December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Rock

by JaviCepa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You and a rock are the only survivors in this zombie-infested apocalyptic mountain.
Grab your static partner as your only defense and guide it through the other side of the mountain in search of a legendary weapon left by the ancestors.

This is my second LD entry and I have to say it's been a huge leap from my previous game. This time I even had enough time for composing some music. I have also recorded the sound fx myself with a micro and I really like how they turned out.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I have making it! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#42Fun3.75
#74Overall3.73
#106Audio3.40
#108Graphics3.86
#119Theme3.62
#142Humor3.25
#169Mood3.33
#356Innovation3.11

Comments

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00am

If LD had a 'Satisfying' rating, you'd get 5 stars from me. I didn't think you could top the sound of the zombies dying as your thow the rock-thing through a group of them... until the bulldozer.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01am

Very nice. Good mood. Great production value. Well done!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08am

Love the art and animation in this game! Gameplay is very smooth too! Very nice

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08am

I thought it couldn't get any better when the zombies slowly killed themselves by tripping on the ninja star, that bulldozer proved me wrong. I agree with Darkcoder, it was just satisfying. Please turn this into a full game, great work.

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

Best game I have seen this round and potentially a winner. Great work!

ThetaTauTau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

A bit short but it still very nice.

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

The graphics and the animation look great !

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

Perfect simply perfect!!! The best one I've seen so far! It's really fun and you really got the theme. I love, the kind of game I would love to have on my phone to kill spare-time

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

Basically what everyone else said.

After I got the bulldozer I had to drive way way back again just so I could push all the zombie corpses around.

Sound effects are subtle but add a nice touch, and the music's great.

Amazing! Overall 5/5.

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27am

Thank you so much everyone for the nice comments!!
@HydeWyver: I'll probably port it to mobile when i have some extra time ;)

Blizzil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

A really good game, you got everything right - simple but nice graphics, nailed the theme & fun gameplay. Well done.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very nice entry. I love how the creatures are destroyed.

raarlac says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23am

The mood was very good and the animation of the creatures dying is really so good! I also like the theme usage
I would change the fact that the enemy dies just by touching the rock and not by the hit, but I guess the game would be too hard though...

and the new unity 2d features are indeed really awesome

juxiliary says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24am

Really fun. I felt like the character moved rather slowly though.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37am

Not bad atmosphere, pixel-art graphics, I loved it =) It was really fun to play it.
*spoiler*
Finally I reached the invisible wall. Is it the end of the game?

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nice polish. Love the idea and the mechanics felt good. I wish there was a way to win though.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

The best game I've played yet! I especially love the arm-flapping animation as the character lands a jump!

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:00pm

@Suese: There is a way to win... pick the thing at the end and bring it back to the beggining. Maybe I should have pointed out that more clearly...

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Very very good! But once I got my weapon in a corner surrounded by zombies I was sooo screwed. :D

feiss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Amazing!! I hope this one wins! The gameplay the physics and the rock provide is really funny, it's a pity the game is so short :)

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Can you zip up the .app OS X version on your drive? That way people can download it, instead of browsing its contents. =)

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Strong concept, pleasant color palette, cute animations (I love the "flapping" falling animation), and good sound design.

However, I was unable to throw the rock over the cliff and resign myself to joining the zombie horde. For this I give you zero points.

haha. No, you did well. Thumbs up!

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

@TedBrown: Oops! Sorry about that. The zipped version is just uploading for your enjoyment. It'll be ready in a minute.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Haha, very smash on zombie. Sploff. Great game, i love the improvised animation.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Simple but fun and satisfying gameplay.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Darkcoder put it very well: Your game is very 'satisfying' :) Well done!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32am

Quite fun, getting the vehicle at the end and pushing around zombie bits was a nice touch, quite enjoyable while it lasted.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30am

Graphics are cute, controls are precise and fun and difficulty is well adjusted. Cool!

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41am

More fun than it had any right to be. Picking up the ninja star (or rock, if you insist) in tight spots was trickier than it should be. Also, enemies tended to kill themselves on the star lying on the ground.

Played web version, got to invisible wall before cliff, no bulldozer? Had to commit suicide.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17am

Funny little game. The splat sound effect was oddly satisfying. Great idea to be able to just ride back with bulldozer and push all the corpses around. Shame there isn't any real win condition though

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32am

AdventureIslands: There is!! Take the bulldozer back to the beggining and jump the cliff

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35am

Jump off the left cliff*

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42am

I did that, but I just kept falling on forever. No congratulation text or anything. That's what I meant by no ending.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44am

Great physics on this simple platformer. Really good idea that you used velocity of the rock to determine damage. Art and colours are very nice also, and breaking pixels when they die is a fun touch! Overall great job for your second LD entry!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48am

The fact that a zombie can kick a rock until it's dead makes this a winner in my book.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Awesome! Bulldozing the zombies is super satisfying!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Weird, I got no congratulation text in the end at all, bug? Oh well. It's well done and funny game regardless.

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Probably a bug... thanks anyway!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02pm

This is really nice. Good work!

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Nicely done of the shruiken mechanics..
Good use of pixel parallax (bg layers) niice!
despite only 1 shruiken the bounce-kill effect is pretty rewarding.. well done! (also discover this game thanks to twitch.tv from user: Jellycakes1)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Really well done, had a lot of fun playing this, and the ending was pretty satisfying. Also the trail effects on the rock were pretty nice. Nice work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Pretty fun and short experience. The ending made me laugh.

mcgraw says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:03am

This was slick! Really digging it, great work!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:28am

Really fun! Small oddity that if you leave the rock between you and a zombie they will kill themselves, but great entry. :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Pretty much awesome :P Very satisfying SFX, graphics, and gameplay. Squish! *****

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22pm

really great game! lots of room for expansion too! I would suggest making this into a bigger game! great job!

danbo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22pm

love 2 bean the zombs with my rock

xhunterko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Okay. That made me chuckle a little. Well done!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Looks great - the accumulating pixel parts are a nice touch. I saw you have an Android version - does it support game pad input (e.g., Ouya)?

embero says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:55am

Wow, it's simple but everything feels right. Sound, graphics and animations are well done.

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:48am

Excellent Game, a very good gameplay. I like how the rock "splits" the zombies! :)

I tried the Android version on my tablet, it runs wells, but there is a small annoying bug: each time I die, the game doesn't restart. I have to exit the game, kill it, and relaunch it to play again.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Despite being short, it managed to be quite repetitive. No challenge to it at all. A reluctant bonus point for the bulldozer, which was the best part of this little presentation.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice game, really liked the graphics and the audio. The zombies falling apart looked great. The only bad part I believe is the rockusage it feels really odd.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:59am

The physics was pretty good in the game. Didn't realize that thing was a bulldozer until i read the comments.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Wow nice game ! Amazing mechanics, the gameplay is smooth I love it. Nice use of sprite pixel, cool animation and funny sounds and great rewarding end !

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Really dig the left to right / right to left change - and the weapon is ultimate zombie destruction. :D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:31am

well made! graphics and animations are cool.

btw, I bumped into the big enemy and my character disappeared, couldn't do anything after that :p

WojWorks says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:12am

I just love how this game ends. Great, funny twist.

Senevri says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:54am

Kind of missing a 'win' condition?

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:38pm

The ancestors really known what weapon they should left me.
The decomposition of the zombies in small pixel blocks is a great idea.
Nice job on the audio.

Maple says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Hah, pretty awesome! Sweeping the zombie bits away with the bulldozer felt awesome.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Short, but very good! I loved the pixel art and the slow-moving clouds! Just needed some music, though the sfx were great xD
My only complaint would be that sometimes it was really hard to detect live zombies in a pile of zombie corpses :P

mcapraro says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:22pm

this was really awesome! really simple, but great looking and i loved the physics of the rock, really well put together!

Alink says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very fun physic effect, and the pixel art make it really special. Almost missed the bulldozer (thanks comments). I would really like to play more of this.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Rock is now one of my favorite in-game weapons of all time. I love all of the unexpected ways that it bounces and causes damage.

Senevri says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:42am

Ah. Bulldozer. Thought it was some sort of a weird dead-animal-horn or something.

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:26am

Nice and simple. I really love the graphics and the ending.

I have to read some comments to understand how I can finish the game. The bulldozer just looked like some bones on the ground.

Overall 5/5.

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I like the nice graphics, audio and the game concept. I don't like the controls (only fun to use on qwerty-keyboards), level design, length of the game and that the "stone" is deadly to the enemies even lying on the ground. But nonetheless overall a good entry.

Ditto says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Holy cow, full points from me! :D great job! Really like the ending! :D

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:00am

Great game! :)
Pushing every zombie part afterward was really fun.

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Wow! You made it really good!
Nice graphics and gameplay, all got well polished,
Good job :D

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice visuals and music - as well as the sound effects (I love this splash sound while killing a zombie). The platforming and especially the stone throwing physics are great and it was fun to fight against the zombies. The item you pickup at the end was fun, too. It's sad that you hadn't the time to make the game a bit longer or to dig into these two mechanics (stone and the other item) deeper!

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:41am

Not bad, good art.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]