December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Go Home

by Blooperly - Jam Entry

Bug: **IN CASE YOU CANT USE YOUR COLOR, TRY SHIFT + Z**

Go Home is a colorful isometric puzzle game about finding where you belong. Use different color-powers to solve puzzles and reach your destination.

This was a lot of fun to make! My best LD entry to date by far! I loved using Hexels for art, and I suggest it to everyone out there http://www.hexels.com/ . Also, Game Maker: https://www.yoyogames.com/studio . Other obligations made me enter the jam, and I wish I had time to make a few more levels and work on level design, but otherwise this game is complete! Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#119Graphics(Jam)3.88
#184Mood(Jam)3.14
#209Overall(Jam)3.21
#263Innovation(Jam)2.85
#281Theme(Jam)2.72
#366Fun(Jam)2.61
#423Audio(Jam)2.10
#436Humor(Jam)1.60

Comments

daviwil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

Love the graphical style on this. Gameplay could be more fun if you had more time to work on it. Awesome effort!

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

Level 3 was odd and the web browser said something about failed to load image, nevertheless, loved the graphics of it

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56am

Very nice looking. Levels didn't provide much of a challenge though.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

It's nice to see your progress. I remember your first game on LD25 for whatever reason. But yea, this has a pretty neat art style going on, the gameplay mechanic is a bit too simple though. Could have used some particles when the player shoots something too. Other than that really nice job!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59am

graphics are really nice! would love to see this idea expanded on further (and gamepad support!)

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00am

gorgeous colors, love the visual appeal

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02am

would like to move the player faster! felt slowww but looks nice

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Nice visuals! I took me quite a while to figure out that I need to press Cmd+Z (capital z) to use colors. I think you should be able to just press z alone. Also the sound effects are too loud compared to the background music. But overall it's a very nice little game!

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Nice visuals! I took me quite a while to figure out that I need to press Shift+Z (capital z) to use colors. I think you should be able to just press z alone. Also the sound effects are too loud compared to the background music. But overall it's a very nice little game!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

Great graphical style =). Simple and catchy.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36am

Jago: Hmmm that shouldn't happen... Sorry.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37am

Very calm. Some simple ambient music would really help set the mood, though.

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

Really lovely style and nice ambiance. An idea definitely worth expanding.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice game. The simple art style is really nice.

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Loved the visual design and the puzzels.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Loved the idea and overall artistic style. It is a bit short, sadly: I wanted to play longer :_S

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18am

Not bad. Visuals are looking good.
But there isn't any challenge. Leveldesign looks boring for me...

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:18am

VERY good graphical choices. very moody.

the controls are a bit confusing and the character is slow...

it lacks some sense of challenge or decision making.

strangly enough, i really liked it.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20am

Very impressive game!

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Neat idea! Maybe the movement was a bit slow, but the concept is solid and the graphics are super pretty!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I love the palette! :D

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:07am

I really liked the atmosphere you created. It would be nice if it could be reconciled with a faster pacing.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Love the look - it would be interesting to see where you could take this post-jam. I'd probably speed up the player a bit - would make the areas where you need to backtrack feel less like a chore.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]