I love the art and how it makes people think! Awesome game and message. Really amazing and deep! :)


If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :))

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41am

Really really fantastic and such an engaging way to tell what you wanted to tell. I really liked the way the dialogue was presented and the meaning of the game felt... important.

It didn't feel too vague or too much like you were forcing the concept to seem huge and existential. It was just delivered seamlessly through text and gameplay, and we are all better off now because of it haha.

Really great job, I enjoyed the game very much.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45am

Great game, music, writing, and art. This is a game that deserves to be made in full. Only thing I can complain about is not allowing wasd controls. Keep up the amazing work!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:36am

Love the art. Nice message, well done.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:34am

I love artistic games like this one, they keep me thinking me about life. I wish it also had some gameplay, puzzls or something like that.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Great effort :D. I loved the narrative techniques.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The mood in this game was something that made this game so outstanding. Definitely want post compo version.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Short and very well thought out. You got all the feels right, gets full score from me!

Muciojad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:58pm

It's not even fucking great.
It is beautiful.
Every mark on 5/5.
I can die.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Please make it longer! <3

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Can't play windows games... but I'd like to. This looks cool.

tchem says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:49am

I love it!!! fantastic atmosphere and immersion, great job!!!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:13am

Really amazing art! Great!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:31am

Wow this game hit home exactly where it needed too without feeling like too much. Amazingly well done. good work!

Ditto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Fucking. Beautiful. <3

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Lovely story and artwork; very innovative use of light sources.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Thank you everyone!
If you love this game, please tell people :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:24am

The art & the mood are pretty awesome. Making a LD a way to express yourself was actually a very good idea, imo :)
Nice job !!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:01am

Very interesting art style I felt is did a great job at creating the mood.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Really nice presentation overall!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:36pm

looks neat but wish there was a mac or web version :(

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I saw a post of this game in the middle of the jam. now i found it and play it. no regrets! great piece!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:15pm

@mcapraro
I'm going to export it to Android and Web sometime after the comp :)

mtrc says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:13am

I really like this. Nice aesthetic throughout - great job!

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I enjoy the controls and the non-obviously branching paths, but I found the story a bit cliche and a bit pretentious, particularly since in the credits there's a long explanation on what the game is supposed to be about; shouldn't we, the player, be the judge of that? Might just be me. An open-ended interpretation may have served this game better.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:47pm

@Nelien
True... But this for me was mostly just an experiment. If I were to remake it and spent months instead of 2 days then it would probably be a lot better.
Hopefully it's not too bad :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:47am

Liked the game overall. The music got old quite quickly though.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nice atmosphere and corE idea ;)
However I must agree with Nelien and JaJ that it was a bit too literal. Too much story, less interaction. If you continue working on it - please consider removing texts, and letting the player guess what is happening without guiding him all the time. Give him breadcrumbs and let him build the story himself.
About "sometimes things are not what they seem" and walking on air - it's nice idea, but it's good to have some visual feedback attached to it, like "semi-transparent, almost invisible" tile once you land on it. So you actually know it's not a bug and it's supposed to behave like this.
Anyway - compliments for making such an experiment!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:41pm

@Denis Chakarov
Yeah, I understand what you mean :) And well, I could've done it. I personally am not very good at expressing things that make people think (if that makes sense). So, making a game WITHOUT text, for me, would have been very difficult.
If I ever build on COR I will take your opinion into account :) thank you

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:03am

awesomeee, i like it

ehtd says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Nice game, very creative

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

I love the amazing mood and story :D

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:04pm

That's a nice way of telling a story. I also like that all parts fit toghether, the graphics, the sound, the story.
The red heart really leaps out.
I also like the twist when you enter the 'dark' part.
Although there was not much choice the game made you feel in control because you could walk around. That way you feel like you discover the story in stead of just being told stuff.

the message itself wasn't really for me, but with this kind of story telling you can't please everybody, it's personal.

Good job.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:09am

Interesting game. I played it 3-4 times, got both endings and managed to find "must we always hide things?" and "Merry Christmas Emelia".

The story/message of the game didn't really click much with me, but it was nicely constructed regardless. Graphics were well done, and the background music was good and unobtrusive.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:34am

Love it! The graphics look really nice, not too simple or too busy.

JohnnySix says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Loved the art and music! I couldn't seem to take the higher routes initially, was that intentional? I liked the bit about giving the heart away not always being the right thing. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]