December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save Yourself

by hazzen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5/WebGL arena shooter.

How long can you survive the onslaught? You've got a time machine - just one - so if you die, you can go back and stop yourself from dying. If you can't, the timeline is destroyed (how did you go back in time if you were dead?). And, of course, now that you didn't die, you are free to go back in time again should you die.

Just, please, don't break the timeline. It isn't nice.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#185Innovation3.43
#339Overall3.20
#343Graphics3.23
#415Fun2.97
#469Theme2.93
#534Mood2.70
#736Humor1.67
#775Audio1.33

Comments

rnlf says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:14pm

The text intro is way too fast for non native english speakers. I could barely follow. The game itself is fun though.

Manou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

excellent concept and great art

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:32pm

nice! get's extremely difficult very quickly. i didn't get past when the blue things pop up. well done on using webgl for good platform support/easy to get into.

Ysty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Great use of the theme and really well executed.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

This is a very nice game, I think some upgrades would work also. I like it!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

This is really, really good. You're really onto something with the mechanic here. It's very difficult right from the get go, but once you understand what's going on, it's really fun. Congratulations on a very original idea and please do continue to develop it! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17am

Very nice mechanic with an interesting artstyle but some more in-depth instructions would have been nice.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Interesting idea, time fracturing. Was this inspired by 300 mechanics? Would be nice to see clearly who actually did kill you!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Interesting gameplay I think. Not clear but it worth!

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I tried this yesterday, then played it again today. It has more depth than I initially thought and I’m enjoying it a lot more. You get extra stars :-)

I’m just not terribly fond of the visual effects each time I die: I’d rather see clearly how I died so that I can prepare for the next wave.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very clever idea, nicely done. I wish you could shoot in a different direction to your motion though.

anvoz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Interesting game. Really nice idea.

The game was quite hard for me. Perhaps you should slow down the speed and allow to aim the gun by mouse.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Fun bullethell game with a twist. Lack of audio is a pity :(. Text intro was too fast imho.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Holy shit this is really awesome, loving the unique gameplay mechanics and clean cut art style and animations - shame there's no sound. Rated very highly nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]