December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rune Raider

by nyytroh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FINAL THOUGHTS: The initial idea was a puzzle game, but when I realized it was a bit too easy (I had some idea to improve it), it was too late.

INSTRUCTIONS: You only get one rune of a kind (same symbol and same color). The rest of the same kind will become wall.
When you are stuck and cannot pick any more rune, press Suicide.


---------------------
I made this in LibGDX.

Thanks to LibGDX, Paint.NET, bfxr, Wolframalpha, Otomata

NEWS: Android port
NEWS2: I uploaded it to Dropbox. It's more reliable

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Innovation3.28
#375Audio2.76
#400Humor2.47
#483Graphics2.96
#537Theme2.80
#544Fun2.80
#699Mood2.47
#740Overall2.72
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

nyytroh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

oh God! My first official Ludum Dare. Difficult theme. Nice idea. Shitty execution. Lots of problem with stupid errors (my fault) and stupid IDE (Eclipse's fault)

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00am

Interesting game but i didnt know what i dhould be doing, also press start was a bit confusing. i like the idea very much.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Yeah my brain was in zombie-mode when I did the "Press start" thinghy

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Nice idea that makes an interesting mechanic.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:11pm

simple but efficace ;)

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30am

The download links seem to be broken :(.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:16am

Interesting little puzzle game. Very good art style.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:42am

Neat puzzle game. The block sprites were really cute. My best score was 1423.

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:44am

I loved the idea. As an arcade game there is a lot of missed opportunity as it could only provide a few minutes of entertainment.

I could easily see this idea in a puzzle game in which you could try and get to an exit without blocking yourself or trying to trap some sort of enemy in the grayed out blocks.

The graphics and audio of the game were all primitive and worked well together. Nothing looked or sounded out of place, and everything was visually/audibly pleasing.

Overall a pretty good game and I would love to see this idea taken further. Congratulations and great job on finishing!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:51am

Didn't really feel like a puzzle game, because I could get almost the same results just by wandering aimlessly. The mechanics could've used something more, like maybe a goal you have navigate to or something you must collect? Interesting concept nonetheless!

01101101 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I agree with Moosefly, the consequences of picking a rune over another are not very clear, so it's not easy to really get a strategy going. I too would like to play a more advanced version of this :) Good job!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great game, and well done on your first Ludum Dare! (nice to see another libgdx user ;) )

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Interesting concept was unsure of how to strategize which rune but with some development could be quite interesting. Nice art also!

jprogman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Very nice game. The idea is so unique and fun.
I'm not sure that the goal is supposed to be. I'm guessing either to collect everything or to get out. Doesn't seem to be a goal at all, but again I like the concept.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I got 1370 points, though I'm not sure if that's good or not. The idea was nice, and even if I didn't understand it at first I did after my first run. I think it would help to know how the score is calculated though, so a player knows what to aim for.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I like the concept!! It's very to collect much points!!

Katamori says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:38am

Oh I got it: face+color match = disappearing! If only face OR color match = wall!

mystakin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:22am

Neat puzzle game! With the right goals and progression, this could be really addictive.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:31am

Really cool puzzle idea. Simple but effective.

lucars83 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Enjoyable, but I did not know what my objective was.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]