December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Survive!

by IHavePockets - Jam Entry

Here is my entry for the Ludum Dare Game Jam entitled Survive!

You play as a shipwrecked sailor that was only able to get one item off the boat before it sank. That item is now your life source as you try to live on this island.

Note: There is no way to win currently. I was going to add the ability to signal for rescue, but time is faster than I.

Here is a timelapse for the entire creation of the game: http://youtu.be/mKAjf0kNnSc

Survive! was made in Unity using: Daikon Forge GUI, Unity's Character Controller Package, and Sounds from freesfx.co.uk
Everything else was made from scratch during the 72 hour period by Johnathan Barbee.

Controls:
WASD to move
Space to jump
E to open/close crafting menu
Left click to interact with stuff

Twitter: @JohnathanBarbee

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:10am

This was pretty good. I spent about ten minuites erecting a lean to metropolis.

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11am

Dude I have tried using unity and this looks like it would take a great deal of time. Try expanding it later on but for 72 hours its pretty good!

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Thanks!

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

OSX archive only has an EXE - might need to re-export it with the OSX binary too.

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

I'll take Linux and Mac off. I have no way of testing them so it would be hit and miss anyways. Sorry about that!

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17am

Reuploaded the Linux and Mac versions! They should work now.

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Interesting idea. Could use some more polishing.

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Thanks! I almost ran out of time just getting all the features in the game. I had almost no time to polish it, but I do agree that it does need more polishing.

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Survival game are the games i love the most, so i'm quite interested with your game. Camera sensitivity is a bit painful for me if you continue your game an option to tweak it would be great. the game have a good potential but too rough right now, info on controls would be great even here on the ludum dare page.

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I'll put in game controls in the description. Thanks for playing my game!

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nevermind, I can no longer edit my page.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:50am

I thought it was pretty fun. Enjoyed gaining materials and building new objects.

samooJAM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:50am

Nice concept :>. Add ambient sounds or music next time

shard123 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really awesome idea, I love survival games. Really ambitious, you did a good job.

IHavePockets says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]