December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Servassacre

by doonay21 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to install XNA 4.0 to play this game. Install process is very simple and fast :)

General info:
Use your mouse to control small servants (blue dots), lead them to the safe zone and kill all enemies (red dots). Play 10 carefully designed levels sorted by difficulty level - from easy ones to really hard ones.

Controls:
Press and hold left mouse button and move the mouse pointer around your minions - they run away from it - this way you can control them.

I will try to make Linux (and hopefully Mac) port as soon as possible.


IF GAME DOES NOT WORK PLEASE READ BELOW!

Game should run right away, but in case it wont, please make sure you have this two things installed:

- .NET Framework 4 Client Profile
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=E5AD0459-CBCC-4B4F-97B6-FB17111CF544

- XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=a88c6dec-aeae-42cd-a108-d35c013c3b97

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#59Innovation3.79
#295Audio2.90
#489Graphics2.95
#491Overall3.00
#508Humor2.22
#545Mood2.69
#584Theme2.71
#811Fun2.38

Comments

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:53am

Wow... that game is *hard* - I can't really move a larger group than 4 minions at the same time, and even then it's hard to avoid the walls. Managed to "wake up" the guys in level 2, but the channel to go back is nearly impossible to pass...

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:23pm

What XOR said. Too hard. I imagine there's some kind of technique to getting many peoples through narrow corridors, but I'm not seeing it.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Way too hard... It's just no fun when you're fighting the controls more than you're playing the game...

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I really like the idea of this game, but walls could just block instead of killing minions.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Wow, that game was so hardddd. Or is there a trick that I'm missing? The idea seemed so cool! But the controls just made it too hard (and not in the challenging / fun way). But I think it's a really great idea and I'd love to play a version with different controls.

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Looks really nice, but yep, reaally hard, if at least we could change the radius of the pointer or something >_<, but I couldn't find any way to control them properly, couldn't beat lvl2 :/

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

It's hard to move. Good concept though. Watching them fight is entertaining.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Really nice technical game, fun, but really, really, hard. It's too easy to fall of the edge of the map when pushing the minions, when you leave them alone as they meander off on their own, and when they attack the enemies as they will latch on and push everyone over the edge. I think making it so you can't fall off, or at least make the minions smart enough to not walk off the edge would make the game a lot more fun.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Great idea man, really innovative, you should make the first tutorial level a piece of cake to be beated to be sure that every one can completed.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Moving was hard, but the mini minis are cool. Like the idea but the graphics are really simple.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Way too hard. I think the idea was great, but you should make difficulty a bit easier.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Really intrigued by this but as stated the control mechanic is very tough to work with. HOWEVER, once you manage to get a decent amount of guys across the level to the enemies I really, really like the way they battle each other.

I can imagine with slightly updated controls this would be great, especially with multi touch on a tablet or something.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Actually I've given it a bit longer and it's actually really fun :) I still think multitouch for this game would rock, but it's fun still

Mirroar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Interesting concept. Challenging, yes, but I wouldn't necessarily say it's too hard. A few more introductory levels to get you used to shoving your minions around wouldn't hurt, though.
I kept feiling level 3 because my mouse went outside of the window, though, which got a bit annoying. And it might have been a good idea to provide a way for testers to unlock later levels should they get frustrated with one. :)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

yeah i thought this was too hard, as in unfair. if the walls blocked rather than killed, or if it wasnt a circular force, more like an pull or a crecent shape, this would be better. cool though!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Well, you're probably sick of hearing this, but it's very difficult to properly control the minions.
That being said: It's very unique, the mood is great, the audio fits, and the graphics are very clean. Overall, pretty solid :)

doonay21 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Hi there awesome players! Thanks for sharing your observations with me. I made the game so hard on purpose - I wanted to create a game that can be real challenge and squeeze last sweats of y'all. I would create easier version within few hours but I am afraid it would be against the rules. I uploaded special version with all levels unlocked as Mirroar asked. And yeah, thanks again for your comments. I hope I will take some lessons and do it better next time!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I just had to play it to see if it really is as hard as everyone else is making it out to be. I guess the best way to describe the difficulty level is to say that after I saw the level 4 "special rules" and the map layout I just closed the game without second thought.

Liked the use of the theme and the whole idea of the game, but in the end it was way too hard to be any fun.

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:37pm

wow! This is the best so far! I love the hardness of this game. The music is cool, makes the mood awesome. Nice job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35pm

REally hard and a little bit too much of the hard stuff, moving thought the narrow coridoors was fun, but then they went on too long. The spiral level comes to mind.

Nice music.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Really nice idea but as everyone else has said it's very, very difficult - it's hard enough getting minions through tight passages, that the things have suicidal tendencies is a bit too much! Music gets annoying quickly too since it repeats too quickly.

I would also suggest not placing walls so close to the edge of the window - makes it impossible to move minions away from them in a controlled fashion.

Having said all that though, I do really like the idea - probably just needs a more gradual difficulty curve!

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Way too finnicky controls, or I am just a softy player. :P A mechanic to make them follow for a bit? (pull in addition to push) That would lower the difficulty, and you can still limit it at certain levels.

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I'm gonna repeat previous comments - the concept is absolutely great but the game is insanely hard. Have you thought about changing the shape of the "pusher object" for, say, a ractangle?

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:15pm

hard too :/

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:24am

This game is really hard. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/OVru4uI3W-s

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30am

Super hard game. :/

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:28am

Tedious, but compelling. The visuals look quite good even for just basic geometries.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Gotta agree with everyone, the controls are really hard. I had a previous LD entry that controlled similarly and everyone had problems with it too =P

I imagine a different shape like a star or rotatable horseshoe that had a place to cradle your minions would make it far more playable. If cradling defeats the purpose of your controls then maybe an octagon so there is at least a flat surface to work with.

Nevertheless cool idea and I adore how they fight each other. I could watching mobs of dots clashing all day.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]