December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spacedentist saves the day

by StMatn - Jam Entry

TL;DR:
Controls:
WASD/arrow keys for movement
mouse & left mousebutton for aiming ans shooting

Important!
You will need a functional Java Runtime Envoronment or Java Development Kit (preferably the latest version). After downloading the file, make sure to extract the files from the archive! The game will shut itself down immediately, if you run it inside the zip file, because it won't be able to access any assets.





For those who are a bit more patient:
The spacedentist is on a new mission. This time an evil genius has captured the people and creatures on a lovely planet and replaced them by evil machines. Grab your jetpack and help mr. spacedentist to save this nice place!

I'm sorry for the shitty screenshot :(

The game features:
- A jetpackflying hero, shooting a high energy laser (for me, this would be enough :P)
- Procedurally generated terrain
- Destructible terrain (except stone)
- Upgrades
- A hand full of achievements
- A bossfight, that may make you ragequit and/or tableflip (I warned you!)
- A (non-visible) castle, in which the princess MAY be


Technical features for the interested:
- Fully custom engine, written from scratch
- 3538 lines of pure Java-code
- Particle effects (yay!)





Please have fun and don't give up! Somtimes you can get quite challenging levels and rage about the boss, but it is possible to beat the whole game without a single upgrade!


Tips for boss battle:
- DO NOT FIRE AT HIM, IF HIS MOUTH IS CLOSED!
- if you did fire at the closed mouth, move up or down, because in the defensive salve more projectiles are aimed directly at you, than scatterd around
- stay at ~1/3 of the distance to him from the left border, if no shots are fired
- if he starts firing, move slowly to the left and dodge projectiles, while shooting his mouth
- remember: constant dripping wears the stone, so keep calm and be patient :)


Thank you so much for playing my game! :)




P.S.: If you are wondering what exactly a spacedentist is or does, here is an engine I wrote sone days ago (engine for this LD is fully rewritten!):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ahvc6ti6nh0knz7/DentistInSpace-v0.8.zip

Controlls:
WASD/arrow keys to move around
1/2/3 (obove letters, not num-block) for chosing dental laser/cement canon/light gun
mouse/left mousebutton for aiming and shooting

Fly around, shoot karies away, fill the holes with cement and harden it with the light gun. Have fun repairing teeth :)
Warning: May remind you of a dentist!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#101Humor(Jam)3.17
#150Fun(Jam)3.20
#184Innovation(Jam)3.10
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#349Mood(Jam)2.68
#394Audio(Jam)2.31
#409Graphics(Jam)2.67
#467Theme(Jam)2.14

Comments

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17am

Really like the engine and the gun. Its fun to just shoot up the terrain!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48am

Awesome engine, really well made. The game is fun too, although it becomes repetitive after some time :P
Oh, and I found a bug: after some time roaming to the right the graphics froze. I could still hear the audio being played on button press, but the screen was frozen.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

i like it , but a bit frozen hmm

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Really cool game, liked the destoryable terrain. EndBossDragon killed me though

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Some pretty ambitious parts in this one. Shooting environment felt really good. Enemywise there could have been more variety.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Thank you all very much!
To be honest, I planned two more worlds and some comics telling a story, but you know, it was the usual routine:

1. plan game
2. think about how awesome your idea is
3. repeat
4. work a bit
5. realize, time is running really fast
6. panic a bit
7. lower quality standards
8. cur something out of your idea
9. submit 5 minutes before deadline

But hey, I really appreciate your critics. Thanks again!

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Simple yet really fun! The terrain generation and destruction was very ambitious, nice job. I wanted to pause the game for a second and instinctively hit Esc which killed the app and I lost my progress.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Overall a good game. I like to play it!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Thanks for the comments!

Oops, forgot to kill the escape key :-[ sorry for that

If the boss is toot hard, I could put in a cheat to weaken him :) Please just tell me, if you want to see this, since acievements are only gettable by winning the game.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Spacedentist is like the most absurd thing ever, I like it!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Not, that you mentioned it, I realized, that I didn't explain the whole spacedentist thing :D

I'll put an explanation and a link into the description.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

From what I've been told, destructible terrain is hard to do right, so kudos!

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

While the game was alright, it didn't have too much to itself. It was entertaining to say the least. The laser mechanic was entertaining, but I quickly found the sound effects to get a bit irritating. The graphics were really simple, but i cant complain about that so much. The trees gave me the feeling of some old C64 game, hehe.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Well yes, the trees are actually placeholders I have thrown in for testing, but did not have time to make nice :D

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Overall a decent game. I loved that you could destroy the terrain, and it felt very good. The enemies were a bit repetitive, but they got the job done. The game froze on me the first time I came to the boss. Sounds still worked, but graphics froze. I liked the gun.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Thanks for the feedback.

The reported freezing at the boss is really strange. The screen actually locks onto the boss "arena" as soon as the bossfight starts, but the game should keep on playing... Keep in mind, that the boss is.. well... isn't animated :-[

If anyone could tell me if anything is printed to the console when the game freezes, that would be really helpful :)

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I really like the engine, well done!

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Good. Educational.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

Haha oh wow. Dentists shouldn't be this crazy. This is the last thing I needed to play before going to a dentist appointment. xD
Very fun though!

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21am

Thanks for playing!

Educational? :D

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:25am

@Venks:
Don't worry, he's a professionals. That is why they always say "Don't try dental treatment with lasers at home, kids" ;)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03am

Damn, this is hard. I managed to get to the boss but died right away. Fun game!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I really liked this game. Thanks!

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:36am

A decent and pretty finished game. Amazing for a jam. Nice mechanic and destructible terrain on a 72 hours jam. Bravo dev

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Thank you guys so much for the kind words!
I really appreciate that :)

crazyrems says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Spending more time to make holes in world than killing stuff. Well done :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:07pm

:D Thats actually the way its meant to be played ;)
Thx for playing!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:53am

Nice particle effects. Just shows that dentists aren't evil people after all... they fight evil aliens in space on their time off.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:27am

I like the design and character, really fun!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Really fun game.

I would have prefer that ennemies bullets collide with the landscape, it would have make battle more strategic.
The jetpack sfx is a bit too loud, it ruins the other sfx ambience.

I had 9-10 tries and could not reach the boss, I'm bit frustrated about it, but I had a lot of fun.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Very ambitious project! I think it would have been nice if I had some way to blast through terrain in an AOE fashion since it felt like I kept having to "stop" the momentum and cut my way through something (very slowly compared to how fast I wanted/could go if I flew over it, but also that felt like it took too long to do.)

Some sort of damage indicator would have been cool too for when killing enemies. I totally understand time limitations though, so, who knows - just reporting back on my experience with it. Very cool game though!

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Thank you very much for playing!
I really appreciate any feedback, especially critical thoughts, that tell me, what I could have done better. Thx for that :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:08pm

The terrain destruction is such a nice feature, it's sad that you didn't put it into the focus, e.g. by letting collide and destruct the enemies' bullets the terrain or giving the player destruction methods with a bigger scale. Messing around with the terrain cood be quiet fun!

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I like the way you made it in Java and the 'open' world :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Thank you guys for the feedback!
I'm thinking about some games, that will use this engine and take the terrain destruction more into focus. Thank you for telling me that there still are people who just want to watch the world burn ;)

goerp says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Haha that was funny and fun.
I really liked the destructible terrain and the randomness. Was it really possible to use multiple weapons? I thought that was a joke, but your instructions above suggest you can use more than just the laser.

Great game.

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Well, in this game it is not possible to use another weapot than the laser. If you are really interested, I'd suggest, you look at the link mentioned in the description. It's another game from me, that uses a very similar engine and also features the spacedentist. In that game, you repair giant teeth and you can use the other two... I prefer to call them tools ;)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:31am

The first level I played was quite easy but suddenly got very hard - there were three of those flying shrimp things in a narrow corridor just past a huge stalagmite so the choke-point was full of projectiles ... which although it was tough little things like that make games with random generation kinda cool because everyone can take away their own personal experience from it!

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for playing!
Yes, I haven't put much restriction on spawn-behaviour... I also sometimes had a similar situation, like the one, that you explained, but there were 3 more shrimps (thanks for the new name. shrimps are cooler than hornets:D) behind the first 3 ;) extremely hard, but possible.
These situations are very bad for the speedrun achievement, since the timelimit is extremely tight (2 minutes; its possible without upgrades, but especialy dmg+ is recomended).

I really like, that you pointed out, that everyone gets some kind of a personal experience from the game. That sums up procedural generation quite well in my point of view :D

Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

I the destructible terrain was a nice feature, the game shows good potential.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

That last boss is wicked difficult! I love bullet hell games but damn, that was a minefield, still had a ton of fun, well done! :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Final boss, why, he can shoot loads of stuff at once!!!
I have the feeling you could get coins faster(I reached the final boss on second go, but still hadn't enough coins to buy an upgrade when I died...)

StMatn says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Watch out, you must not shoot the boss if his mouth is closed!
If you do it anyway, he will burst out massive waves of bullets! It is indeed hart to stay alive, once he spits out such a wave, so take some time and do is save and steady. Wait until he opens his mouth, then you have around ~2 seconds to attack. Stop attacking before he closes his mouth!

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Annoying gun sounds! :)
Overall a solid entry. Cool effects and nice play area. Good job

postmodestie says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:41pm

yeah, may the SpaceDentist franchise prosper! Aesthetically it reminds me of a bunch of old-skool games..

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I felt it was a little too slow to get interesting

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:45pm

@sandbaydev: yeeeah... honestly, I'm so sorry for the f***ing lasersound, but I wastrying to make one for ~1h and got really annoyed of it, because I wanted an ongoing sound, that was less annoying. The problem is, that lasers normally don't do much sound im real life and all previous choices drove me mad already, so I settled on this masterpiece :D sorry again for any eardamage and annoyance ;)

@postmodestie: Thank you so much! That comment is really cheering :) You seem to have at least a little bit of fun, what makes me happy.

@Jezzamon: Well, after replaying it some days after LD I thought the same. You can blaze through the level with a bit of luck, but the stalacmites(/-tites) in the underground areas are really annoying. However, with a bit of practice it's possible to get the 2 minute medal ;) For the next mission I will upgrade the SpaceDentist's jetpack acceleration :)


Thank you very much for playing, everyone! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]