December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Samurai Dash

by pariahdog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- You Only Get One Katana to defend your ancestral garden
- Dashing by clicking on ennemies will damage the Katana each time you hit, but if you do Kill Streaks your katana will get stronger.
- 5 or more kill in a row and the souls of your enemies will totally repair your Katana.
- If you click on an empty zone your samurai will run slowly with his 2 sprites incredible animation
- x5 x6 x7 combos give bonus score
- Don't forget to eat fruits to repair your katana ?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#413Humor2.44
#455Fun2.92
#554Audio2.39
#588Graphics2.75
#610Innovation2.74
#640Theme2.61
#689Mood2.48
#710Overall2.75
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I had no idea what I was doing, even after fiddling with it for a bit I couldn't figure out what was happening, some tutorial explaining what is what would be nice, just the description on the page isn't helpful enough :)

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Quite fun, though tough to find the right move to repair one's katana!

sumprunk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

The swoosh feel of moving fast was good. I felt a little confused as to what I was supposed to be doing, even after reading instructions; meaning graphics and sound feedback could have been a bit more clear. Now except the bar to the left going down (which also could have had a cooler presentation, a katana gradually wearing down maybe) I didn't really have a "feeling" of doing something right or wrong.

I think the idea was cool though, but presentation could have been way better.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

It's surprisingly hard to get 5 in a row, but once you get the hang of the game becomes interesting. Could have used a bit more juice (some slashing effects, fading trails of the player when he dashes), but overall you did a nice job.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I felt the same way as Citiral. I not sure what I was doing, sometimes it dashed, sometimes it didn't.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

a little more clarification on the enemies would be useful. interesting mechanic.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Fun concept. Gets difficult quickly when I kept accidentally running into the bullets when on top of the enemies and dying really quickly. Presentation is really good with nice graphics. Gameplay was easy to understand, very easy to get into. Maybe some obstacles or walls to block the players path would make the next version a bit more interesting or walls the bounce the player off them on a different direction. Good game overall very enjoyable.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Fun little game! A little bit of cooldown between strikes might be needed seen that, right now, randomly clicking fast enough makes you invincible.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Not sure what I was doing but it was fun to dash around, even if I didn't know what I was doing.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I had no idea what I was doing, but dashing around was kinda fun.

lucars83 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Could be a really good touch based game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]