December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get or Avoid

by KWL_TW - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rules:
1.Red cubes become bigger when collide with each other.
2.The bigger red cube you touch, the higher score you get.
3.You can only get one cube per game.

Controls:
Enter - Start/Restart
Arrow Key - Move

Tools used:
Construct 2 - Make the game
Daigasso! Band Brothers - Make the music

All made in one night.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#477Audio2.56
#515Fun2.84
#603Overall2.88
#631Theme2.63
#717Innovation2.56
#747Humor1.62
#822Graphics2.21
#870Mood2.12

Comments

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08am

Good job, Not sure what the score is based on though. Seemed a bit random sometimes.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

Your music is catchy!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48am

I like the zoom-in after defeat :)

Good take on bullet hell!

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I think my biggest gripe with games that have music is when it autoplays and loops without a mute or volume option, and sadly that draws this down.

I like the zoom on death, and the concept I suppose is quite sound at it's core. I also suspect you did some similar variety of score calculation as I did in one of my earliest flash games, what with the decimal points ;)

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:57pm

You had to see me talking to the screen when I was about to be hit ><. Nice concept, nice graphics too I really like the effects you added to it. I would probably suggest to make it a bit harder, once you reach the upper part of the screen is difficult to lose. Good job!

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wow, pretty hard O_o
I like the death zoom ^^'
My highscore was 18.955 ! http://zupimages.net/up/13/51/zbde.png

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I love minimalistic graphics! :D

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10am

Pretty simple mechanics,and it's fun and hard : )

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:07am

Music is nice. Dodging is hard, but I would hide in the top right corner and wait til they get big. My high score is 47.86295.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36am

Nice mechanics, hard to get a score higher that 12 :D

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:37am

Wow that was hard, it goes so damn fast! Really like the concept!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:58am

Thanks for all of your comments!

ACE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:07pm

very hard but fun with a cool track

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:38am

Pretty hard!
It's interesting to find the biggest one instead of survive longest :D

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Pretty cool take on a simple avoidance game. I liked how you can try waiting for a bigger red cube for a bigger score whilst trying to dodge all the other ones that come at you.

edibletoaster says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:29am

This is pretty fun

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Reminds me of the impossible game, neat entry. :)

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Interesting idea but a bit too difficult tbh. Music was a bit too short to be looping, but hey, 48 hours

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]