December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

lambda

by Esenti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kill everything before it kills you.

After each of first few levels you will be able to choose from two randomly selected perks. But choose wisely - you won't have the opportunity to pick the other one again.

Controls: WASD + mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#633Overall2.83
#654Audio2.11
#665Graphics2.59
#669Fun2.62
#705Theme2.50
#713Mood2.45
#931Innovation2.07

Comments

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:05am

It´s fun to play! Congrats!

BluMist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:53am

I rate kind of harsh, but I thought this game was pretty good for the time you had.

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:54am

All of the sound effects seem to be make a song as I shoot, get hurt, and am shot at; it is pretty awesome. It might just be me, but the enemies move too quickly and are able to injure me once or twice before I can kill them, so I never got past level 2. Other than this, I enjoyed the game; great work!

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:32am

A bit on the hard side, but the gameplay was fun!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Pretty fun stuff you have done well :3

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Is anyone else getting "impossibly hard" from this? The little beige guys are just too fast! It was fun though.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I really think the hero needs a way to avoid the faster enemies out of the gates. As soon as a faster guy comes you have to start shooting at him immediately or else he will hit you at least once. I want to see your perks so I am going to play some more. Overall it plays well and I like the pixel art. Good show.

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:00am

The little yellow spiders (?) are too fast for me, can't kill them before they reach me, if there is more than one of them.

I had a lot of fun playing this!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:51pm

This is a nice little entry. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Pace is pretty slow in the beginning and the brown enemies were really relentless but this was actually fun to play and I loved how you can only pick one perk per level up.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very challenging on touchpad ;D
But with mouse game is challenging too I guess ;)
Nice ^^

Nelien says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Has some balancing issues; very hard to kill enemies without them getting at least one hit. A bit more variety would be nice as well. Still a fun wave shooter.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

Almost made it to level 10. Our group had the idea too to make a game where you only choose one upgrade but did not implement it. Glad someone did. Great Job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]