December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Gift (for christmas)

by Bw2801 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a puzzle game.

It's christmas morning and you only got one present. To get more you break into houses and steal the presents of other children.

To achieve that you have to collect keys to open doors, or to open safes using codes.

By the way: this was the very first Ludum Dare game I made :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#186Humor3.11
#205Overall3.39
#256Fun3.24
#356Theme3.14
#398Mood2.91
#427Graphics3.06
#578Audio2.35
#766Innovation2.47

Comments

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18am

I am error guy made me feel a bit unconfortable. Then Santa with socks made me cry!
Cool game. :D

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Nice job, lot of content!

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I am error guy was a nice touch (binding of isaac?)

Your game is finished, solid and obviously playtested. Maybe a little bit easy (although I got stuck once in a toilet). Well done!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Fun game. I was really confused after the first round, because it said "To be continued" so I thought the game was over and then it said "Esc to reset" but Esc didn't do anything. Then I realized it was just a tip screen lol.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I'm not one for puzzle games, but this seemed very competent and I played it through to the end. Mechanics wise I felt like I was winning through brute force and ignorance, losing to gotchas, but if that's your thing then this is great. You do a good job of building up the mechanics and difficulty step wise though.

Graphics and audio are nicely done and solid. Controls are nice enough for the job. Played it through to the end and was left feeling complete. Good job!

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Lot of content, I like the graphics and the mood. Good game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Love the graphics and the puzzles.. Controls were a bit annoying, when walking through doors I alway hit the wall at least twice XD

Anyaway, great game! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47pm

It's nice game but couldn't get the connection with the theme :)

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18pm

@windwalkerranger It's in the story. The guy "only gets one" gift for Christmas ;D

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

@zorfmorf originally it was an easter egg in "Zelda II" but Binding of Isaac has it as well.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice one! Nice play on the theme and nice visuals. The sounds are a bit "simple" but they match the overall style. One suggestion though, allow movement in diagonals if two direction keys are pressed at once, this would make it quite a bit more playable.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Great Fun, I could play this for hours.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Wow, the length of this one... All those gifts i've got... :3

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

wow so much levels. great game. "i am error" nice cameo ;)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Great use of the theme for this one. I really like this game and the art, though not the best, does a good job at setting everything.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice game. I liked the style of the graphics. Good job.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

This game is very long. I don't think I found any bugs. But a challenge would have been nice, something like the kids looking around in the room and you have to sneak in to get the presents without them noticing. But You have made a solid game!

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44pm

@d_0o_d I really wanted to do that but I had no time left...
Thank you! :)

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Fun game, Too bad there was no music

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Not bad at all. The game runs very smoothly, and the graphics are simple yet effective. Graphically speaking, the only thing I would look into is making the standard wooden doors "pop out" from the floor - I generally only saw them after I bounded off of them a time or two.

It would be nice to have a visual inventory showing which keys/cards that you have. Strafing would also be a nice touch :)

Thanks for putting this together, and good work!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Well done on your first LD! This is mine too. :) Good use of the theme!

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice game, pretty funny.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nicely, done. I got stuck in level 10 or so when I found no further keys in the toilet where i used a key for.
Very good work for the short time.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Very simple and nice game, but a little short. Keep working to achieve something bigger next time! ;-)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59pm

The controls are a little fiddly, but otherwise the execution is good. Needs sound though.

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Very well done especially with the puzzles ;)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40pm

This one was fun... lol

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Pretty solid entry for your first one.
You really got into the spirit of christmas I see ;)
I agree that there is a lot of content. It just needs a bit of sound.
At first I thought that you couldn't do anything wrong, but later on I found out that you could and I did.
The thing I would change next time: it looks like the character can't fit through the doors, movement was a bit hard. Like other people who commented on my game: if you have to walk around a lot, better make it fast.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Actually really great! Played it with a smile all the way.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Ahh, my wrist... Somehow the set of keys you chose felt very uncomfortable. Diagonals would also have been nice.
Otherwise lots of content and humour. Good use of the theme.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Pretty well-polished, if somewhat easy.

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I loved this game. So simple, but a lot of content in it. I didn't like the character art, but all the other art was great.

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:32pm

@Custard Games yep, characters are pretty hard to draw for me.
I always get problems with that.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Wow, this is actually quite an impressive game! I really like the puzzle aspect of the game and I actually messed up levels a few times. It was a little bit easy though, and the controls could have been improved slightly, but for your first Ludum Dare it's very good, congrats :D

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Nice gane ;D I like how the theme is applyed :D

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nice puzzle game - and great work on your first Ludum Dare! :)

It was good how your started simple and introduced more elements as the game proceeded.

I sometimes found the wooden doors looked too similar to the floor so a couple of times I thought the corridor was clear and suspected your collision detection was bugged but then I realised I just couldn't see the brown-on-brown door!

Also it would be nice to have a HUD telling me how many keys I have, which coloured cards, etc.

Overall though, very well done!

loxo says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice first entry, I like the game very much. Sometimes the doors are a bit hard to see, because of the similarity to the floor. Some music would have been nice. But overall a nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]