December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Ronin Heart

by TijmenTio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE

Tried something to make fullscreen work for everyone, let me know if it worked. ALSO you can press F4 to gently leave the fullscreen mode huray.


STORY

He was banned from his land,
his heart was stolen, replaced by a steel, artificial one.
Now he wanders the wild, turning into a cold blooded killer.

CONTROLS

Arrow keys+spacebar
If you get hit, you'll have 5 seconds to grab the steel heart you lost, otherwise you die.


SIDENOTE

DAMN why did I make such a depressing game... next time I'll make something more joyful, anyways thanks for playing!


TOOLS

Gamemaker Studio
Pixen
Milkytracker
bfxr.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#6Overall4.15
#9Graphics4.48
#11Fun3.98
#17Mood4.00
#59Audio3.58
#221Theme3.39
#395Humor2.48
#450Innovation2.98

Comments

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38am

Game loads up to a black screen and I hear what sounds like text typing. Game Maker games don't always work in full-screen and I see that yours launches that way. Try disabling full-screen on launch or tick one of those 'v-sync' or whatever options if you can. I WANNA PLAY!

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56am

(Sucks to be you, Sonny, this game runs fine under wine :-))

Tijmen, your games are always Awesome, but this one takes the cake! I loved the variety of movements of the samurai, such as how his blade can go in many different directions during the double jump, and how you can use defense to freeze enemies and turn them around for a backstab.

I spend a LONG time playing this game. Jumping fights feel VERY satisfying.

I got all the way to the second stage after the Lv3 enemies start appearing. I'll certainly be playing this more later.

Two suggestions:
1- As is common in this kind of games, often I would go into "where the hell is that last enemy" mode. Maybe add an arrow to point towards the nearest enemy if you spend more than X seconds without fighting?
2- Sometimes the AI would get stuck, and I could kill it at my leisure. This often happened when the AI was facing a step wall with me at their back.

Thanks for the awesome game! Have all my stars!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Ohh! Your pixel art is so nice! *_*

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:05pm

This is ridiculously awesome. Lots of polish considering the time frame. Commend you completely!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Crikey that's a tough game (or I totally suck at it, which is entirely possible)! Immensely beautiful game, the production values are superb. Reminds me a wee bit of The Last Samurai.

fysx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

This game has a very nice overall feel and great atmosphere! Also the level generation is well done! Found it a tad too challenging (i.e. the knockback is very unforgiving when falling down a ledge).

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Great game. All the little effects like the fog, animations, blood, screen effects when without a heart, impact of the swords and eerie music make a real tense experience. One thing that detracted from that experience was the flip animation which didn't really feel in place.

But all in all I really enjoyed this beauty you made!

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:51pm

This game is awesome ! The graphics and animations are great and the concept is very cool. The platformer gameplay feeling is also perfect, great job !

Nickabilla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Awesome game man!

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Wow, frantic and fun! Love the jumping and the sword clashing in this! The physic feel right all around, and the art/music match it to boot! Well done!

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Samurai Gunn? :3
Cool anyhow.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19pm

very enjoyable. Not terribly complex, but extremely satisfying and visceral.

Pol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Fullscreen worked fine for me :>
Are de level procedurally generated or are they premade maps ?

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23pm

@Pol randomly generated :) although I think it is possible to get a uncompletable level. But I'm not sure..

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Wow, this is a really good game! I LOVE the graphics on this! Animation is very good too! Controls are great, too bad nothing really happens after you kill everyone though.

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

http://pastebin.com/M1uLHczg
I got this when I got hit while loading the 3rd level.

The graphics are awesome, the gameplay works good. I'm missing the theme bit though.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Thanks for the re-release to fix the full-screen issue. I need to look into why I'm having this problem before I start playing too many games.

I love how tiny your sprites are yet how lively and pronounced they become in the actual game. Your color palette is very nice.

Procedural levels? AWESOME! I didn't run into any issues with unreachable areas so that's a great accomplishment, man.

The platforming is very tight and the double jump is so sweet (I think the flip is wonderful). Swordplay looks and feels great and you have a good block system in place. The enemies can be a bit dumb but that just makes them more fun to murdertality. AND THE BLOOD! It sticks to your world tiles, which is awesome. I wanted to do that in my game but didn't have time. JEALOUS!

The sfx are great, music is good, and you have a neat interpretation of the theme that's unique. The steel heart idea is really rad.

Great job as usual, man!

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

If this game was a drink, i'd probably be a large beer: Full of joy and I can't get enough of it.

5/5 for you my man

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

Such an great game! I really liked it! A lot!

The controls were really tight and the battle system was really fun. What amaze me the most in this aspect was the fact the I was able to hit while spinning in mid-air! Now, that felt great! Also, the way everything gets red as the timer shows when you are hit made me really nervous to get back to the heart. (By the way, this reminded me of Yoshi's Island...)

The graphics were superb. I'm a sucker for pixel art stuff, but this was something else!

The song was good, but what most got my attention were the sfx. They added so much feedback to any action in the game...

I wasn't able to finish it, though. :(
It ran so slowly on my computer that I gave up on my third try...
But I'll play it again on a better computer! =D

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Extremely fun game! Story is good too. Good work!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Good game, loved the gameplay. Simple yet effective graphics. The music wasn't too good though, atleast not for a longer play-run. Nice job man

vandriver says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

This is my favorite pixel art style: really fat pixels that don't by themselves show much, but tons of fluid animation to make them pop to life. Really well done.

I spent a crapton of time in between levels waiting for them to load, though!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16am

Really nice fast paced action, really tight controls as well which is uncommon in games made in 48 hours. I really enjoyed it.

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Hoooooly fucking shit dude, this is sooo sweet! My first kill actually made me shout "WOAAAH" out loud! :D I kinda miss an upwards attack, but holy damn this game is solid! great work!

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47am

This is near-perfection, the controls are tight, everything is responsive, the music fits the mood very well. It is very rewarding to kill a foe mid-air. Amazing.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Dude, I can't believe I hadn't played this yet, this is AWESOME.

The combat is so fluid and lovely! The blood splatter is awesome. The narrative is really cool, the music is cool too. Just everything about this is great.

The only thing that grinded with me initially was how fast the camera turned when you switched direction, but I got used to it almost instantly and it turned out to be really useful.

Very, very well made, polished, lovely. Physics are great. Superb.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:46pm

When I saw you made this with gamemaker studio I was excited to see what you had made. I was not disappointed! Near flawless game, really solid combat 5 stars well done!

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Once again, very beautiful pixel graphics.
Great story, and the mood was well captured. The music fitted the oriental theme.
I like that there's a difficulty grade with other characters coming in. The enemies moved nice too, not just stupid drones.
What wasn't very clear for me was when I finished a level. At first I thought I died and had no idea why.

kutullu says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:40am

Holy cow. Loved every minute I spend with this. Art, gameplay, atmosphere, background story... stunning achievement!

Cheers, Marcus

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:51pm

The loading screen takes a while, but its really worth it. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/iZspNc9Kmjk

zkenshin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:43am

Maybe a dash or sprint move would have been neat, but really like the movement anyways, nice entry. :)

Antylum says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:41am

Very nice stylish visuals and great feel! Thank you for creating this game)

Gungnir says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Amazing work! Super appealing visuals, animation and control-feel. Great atmosphere, and even nails the theme in an innovative and complementary (to play) way. Top marks.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

Awesome entry! I loved pretty much everything about it, although it would be nice if you could replay current level after dying, not be forced to start from level 1.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:26am

This was a really cool game. However I think I got stuck in a level that you couldn't beat. Any way, it was fun to play and the graphics were amazing.

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Wow, this is fantastic.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Superb graphics and feel to this - the sounds are so atmospheric and really add punch to the swordplay. I like the double jump as well, it fells very well tuned. I didn't like the loading times - they were painful. I'd rather have been permitted a few tries at the same level rather than generating a new one every time.

Raphy says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great game, very good work ! Congrats

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Damn, this is great. My only complaint is how the camera moves around so much, it's really disorienting. Awesome work!

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I loved the game and it'd be awesome to play a post-compo version. Great job, just work a bit more on the AI and the loading screens (too many of them and too long)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]