December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Have One Minute

by Somfunambulist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not quite finished, there's some missing features. You can still technically play it, and here's how! Set a one minute timer after the monster emerges, and when it goes off, if he hasn't caught you, you win!

arrow keys: move
z: climb
x: push/pull
c: interact

Got rid of some of the debug stuff.

Downloads and Links




Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

Cool idea! It's too bad you couldn't get everything done. I absolutely love the art!

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38am

Cool idea and fantastic pixel art! The monster looks really good and it reminds me of Earthbound a bit. The interactions with the environment was cool! Good job.

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Love the art! Though I didn't read the instructions before playing, and wandered back right next to the furnace when time ran up, and he walked by me and explored the house. Unfortunately he came back down eventually and ate me. :(

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

Art is quite pretty. Very nice :)
GM:Studio buddies! xD

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Great artwork and excellent mood. I found the monster pretty frightening. I hope you keep working on this.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

A really good effort. The pixel art is fantastic for the time you were given.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

I was going to sink a bunch of time into my main project over winter break, but I may just code this from the ground up instead, in an attempt to finish it. If I do, expect an actual lighting engine, and A* pathfinding.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

Aw, I lost. I lost my face off. Hard. :-(


Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29am

You have a huge talent for pixel art, I'm very impressed! Unfortunate that the game isn't finished, I really hope you'll find a good use for these great assets!
My advice for future LDs though would be to design your game in a way that requires less time spent on graphics to get more time on the game logic.

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28am

I absolutely adore the concept. Please do take time after compo and finish it. Great pixel art.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46am

Great art! Nice details like the lamps getting smashed.
And that monster is creepy as shit, especially the climbing out animation.

Also, apparently it can walk through boxes and tables?

Really needs sound, but it still gets overall 5/5 just for the idea and style.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Really loved the graphics and the idea is original, well done!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Great looking and a nice idea. Couldn't figure out how to win though.

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34pm

6 out of 5 stars for the graphics. Really impressive

nzgiije says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:30am

Nice art and great idea

bttf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Cool game! Not finished obviously but it definitely showed promise. I would rate this game higher than other finished games. Nice job

TheSheep says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:15pm

It just said "cabinet is not valid" under wine :(

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:25am

It's a interesting idea!
But I have got a bug cause game can't work correctly,
I didn't hide or interact with any stuff, then the monster will stop in front of a bed in a room, the screen keep shacking and nothing happened.
Anyway, It's still fun, good job!:D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]