December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

un-Equipped

by WojWorks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Un-Equipped is a top-down shooter with a twist--you can only have one piece of ammo! There are 9 levels and 4 playable characters. Thanks for playing!

Made in Game Maker

Sounds made in: Famitracker

Note: The source code is posted in the zip file with the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Fun3.59
#131Overall3.57
#165Theme3.50
#321Graphics3.27
#477Mood2.79
#540Audio2.41
#542Humor2.14
#673Innovation2.63

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Great game. I think my favorite character is the explorer. BTW we used the same theme idea of one bullet/weapon.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

Hehe I've seen quite a few games using one bullet! ;p I remember for LD26 thousands of people had my same idea hahah! :p

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

I absolutely loved this game! Great work!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Clever idea & well executed! One of my favorites. Great work!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

This is excellent! Great use of the theme too-- having to go pick up your cannonball as a knight was pretty funny. The boomerang was my favorite weapon, all in all very fun.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45am

Pretty nice gameplay, it was a real scare having to run and find my ammo amongst a crowd of enemies.

cjacobwade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25am

Great work Tony! My only complaint is that is gets very repetitive after level 3 or 4. I know it's Ludum Dare, but maybe making fewer levels that feel very different will make the game better :)

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Thanks for all the feedback everyone. It's good to know people are enjoying the game.

cjacobwade -- Yeah, I was thinking of adding in some new enemies and maybe even some obstacles, but I was worried that I would start something I couldn't finish. I spent a lot of work on the extra characters. Though I am keeping this game in my "come back to" list, because I think it came out better than I thought it would.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Good stuff. Liked the Ninja the best, he's fast. Loved the Knight with his cannonball as well. The game would've been better if had featured more challenges.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Really great fun, sublime graphics and animations, those slimes were cute! Very challenging but the fact you have to go and retrieve your ammo from the vicinity of what you are shooting at really adds to the drama. A little more variety might have been good in terms of your actions - great work!

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Cool! Got a nice feel to it when firing.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Yay another one that uses one bullet (just like mine ;)) I really like it though :)

Namide says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

This game is one of my favorites ! The huntsman is so cool. Great work !

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Incredibly solid and fun!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

A few things that could make your game better: steering behaviors (http://www.red3d.com/cwr/steer/), for instance, the slimes could have used seek instead of just going for the player's position; tweens + accelerations, such that things don't start moving with some velocity abruptly; not getting stuck in walls.

Other than that really really nice job. With some upgrades and maybe procedurally generated maps this could become really great. The art looks really good and I just felt like playing it more and more, despite some problems. Overall a great entry. Amazing job!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

adnzzzzZ -- Thanks for the advice. I'm not much of a programmer (hence I used Game Maker), so I can use all the advice I can get.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14am

Great game you got I enjoy the game you only get one bullet is becoming common but hey don't let that upset you you tried and succesed in making a game for ludum dare.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

Pretty well done, plays well but the characters are not all that balanced, I felt the Explorer was the most fun to play as because his weapon was less hassle to get back.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

Great character design and quite a fun little game. Another one bullet game though, so many of them! (mine included haha)

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31am

Super fun! Most important part of game design haha, well done!

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

I like the character select, and found the shooting (especially the knight) had a good feel to it!

abeing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37am

wow super solid controls and good graphics. One of my favorite games of this LD so far! I missed the music a bit though. I always get killed by shooting zombie. too hard for me, even with the explorer :) cool thing the boomerang

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

Quite solid shooter. Entertaining mechanics and options to choose different characters. Theme is well integrated into gameplay. Thumbs up.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

i loved the idea of having only one shot. i think it could have been better if there were less enemies paired with more interesting levels, and some kind of mechanism so i didn't have to fetch my projectile across the level. great entry overall!

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

I really, really, like this one. Great job!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10am

Really nice game, though I'm getting a little tired of that Hotline Miami style rotating face/text.
I would have played for a lot longer, but I kept getting stuck whenever I went near a wall - almost always the cause of my death :(

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18am

The boomerang is super fun!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53am

Very good game, the gameplay is very fun and addictive. Good job (Boomrang OP xD)

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I liked this a lot. Well done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53pm

What makes this stand out from the other "one bullet" games is the choice of choice of characters. I also really liked the little graphical touches such as the particle effects.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20pm

good game i like how you can play different characters :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Fun little game! Thanks for making it!

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I love how this is like a family-friendly Hotline Miami.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:27am

Another 'one-shot' eh? Not bad though.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:42pm

You should fix that you get stuck if you want to move along a wall (sliding along the wall) - I hope you know what I mean. This would improve the overall feeling a lot. The character sprites look really nice! Played all the characters and I enjoyed the explorer the most!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice game, fluid mechanics, kinda hard on the last levels... I like the choice between 4 characters, it really adds a lot to the game! Good job! :)

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:21am

Played as the NINJA: game is smooth, fast, fun - a very nice entry!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Great work ! I love the top-down shooter gameplay a lot!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I really enjoyed this - played through with each of the characters. I loved that they all played differently.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]