December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tank Blast

by asimilon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoddy AI! Good fun though.
Away3D for the engine.
Jiglib for the terrain (http://swf-flash.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/away3d-40-how-i-made-tire-marks-with.html)
This font that I made before but is free to use (http://www.pentacom.jp/pentacom/bitfontmaker2/gallery/?id=896)
http://www.bfxr.net/ for the sounds.

WASD move the tank.
QE rotate turret.
13 gun elevation.
ZC less/more power.
X fire gun.
Click moues and drag to move camera.
The tenuous "You only get one" link is that you only get one chance to see your enemy if he is far away at the beginning!!! Weak I know ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#504Graphics2.92
#597Humor2.00
#673Audio2.05
#711Fun2.54
#788Overall2.64
#828Mood2.24
#892Innovation2.17
#991Theme1.64

Comments

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

The gun aiming system worked well.

I did start out not being able to see the enemy, and without a radar, map, or top , had to drive around randomly until contact was made.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

It actually feels a lot like the games they made off the success of Scorched earth when they tried to make the 3d version. So I suppose in that sense you have created a tank game more or less like the way that the game makers did it back then.

It is a little clunky to play though, as you don't really know where the enemy is, and your camera angle feels awkward. But it's well executed, and plays without a hitch.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

same as above; without a zoom feature, it was a lot of wandering until I found the enemy. very shiny game though, and the mechanics appears to work... except the loop-de-loop tank render on certain hills. :-p i enjoyed it; well done.

OmegaVesko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

The camera controls are really annoying, but otherwise I like it.

jojohnson1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Great game, but it's not really about "You only get one" - one enemy? hm.

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Looks great, but I couldn't review because it ran too slowly.

asimilon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Yeah I just tried it on a 1.8ghz net book and it's unplayable :( Works fine on my 2011 MacBook and on desktop with ATI 5750, I guess the terrain overpowers lesser graphics cards.

asimilon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

@jojohnson : yeah the "you only get one" link is *very* tenuous (you only get 1 brief glimpse of the whole battle field at the beggining) It was one of the few themes I downvoted, so wasn't so happy with that winning.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Fun game, though a bit too easy with the AI rarely hitting. The tank began rolling around the x-axis a couples times while driving up a hill. You captured to spirit of the genre quite well, good job!

RadioLemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

That was pretty cool. It's always funny to see what the AI is going to do.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39am

The physics were extremely wonky, and I frequently became permanently stuck in the terrain.

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

I couldn't see the enemy, so I just had to drive around aimlessly until i bumped into them

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01am

My browser just cant handle this game. Looks kinda complicated though. It freezes after like 10 seconds.
Heavy use of WebGL I guess.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:20am

Cool idea, I love the tanks wars concept in 3d. Good work !

leuhfahn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38am

I don't see the enemy in the game. Maybe another time!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05am

Real tough cookie to crack in 48 hours! hats off :) User interface is nice and clear, and a lot of fun to blast tanks. Ground collision is a bit iffy (i keep doing summersaults), improved ai, materials/texturing, music, smoke effects would be an improvement oh, sorry feature creap, awesome for 48 hours, seriously!

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00am

Now I remember the ol' times

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47pm

well done for a 2 days comp :)

The game controls and camera need some polish but I was still able to play!

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09pm

nice idea, fun with rolling tanks

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

a good game with nice graphics and a good steering system

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

nice game, I agree with others, the camera control is annoying and it's too hard to know where is the opponent.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Gameplay is too hard, thankyou for the web version

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Great game but the AI needed a little work. Very impressive for 48hours!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

The collision detection was really weird, I was flipping all over the place!

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Liked the concept of trying to find your enemy. Had a bit of trouble seeing the enemy at the start though. Would have been nice if the camera was able to follow your shell all the way so you can see where you're firing. All working and a pretty solid game, nice one!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41am

The web version instantly turned to a white screen for me

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:42am

And the download didnt contain a exe... Cant run it...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]