December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ACCELERally

by ovenchips - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ACCELERally is a 'one button control' game where you drive a truck along a randomly generated track. You can only control the car by accelerating (using LMB, space bar or screen touch). You only get 1 minute to drive as far as you can! (My personal best is 467m so far!).

It was built using PlayCanvas, a cloud-hosted game engine. It's HTML5 + WebGL and should run in most web browsers.

Tested in:
Win7: Chrome, Firefox and Opera.
Android: Chrome, Firefox.
Mac OS X: Chrome.

Make sure you have an up to date browser.
NOTE: Does not work in IE or Safari at the moment.

I hope you like it. :o)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#59Fun3.68
#99Graphics3.88
#113Mood3.48
#127Overall3.58
#136Theme3.56
#411Innovation3.03
#443Humor2.35
#469Audio2.57

Comments

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08am

I really like the style of the art. The music loops too quickly. You have a minute to play, but the music repeats every 5 seconds, becomes far too repetitive quickly.

bizn355 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

I agree. The music is way too repetitive. Good but repetitive. Otherwise the Style of it goes really well. Really simple to play. Overall I like it (Bookmarked to play again later)

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Really good, albeit simple. The art style is a very nice touch.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

The cellshade was perfect made the whole thing diffrent, Music was alright, And the gameplay not to bad.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Impressive how well it plays even though it's proceduraly generated.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

one of my favourite games so far. really nice simple-to-play implementation, with good use of theme. well done. worked great in a browser

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Cool one!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Lovely style. Simple and elegant.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Several things I like about this entry that I want to ask you about. How is the "sort of but not really" cell shaded graphics made? I tried to look at your shaders, but I was unable to find them in the source code.

Also curious about what's used for physics.

Nice entry, played multiple runs, but never made it past 400 meters.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Very nice. Really like the graphics

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

@Kvisle I use an edge detect post processing filter that is described here: http://rastergrid.com/blog/2011/01/frei-chen-edge-detector It's actually built into the PlayCanvas API so it's fairly easy to switch on in a game.
As for the Physics, PlayCanvas integrates a physics engine called ammo.js. It's a JavaScript port of the open source C++ physics engine Bullet. Not sure if you noticed, but the simulation initially appears 2D, but it's actually 3D. I just constrained the truck to 2D but allow things like the crates to move freely in 3D. That's why it's quite satisfying to smash through them. :)

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Great game, with the simplest input possible. I like the graphic style. The car fall on his back a little bit too often, so i cannot manage to go far.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

@NuSan Yeah, it can fall on its back quite easily, but it's up to you whether you take the jumps quickly or not. That creates greater risk for greater reward! :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34am

Understanding what's underneath such a seemingly simple looking experience, I am really impressed :)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29am

I like the style. The gameplay is not my taste but still well done.

atombrot says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

This game reminds me of elasto mania (which was one of my favorite games ;) ). The graphics style is cool. Sometimes the curvy lines will bring the truck to a full stop, which dampens the fun a bit, as it is very random if the truck stops or not. The sound is a bit too minimalistic in my opinion. Overall well done.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:28am

Loved the line-art style. The physics were great and it was fun to watch my truck fly around helplessly. In the end, I didn't feel like I really had much agency and I felt like the random number generator was really in control of the game. But, I still certainly had fun.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Very nice simple thematic game :) We really liked it alot!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:56pm

The silhouetted 3D look is lovely. I dig how the truck's suspension reacts to acceleration and braking. Flying through the air is really satisfying and letting the crates tumble along the Z axis is a really elegant way to keep them from blocking the player too much.

There are a couple of things that feel like bugs. Sometimes you can be driving full speed at a hilly section and the truck will stop dead at the base of the first hill. Maybe while braking? Seems like some kind of odd physics interaction.

Also, the fallaway block segments extend too far toward the next segment of the level, meaning that if the truck stops at a hill or because one of the crusher pistons is down, the blocks fall out from under the rear wheels and you go tumbling down. So not only have you lost all your momentum (penalty), you also lose the game (another penalty).

Control-wise, I'd suggest a single button press to get from "game over" to the starting line. Games like this are all about quick resets and getting back in the game. A manual reset key would be handy, too.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54pm

@mize_VS_mildmojo I totally agree with you 100% on all those points! You have a very keen eye. Basically, I just ran out of time during the jam, but hopefully I'll be able to make a post jam version at some point soon. Thanks so much for the compliments! :o)

almightysuit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:34am

Very nice graphics and gameplay! Got a highscore of 690m :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:26am

Quite fun. Well done. :) I got 579m.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:40am

@almightysuit 690m? Crap, you beat my all-time best! :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I like the style. I wouldn't have choosen to generate the level new each turn. It would be more competative to generate more stuff the further afar the car drives.

moop says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:27am

Cool concept, nice graphical style and fun to play, but it was let down by a few unfortunate physics glitches.
I often found myself stopping dead at the start of the bumpy sections and randomly during the falling blocks, the latter usually leading to death.
There were also a few randomly generate sections where you would get falling blocks immediately followed by moving pistons. It was more than a screen full of obstacles so there wasn't really time to control your speed, but if you hit the piston at the wrong time you'd die from being stopped on the blocks. Maybe allowing replaying of the same mission would solve that.
Gyroscopic effects for in air control might be cool (spin up the wheels, truck moves the opposite way) for in air control.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I really like that the levels are procedural, very good replayability. Music could be a bit longer and more varied. The graphic style is perfect.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Really fun, good game! Well done! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/ph4Rui-mL0k

ovenchips says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:45am

That's brilliant, Jupiter! Thanks so much for including ACCELERally! :o)

Dhy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:32pm

very nice had much fun with it :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:11pm

If only I could have brakes and a reverse gear... :)

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:10am

Great game.... I love it... simple mechanic, great art style, random levels... you have everything to have an iOS best seller. The music is too simple but I understand that it is because of thetime constraint. Congrats.

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:44am

Good physics - if it is javascript I would consider porting it to Android/IOS (cocoonjs) since it is a good material for touch/tap game.

MadcoreTom says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Damn, wish I played during voting. Well done on your score!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]