December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flowing Death Fist

by turnA - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finish it in nick of time.
Play as unnamed practitioner of Flowing Death Fist, an ancient martial art that can kill all enemies with single, continous, fist (from the Theme 'You Only Get One')
It is very dangerous, but only useful as close distance fighting technique.

This is a semi-automatic games. Just click once anywhere and watch as the practicioner start killing nearest enemy inside his attack radius.
Still need to refine it further, but if you have played/tested it and have comment/feedback, do let me know :)

PS: Just made it when an inspiration strikes (4 hour before the compo end). Still continuing my Jam though...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#220Theme3.40
#271Audio2.95
#303Innovation3.20
#570Mood2.66
#584Graphics2.76
#597Humor2.00
#622Overall2.85
#784Fun2.42

Comments

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice concept! The game fits the theme very well, but I think the interpretation of the theme is too limiting for your game. More interactivity would be great and I would like to hear some variation in the sound effects.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

Nice - like a more violent Boomshine. As so much of this game is just watching an interesting dice roll, it would be cool to have some results screen achievements - like hitting all the medium ones. The screen shake did get to me a little, as I've been staring at a screen all day.

rorycooke says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

this is a really fun idea

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12am

I got a bit confused, is it supposed to play itself or can you affect it?

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

Nice realization, effects are good and gameplay funny! Congratz

Nighley says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Love it =)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Don't really know how to play.
But so far, this is the BEST TITLE EVER!

Hiku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

No more need to have skill to achieve high score, I liked it x)

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I to was confused. I thought it was broken the first time i played it. I one line instruction in game could have resolved that. A little to reliant on rng for my taste but, good job.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Interesting game. Feels a very random, but I admire the ballsy decision of giving the player only one click. Would make a good casino-arcade game.

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Don't really understand how I'm supposed to control this. Sound is pretty nice.

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Quite a cool concept - can see this working on iPhone and tablets pretty well. But the fact that it wasn't really a game - but an autonomous tech demo, is a let down. Still, I do really thing you have a great idea here. Like I said - could be great for mobile.

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Really cool. I like the concept. Interesting game. Nice sounds.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Well, this is the bottom of the "you only get one" theme. Nothing can beat this. You only get one press and one chance and one click :D

feiss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

the concept is quite nice! but the game itself is not quite fun :) maybe if the cascade explosions were much more fast..

nicotuason says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45am

Great effects! It's fun to watch but I wish I could affect how the next target is chosen.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

Interesting concept and cool take on the theme! But things seem to chaotic for the player's decisions to be really meaningful.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

This was great fun, it has the most important element of these "chain reaction" games which is that slow-motion tension of waiting to see if someone will stray into range at the last...possible...moment... and I liked the gratuitously flashing text as well. =P

I was going to say that it would be nice if the graphics were more than cubes, but then I realized that'd turn it into a game about a man diving repeatedly upon innocently-wandering people and beating them to death. So, um, cubes is probably fine. :P

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33pm

This looks really good, watching it play out is cool, I just wish there was a bit more interaction :( great use of slowmo!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice chain-reaction game. As a concept, it's interesting and fits the theme. As a game, some levels would have made it more entertaining.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:33pm

8780. I like the feel of things and ofcourse the arcady style. I just didnt get how i could do better.

smash ball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Although simple, this game was oddly amusing.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:10pm

oddly amusing, as @smash ball said, but also meditative. good job on the visuals and sound.

diegocbarboza says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:31am

Nice idea. And great effects! But in the end it feels too random. Maybe with some improvements it could be a great game :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:51am

Haha, even more random chain-reaction stuff than my own :-)

I like the intro effects.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice concept, it would have been better with some upgrades and challenge, like a way you can interact with the sphere. Good job considering the little amount of time you had! :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very clever, making it "you only get one move". Surprisingly fun despite the fact that you can't do much after you've clicked, but I think there's scope for expansion.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice effects, but overall quite plain.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Interesting idea. Though it mainly depended on the starting position, things were hard to predict, so I guess it comes down to luck. Had fun playing, managed to get about 8k in 5-6 tries.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]