December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One minute to see the world

by pinion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my 3rd Ludum Dare game but my first using Java instead of Flash.

The game is just about exploring the world.

For interested people the way I made the world was to parse an image file and use that to create the level. If you wanted to, you could edit the image file and get a different world (the image is in the level directory of the download).


How to download and install:

Download the "I have java" file if you have java installed on your system.

Download the "I don't have java" file if you don't have it.

Once you download, extract the zip and click on "RUN THIS ONE"

If you have java on your system take the



Game Instructions:

You have one minute to see the world.

Use the arrows keys to move.

Hold space and the arrow keys to move camera.

X to reset camera.

Try and see all the locations and colours, you only get one minute.

Written by Pinion in Java using LWJGL for LD 28.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#98Graphics3.89
#118Mood3.46
#176Innovation3.44
#324Theme3.19
#491Overall3.00
#763Fun2.46

Comments

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I like the idea and the graphics :-) (are you using special shaders or is it just squares being painted normally?). I miss some type of audio and an end condition.

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Colorful pixels :D.
I really like this from a techinical point. I learnt something from the source, thanks!

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Wow, this is really impressive! So many individual squares and still very efficient. Well done!

This game is very visually stimulating, but it leaves me just wondering what is even going on.

Some audio would have been really nice, but silence is okay for this game.

It would be cool if there was some way to win, rather than just trying to see how far you can get.

Well done!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great idea; well done. :)

foumart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Impressive graphics and mood. Really like the mosaic effect. Felt a bit lost however without a protagonist.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

A very visually pleasing game, I enjoyed the frantic maze-searching.

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice art style and concept, good job

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I quite liked this one! Really simple but beautiful visuals, which actually made me want to see all of the world.
Would have been nice if it was somewhat bigger so you could not actually see everything in one run.
Also, the player could have used a little more contrast with the background, I frequently lost track of him after looking elsewhere.

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Cool idea!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23pm

A very nice concept, and is very pleasant to look at, but it lacks a menu and audio.

miwuc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

You should've mentioned this was windows only :(

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Very inventive! I liked this one and its daring minmalism. The color effects are pretty lovely.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Great idea but I don't find it very compelling. I think a better approach is to have various levels, and to have a zoom in zoom out mechanic, so you must see "each level", or find anything relevant to the universe of the game.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

This was a neat little exploration game - the aesthetic was very pleasant

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]