December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blueprint

by Sim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the blueprints at the start of each level to avoid traps and find secrets, but study them carefully - you only get one chance to see them!

Built on my own game engine using Python + Pygame. Base engine includes bits of entity-component-system, tiled map handling and pathing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Innovation3.56
#152Fun3.44
#190Overall3.43
#245Audio3.00
#295Mood3.08
#306Theme3.22
#381Graphics3.14
#546Humor2.13
#965Coolness49%

Comments

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Excellent job, pretty good in all areas: nice music, good graphics, interesting use of theme. Those eyeball dudes are pretty tough

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Good use of the theme, fun idea and well executed! :)

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Doesn't seem to run on windows xp :(. Love the sprites you made. The look like there is some filter over them.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Great work - an original idea, implemented well, very fun.

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

The OS X build seems to be the linux build (ld28_blueprint_sim_linux.tar.gz) - possible to upload a proper OS X build? :) Looks interesting!

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice! I love the super-eagle filter and will def. be looking into that implementation! Could've used a little anim on the main char tho. Music was pleasant and well written though a bit short and repetitive (but what can you do, it's a jam). Sfx were well implemented. Really fun mechanic, but the lack of checkpoints was quite frustrating. Overall, great game! One question though: I got a bomb... how do I use it?

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Dang, but the spike-maze-level is difficut!

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Beat it! :D Adding humor points because it made me chuckle! Mostly the quirky, happy music doing that. The musical style is a bit reminiscent of Bomberman, which I appreciate.

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Jhelle - that's a shame, do you get any error messages?
voltorben - oops, I'd assumed you could run it in a similar way. I'll try and get a proper build.
huhwhozat - thanks for the feedback! The bomb gets used as soon as you pick it up, but it's not very obvious. The map screen is another tileset drawn at halfsize :P

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39pm

This is a really fun concept. Not to mention the gameplay is smooth and the graphics are good. pretty good job.

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Good music. Good graphics. Good idea with the see the level before you try. The mobs are very difficult though but that's probably because I suck at the game rather than they are too difficult.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Original and very cool implementation of the theme!

Difficulty was a little harsh by putting you back to the first level after dying though. Solid music and graphics, good stuff overall.

nkling says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

clever use of the theme. Would have liked to see some animation on the character but I liked this little game a lot.

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25am

Interesting idea! Though simple, I really liked the song!
This is a quite good game, but there are a few things that (I think) could make it a lot better.

For one, re-spawning at the current level (and possibly having a limited number of continues). It really annoyed me getting to latter stages, then dying (because of the accumulated damage) and having to go back to the start.

Since the traps are placed on a tilemap, I fell that tile-based movement could be better... but that can be only my opinion. XD

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Simple and nice. I didn't get through the maze level, just because I was lazy to play first few levels over and over when I died. Music is little bit repetitive after a while. But it's nice overall, good job :-)

Kimau says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Really great fun, love the memory mechanic. Art & Music rock.
Only sucky thing is the lack of checkpoints mean I had to eventually give up :(

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41pm

@sim yeah I got the "this is not a valid 32-bit application" error message

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Very nice idea for a theme.
Music and graphics are nice too. Very well done.
Only got as far as that invisible spike labyrinth...
How many levels are there?

Bernhard says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:06am

Liked it a lot couldn't stop trying but had to give up in the spike maze level after failing a bunch >_<

ossah says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Loved the use of the theme. Cool funky audio and great fun to play.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:46am

Really great use of theme, nice concept, really love it! Sadly, I couldnt record it with fraps and couldnt include it in my LD28 compilation video series :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]